Category archives: Social Conservative Review

Social Conservative Review - September 15, 2017

by Daniel Hart

September 15, 2017

Dear Friends,

In discussing the “problem of pain,” author Joe Heschmeyer recently wrote that “…the whole story of the Fall is that things aren’t how they ought to be, how they aren’t how they were intended to be, and how we’re the ones who screwed them up. You can read that story in Genesis, or watch it on the nightly news.” Bishop Robert Barron summed up this state of affairs concisely: “The human race is best characterized as a dysfunctional spiritual family, all of us having been marked from birth by the effects of sin. Sin has found its way into every aspect of human life, personally and institutionally. We would be hopelessly naïve to think otherwise.”

Atheists often argue that it is absurd to believe in God when there is so much “dysfunction,” suffering, and pain in the world. But as Heschmeyer points out, if there is no God, what can possibly account for all of the beauty in the world? He illustrates this by quoting the musician Joanna Newsom as she discussed what she was going through while recording an album:

The thing that I was experiencing and dwelling on the entire time is that there are so many things that are not OK and that will never be OK again,” says Newsom. “But there’s also so many things that are OK and good that sometimes it makes you crumple over with being alive. We are allowed such an insane depth of beauty and enjoyment in this lifetime. It’s what my dad talks about sometimes. He says the only way that he knows there’s a God is that there’s so much gratuitous joy in this life. And that’s his only proof. There’s so many joys that do not assist in the propagation of the race or self-preservation. There’s no point whatsoever. They are so excessively, mind-bogglingly joy-producing that they distract from the very functions that are supposed to promote human life. They can leave you stupefied, monastic, not productive in any way, shape or form. And those joys are there and they are unflagging and they are ever-growing…”

This is part of what makes our Creator so amazing. Not only did He give us “a Savior, someone who can break into our dysfunction from the outside and heal us” (Bishop Barron’s words), He also gives us moments of “gratuitous joy” as we make our way through this earthly life. May we be forever thankful for this gift freely given to us, and may we freely give of ourselves in return.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Can a Christian Serve as a Judge Anymore? – Travis Weber

How the Left Uses Fake Science to Advance Its Agenda

Will FEMA Treat Churches Fairly? – Travis Weber

The Rights that Students and Parents Have to Challenge Transgender Policies

Advice for Parents On Challenging Transgender Policies in Public Schools

Masterpiece Cakeshop Attorneys File Merits Brief with the Supreme Court – Travis Weber

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Why religious liberty matters for creativity – Jason Thacker, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Faith groups provide the bulk of disaster recovery, in coordination with FEMA – Paul Singer, USA Today

What It’s Like to Be Smeared by the Southern Poverty Law Center – Carol M. Swain, The Wall Street Journal

Senate Democrats show off their anti-religious bigotry – Michael Gerson, The Washington Post

Media should not embrace far-left ‘poverty’ law firmColorado Springs Gazette

Will the IRS investigate the SPLC on taxes? – Judson Phillips, The Washington Times

Non-Profit Leaders Call on Media to Stop Citing Southern Poverty Law Center – Liberty McArtor, The Stream

California bill seeks to punish ‘misgendering’ with jail time – Mary Rezac, Crux

3 Texas Churches Sue FEMA Over Policy Banning Churches From Receiving Harvey Disaster Relief – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Democratic Congressman Says He’s Introducing A Bill To Punish Campus ‘Hate Speech’ – Emily Zanotti, The Daily Wire

UK Speaker: Same-Sex Marriage Won’t Be ‘Proper’ Until Churches Can’t Opt Out – Tyler O’Neil, PJ Media

U.S. Senators Revive Anti-Catholic Bigotry To Intimidate Religious People – Paul C. Binotto, The Federalist

Attacks on Religious Liberty’ in US Increased 133 Percent in Last 5 Years: Report – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

Free to Believe”

Judge Suspends City’s Ban of Farmers Over Their Marriage Views – Kelsey Harkness, The Daily Signal

4 Key Arguments We Are Making to Defend Jack Phillips at the Supreme Court – Sarah Kramer, Alliance Defending Freedom

They Serve Gay Clients All The Time. So Why Won’t They Cater A Same-Sex Wedding? – Josh Shepherd, The Federalist

Your Beliefs Are No Longer Allowed – Taylor Lewis, American Thinker

Professors told to report students who make campus ‘less inclusive’ to Behavior Assessment Team – Andrew Johnson, The College Fix

International Religious Freedom

What’s changed in Britain since same-sex marriage? – David Sergeant, The Spectator Australia

Catholic Priest Released After 18 Months’ Captivity – Elise Harris, National Catholic Register

Fulani herdsmen kill 20 Christians in Nigeria – Onize Ohikere, WORLD

 

Life

Abortion

When Planned Parenthood closes, women find real health care at hundreds of other clinics – Rebecca Downs, Live Action

Podcast: Pro-life apologetics; Arguments from reason that align with scripture – Scott Klusendorf, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Red State-Blue State Abortion Divide Deepens – Brian Fraga, National Catholic Register

5 new scientific discoveries that show what’s happening to the child in the womb – Kristi Burton Brown, Live Action

Can We Stop an International Roe v. Wade? – Stefano Gennarini, Public Discourse

U.S. Blasts UNFPA Support for China’s Birth Control Policy – Susan Yoshihara, C-Fam

Why the pro-choice side is afraid of giving women the choice of abortion pill reversal – Marcie Little, Live Action

One last chance to defund Planned Parenthood may lie in the Senate’s hands – Susan Michelle-Hanson, Live Action

Adoption

Podcast: Are you mentally healthy enough? Preparing for adoption’s hardships – Sharen Ford, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Bioethics

The American Medical Association vs. Human Nature – Philip Hawley, Jr., Public Discourse

Doctor wants D.C.’s assisted suicide law repealed: A ‘right to die’ soon creates a ‘duty to die’ – Cassy Fiano, Live Action

The Contagion of Euthanasia and the Corruption of Compassion – Arthur Goldberg and Shimon Cowen, Public Discourse

Obamacare

After Experiencing British And U.S. Health Care, This Family Says Single-Payer Is Abominable – Jayme Metzgar, The Federalist

 

Family

Economics/Education

As Workers Expect Less, Job Satisfaction Rises – Lauren Weber, The Wall Street Journal

This is why a growing number of teachers want more lessons on religion in school – Kelsey Dallas, Deseret News

How a Democratic New York City Councilwoman Became a Crusader for School Choice – Eva Moskowitz, National Review

A Debt Crisis Is Coming, and We’re All to Blame – Walter E. Williams, The Daily Signal

Five Facts About Families and Poverty – Alysse ElHage, Family Studies

Marriage

New research says this kind of daily prayer can change your marriage – Calah Alexander, Aleteia

How to Align Your Dreams as a Couple – Greg Smalley and Erin Smalley, Focus on the Family

Are You ‘Not Yet Married’? – Marshall Segal, Desiring God

The Infectious Effects of Divorce and Marriage – Luma Simms, Family Studies

As U.S. marriage rate hovers at 50%, education gap in marital status widens – Kim Parker and Renee Stepler, Pew Research Center

Faith/Character/Culture

Why Our Obsession With TV Antiheroes Is Destroying Our Souls – Georgi Boorman, The Federalist

The Secret Power of Family Work – Jenet Erickson, Family Studies

Does The Immaterial Exist? – Joe Heschmeyer, Word On Fire

Why religion is not going away and science will not destroy it – Peter Harrison, Aeon

Overcoming Our Smartphone Addiction – Christopher O. Blum and Joshua P. Hochschild, Crisis

If You Want to Live Truly, Learn to Die Daily – Liz Wann, Desiring God

Human Sexuality

Oversexed ed – Emily Belz, WORLD

Parents pull children from prestigious school after transgender ‘indoctrination’ in kindergarten – Bradford Richardson, The Washington Times

How The Transgender Crusade Made Me Rethink My Support For Gay Marriage – Bethany Mandel, The Federalist

Mislabeled sex ed – Emily Belz, WORLD

Why I Don’t Use Female Pronouns For My Transgender Brother – Michael Booker, The Federalist

Sex, Sanity and Beliefs That ‘Live Loudly’ Within Us – Archbishop Charles Chaput, National Catholic Register

What science really has to say about sexuality and gender – Joe Carter, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Human Trafficking

Human-Trafficking Fighters Hope for Lift From Proposed New Legislation – Peter Jesserer Smith, National Catholic Register

Google and Sex Traffickers Like Backpage.com – Nicholas Kristof, The New York Times

A Pivotal New Goal: Shedding Light on the Sexual Exploitation of Boys and Men – Katherine Blakeman, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Pornography

What I told my 7-year-old when he asked what porn was – Matt Fradd, Aleteia

Dr. Sharon Cooper, MD Discusses How Pornography Harms Children – Katherine Blakeman, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Why Watching Porn Leaves You Feeling Lonelier Than Before – Fight the New Drug

Social Conservative Review - September 1, 2017

by Daniel Hart

September 1, 2017

Dear Friends,

In times of great crisis, it’s easy to feel like we are powerless, with no control over the direction of our lives. For the victims of the flooding in Houston and the surrounding region, feelings like these are certainly all too common right now. With the loss of family members, homes, and personal possessions, and with the surreal reality of not being able to recognize your own neighborhood and city because of flooding, I can only imagine the deep sense of loss and hopelessness that the flood victims must be going through, perhaps with no clear direction on how to move forward with life.

For those of us who are not directly affected by the flooding and are feeling powerless to help, there are indeed direct ways that we can make a difference, first by praying for the victims and their families, and secondly by charitable giving if we are able.

Strangely, great calamity can also bring with it a sense of serenity. How is this possible? Serenity can come when we realize that we are indeed powerless, and therefore are left with one option: simply to trust in God and do what we can, to move one foot in front of the other, to lend a helping hand wherever it is needed. Extenuating circumstances that are beyond our control have a way of forcing us to slow down, giving us a kind of tunnel vision to focus on the basics of life: food, clothing, shelter, helping those in need. This forced limitation of options and elimination of worldly distractions can bring with it a sense of peaceful resignation to accept whatever may come, because what other option is there? As we have seen in Houston, an amazing sense of solidarity can develop from these circumstances. A widespread disaster quickly makes it clear that despite people’s political and cultural differences, we are all ultimately in this thing called “life” together.

As the flooding in Texas and every other immense catastrophe has shown, good always comes out of even the direst situations. When we humbly accept what comes our way, God rewards our trust with His grace, mercy, and love.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Historical Revisionism – Ken Blackwell

The Battle for Truth and Love – Marcus Harris

Ways to Help Texas Flood Victims

Science vs. Science on USDA Nominee’s Views of “LGBT Behavior” and “Choice” – Peter Sprigg

International Religious Freedom in 2016: Still Work to Be Done – Travis Weber

Why Is Iceland “Eradicating” People With Down Syndrome? – Dan Hart

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

5-Year FRC Shooting Anniversary Offers A Study In Presidential Reactions To Hate Crimes – Mollie Hemingway, The Federalist

Why Is the Southern Poverty Law Center Targeting Liberals? – Ayaan Hirsi Ali, The New York Times

Christian ministry sues after being listed as ‘hate’ group alongside KKK and neo-Nazis – Harry Farley, Christian Today

Southern Poverty Law Center Transfers Millions in Cash to Offshore Entities – Joe Schoffstall, The Washington Free Beacon

J.P. Morgan’s Hate List – Kimberley A. Strassel, The Wall Street Journal

Southern Poverty Law Center: ‘Our Aim In Life Is to Destroy These Groups, Completely’ – Tyler O’Neil, PJ Media

SPLC ‘Hate Map’ Targets Christians, Pro-Family Groups – Joan Frawley Desmond, National Catholic Register

Liberal law center demonizes Christian foes of LGBTQ agenda as ‘hate groups’ – Peter LaBarbera, LifeSiteNews

Groups: Justice court filings defy Trump promises on religious freedom – John Solomon, The Hill

A Wisconsin Judge Builds the Case for Religious Freedom – Rod Anderson, The Christian Post

Political CEOs – Mark Baurlein, First Things

St. Louis’s Unholy War on Religious Liberty – Nathanael Blake, Public Discourse

As College Students Return to Campus, Let’s Allow Free Speech to Reign – Carson Holloway, The Daily Signal

Why a British Muslim Is Suing the Southern Poverty Law Center – Chris Tomlinson, Breitbart

Free to Believe”

Cake artist to Supreme Court: Affirm artistic freedom, free speech – Alliance Defending Freedom

Court rules high school football coach cannot pray on the field – Todd Starnes, Fox News

Masterpiece Cakeshop: Can the State Force Us to Agree with Its Views? – Jonathan Scruggs, National Review

Court solidifies victory for photographer, other Wisconsin creative professionals – Alliance Defending Freedom

Teacher: Dear Parents, Tell Your Kids to Stop Talking About God – ToddStarnes.com

First Grader Sent to Office, Investigated, for “Pronoun Mishap” – Todd Starnes, Townhall

International Religious Freedom

Christianity Could Vanish From Middle East by 2025 If Terrorism Continues, Believers Warn – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Egypt Closes Church Over Muslim Extremist Opposition, Blocks Worship at Another – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

State Dept. Releases Report on Status of Religious Freedom in 199 Countries – 21st Century Wilberforce

Sudan Arrests 7 Pastors Who Refused to Give Gov’t Control of Denomination – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

Top 5 Worst Countries With Blasphemy Laws Ranked by USCIRF, One Christian Nation Listed at No. 7 – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

 

Life

Abortion

Top 10 Reasons Why It’s Good to be Pro-Life – Maria Gallagher, LifeNews

Pro-Choicers Should Explain Why They Think Eugenics Is Acceptable – David Harsanyi, The Federalist

Texas permanently bans taxpayer funding of abortion – Fr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

Shunning The DisabledJ.D. Flynn, First Things

Oregon governor signs bill offering free abortions to citizens and undocumented immigrants – Becky Yeh, Live Action

Ten (Bad, But Popular) Arguments for Abortion – David Hershenov, Public Discourse

Abortion Groups Attack Religious Medical Providers, Right of Conscience for Health Workers – Rebecca Oas, C-Fam

Fighting for Life in the ‘Abortion Capital of the Western World’ – Jim Graves, National Catholic Register

Hidden Abuse of Women: Coerced Abortions – Colin LeCroy, National Review

Adoption

Group Works to Promote Adoption as Positive Parenting Option – Megan Reuther, WHOTV

Bioethics

It’s a Culture War, Stupid – George Weigel, First Things

How one man’s fight to save his dying wife allowed him to witness two miracles of life – Susan Michelle-Hanson, Live Action

The Charlie Gard Legacy: Forced Euthanasia – Chris Michalski, The Stream

Iceland Capital’s Only Baptist Pastor Doesn’t Want Down Syndrome Eliminated – Gunnar Ingi Gunnarsson, Christianity Today

Obamacare

America Already Has A Single-Payer System, And It’s Killing Veterans Like Me – Jonathan LaForce, The Federalist

Obamacare Insurer Lost $57.6 Million in First Half of 2017 – Robert Donachie, The Daily Signal

How House Conservatives Plan to Revive Obamacare Repeal, and Why It Could Work – Rachel del Guidice, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Economics/Education

The Crisis of the Christian Colleges – Stephen Baskerville, Crisis

The Need for Thick Schools: Classical Education Against Cynicism – Casey Shutt, Public Discourse

Podcast: Sen. Ben Sasse and Russell Moore discuss parenting, education, and vocation in an era of historic disruptions in the workforce – Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

America, Home of the Transactional Marriage – Victor Tan Chen, The Atlantic

Marriage

Why you should brag about your husband – Jenna McDonald, Aleteia

This Is the Truth About Good Communication in Marriage – Laura Triggs, Verily

Has Marriage Become My Idol? – John Piper, Desiring God

How trials can make your marriage better – Sarah Walton, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Want a better marriage? Share a sport – Craig Swalboski, Post-Bulletin

Relationship Standard Bearing: When It’s Not Okay to Not Be Okay – Kelly M. Roberts, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

The iPhone and Us – Daniel Ross Goodman, Public Discourse

Michael Cromartie, R.I.P. – Ethics & Public Policy Center

After the Flood, All the Colors Come Out – Jared C. Wilson, The Gospel Coalition

Six Questions to Ask Before You Binge on Netflix – John Piper, Desiring God

Atheism and the Problem of Beauty – Joe Heschmeyer, Word On Fire

The Christian Understanding of the Human Person – Gerhard Cardinal Müller, Principles

Human Sexuality

Video: How do you teach your children about manhood and womanhood from a biblical perspective? – Daniel Akin, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Precious Clarity on Human Sexuality: Introducing the Nashville Statement – John Piper, Desiring God

Mapping the New Mating Market: A Review of Cheap Sex – Helen Alvaré, Family Studies

How Catholics Can Welcome LGBT Believers – Cardinal Robert Sarah, The Wall Street Journal

UNESCO Promotes Sex-Change and Abortion for Kids – Marianna Orlandi, C-Fam

Preventing sexual violence starts with what we teach our boys – Maryjo Oster, Child Trends

Human Trafficking

Video: Fighting Human Trafficking in America – Dallas Theological Seminary

Google Attempts to Block Bill to Hold Sex-Traffickers Accountable – Lisa Correnti, C-Fam

Comboni nun answers ‘scream of pain’ of human trafficking victims Inés – Inés San Martín, Crux

Pornography

Pastor fired for porn addiction offers help to fellow strugglers – Greg Garrison, Alabama Living

You Are Not Addicted: The Power to Resist Pornography – John Piper, Desiring God

I Was a Pastor Hooked on Porn – Garrett Kell, The Gospel Coalition

4 Signs Your Man Is Serious About Quitting Porn – Monica Gabriel Marshall, Verily

Social Conservative Review - August 15, 2017

by Daniel Hart

August 15, 2017

Dear Friends,

For the first time since the 1930’s, the overall life expectancy rate in America has declined. Why? Because the suicide rate is increasing all over the country.

There are a multitude of factors that have contributed to this increase. However, all of these factors can be boiled down to one primary cause: despair.

From where is this increasing level of despair coming from? I would argue that one of the primary causes for increasing despair is increasing unbelief in God. The Pew Research Center reports that 23 percent of Americans currently describe themselves as “nones,” or those who consider themselves either atheist, agnostic, or “nothing in particular.” This number has been steadily rising since at least 1972, when “nones” made up seven percent of the population. In just the last 10 years, this number has jumped eight percent, from 15 to 23 percent.

It has been statistically verified that those who attend religious services are far less likely to commit suicide: In a study of 89,000 people “between 1996 and 2010, those who attended any religious service once a week or more were five times less likely to commit suicide.” In another study, “of the 6,999 Catholic women who attended Mass more than once a week, none committed suicide” (emphasis mine).

Without a belief system built on divine revelation, human beings will form their own belief systems around whatever suits them. The secular world is more than happy to fill this demand for what to believe—we are constantly bombarded by the news media and popular entertainment about what we should believe is right and wrong, what is good and evil, what is tolerant and intolerant, what constitutes equality and inequality, etc. If we don’t have religious belief that provides a moral framework grounded in absolute truths, we put ourselves in the risky position of having to ultimately trust in human beings for the ultimate answers. The inevitable culmination of purely human thinking is despair, because we are and never can be ends in ourselves. As discussed previously, we know where despair can eventually lead.

Christ reveals an infinitely better way: divinely revealed truth. In Matthew 16:23, he rebukes human thinking: “You do not have in mind the concerns of God, but merely human concerns.” As Christians, we must do all we can to turn back the tide of unbelief that is steadily rising in America, trusting not in the ways of man, but in the ways of God.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Sanctuary Cities’ Aren’t Brave. They’re Obstructing Law Enforcement. – Ken Blackwell

When We Choose Love Over Fear, God Stretches Our Hearts – Dan Hart

Trump’s Attorney General Jeff Sessions is bringing the hammer down on leaksKen Blackwell

The Decay of Liberty and the Rule of Law in 21st Century AmericaPeter Johnston

Human Sexuality and the Goodness of MarriageClara Ramos and Shania Burch

Iran Heightens Its Crackdown On ChristiansDan Hart

Attention Millennials: True Religious Freedom May Make You Feel UncomfortableMary Beasley

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Religious Liberty Protection Kit for Students and Teachers – First Liberty

Cake Wars And The Coming Conflict Over Religious LibertyNathanael Blake, The Federalist

The Threat of Free Speech in the UniversityRoger Scruton, Ethics & Public Policy Center

Christian wins the right to refuse to photograph homosexual ‘weddings’Peter LaBarbera, LifeSiteNews

The Continuing Threat to Religious LibertyRyan T. Anderson, National Review

Googling Moral PurityR.R. Reno, First Things

No One Expects The Google Inquisition, But It’s ComingRobert Tracinski, The Federalist

Prayer Walks draw protest in Mississippi school districtRon Maxey, USA Today

Wyoming Judge Appeals To Nation’s Highest Court After Losing Job For Being A ChristianJonathan Lange, The Federalist

International Religious Freedom

Pray for the persecuted church in Sudan and South SudanEthics & Religious Liberty Commission

Iran Punishes Religious Minorities with Lengthier SentencesElisabeth Doherty, 21st Century Wilberforce Initiative

Saving Christians From GenocideWilliam Doino Jr., First Things

Christian Persecution in India Hits Record High in First Half of 2017Anugrah Kumar, The Christian Post

Liu Xiaobo’s Stern WarningJianli Yang, National Review

 

Life

Abortion

American Abortion, American Freedom – Miles Smith, Public Discourse

More than half of women getting abortions also use contraceptionEmma Court, New York Post

Why Life Is WinningJeanne Mancini, Heritage Foundation

Pro-Life Laws Do Not Lead to Poor Public HealthMichael J. New, National Review

Google And Facebook Co-Sponsoring Protest Of Pro-Life Women’s Health Care ClinicPeter Hasson, The Daily Caller

What kind of society do you want to live in?”: Inside the country where Down syndrome is disappearingJulian Quinones and Arijeta Lajka, CBS News

Adoption

The Changing Face of Adoption in the United StatesNicholas Zill, Family Studies

The other Russia story we need to talk about is adoptionMary Vought, USA Today

Mom Walks in Door with Adopted Baby in Arms. Moment Daughters See Her, They’re Brought to TearsCarolyn Marie, Liftable

Bioethics

Hospital tries to force baby off life support, parents won’t give up fightClaire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

Euthanasia Used for 4.5 Percent of Deaths in the NetherlandsMaria Cheng, AP

Stop Assisted-Suicide Opioid AbuseWesley J. Smith, First Things

A Tale of Two Sams: You Should Not Actively Euthanize Your BabyAaron D. Cobb, Public Discourse

Explainer: American scientists “edit” human embryosJoe Carter, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Please don’t edit me outRebecca Cokley, The Washington Post

FDA warns doctor not to promote ‘three-parent’ fertilization procedureLianne Laurence, LifeSiteNews

Obamacare

How Obamacare Is Eroding Private InsuranceJarrett Stepman, The Daily Signal

Thousands Visit Free Clinics In Barns And Fields: ‘We’re The Middle Class, And We’re HereChris Togneri, The Federalist

This is How You Make Health Care AffordableJay Bowen, The Stream

Here Are 7 Implications of Ending Obamacare’s Cost-Sharing Reduction PaymentsEdmund Haislmaier, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Economics/Education

When It Comes to Helping People, Facts Don’t Care About Your Intentions – Jacob Roth, The Daily Signal

How Should American Christians Help the Poor at Home? – Rob Schwarzwalder, The Stream

4 Reasons To Pick A College That Doesn’t Want To Destroy Your Principles – Chandler Lasch, The Federalist

Why Men Are the New College Minority – Jon Marcus, The Atlantic

Play Hard. Work Maybe? – Melissa Langsam Braunstein, Family Studies

Marriage

Half of those thinking of divorce reconsider a year laterCBC News

America Abandons Marriage at Its Own PerilJerry Newcombe, The Christian Post

Parenting Is Not a “Job,” and Marriage Is Not “Work”Jonathan Malesic, New Republic

This incredible medical breakthrough could save the lives of millions of preborn babiesCassy Fiano, Live Action

Faith/Character/Culture

Religion and Politics at the Dinner Table: Challenging the Old Maxim – Christopher W. Love, Public Discourse

Serving God and a woman in need at the WalmartPatty Knap, Aleteia

Have Smartphones Destroyed a Generation?Jean M. Twenge, The Atlantic

I Don’t Understand Christians Watching Game of ThronesKevin DeYoung, The Gospel Coalition

Does Conscience Point Towards the Existence of God?Matt Nelson, Word On Fire

Guys Need BrosBryan Stoudt, Desiring God

What Having a Ton of Kids Has Taught MeJared Zimmerer, Word On Fire

On Fields of PraiseRobert Royal, The Catholic Thing

The Great Wall of Cotton: Why We Hit Snooze on GodGreg Morse, Desiring God

Don’t Let Politics Turn America Into Another CharlottesvilleDavid Harsanyi, The Federalist

Human Sexuality

Study finds more Americans are approving of polygamyCatholic News Agency

Talking about sex with your kids: 5 things I’m learningJohn Powell, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Examining the History of Sexual Exploitation and the Fight to Eradicate ItMadeleine Ayers, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Gender Expert’: Boy Won’t Play With Trucks. Let’s Make Him A Girl. – Hank Berrien, The Daily Wire

This debate is about gender dysphoria, not transgender military service – Jamie Shupe, MercatorNet

Why Are Lesbian Teens Having Two To Seven Times As Many Babies As Their Heterosexual Peers? – Glenn T. Stanton, The Federalist

Human Trafficking

Senators: Alter Internet laws to hold Backpage liable for sex traffickingAamer Madhani, USA Today

At Las Vegas’s Mayweather-McGregor Fight, Human Trafficking May Happen Right In Front Of You – Vinciane Ngomsi, The Federalist

Pornography

Why Both Sides of the Aisle Can Agree that Pornography is a Public Health Crisis – Dawn Hawkins, Huffington Post

Social Conservative Review - August 1, 2017

by Daniel Hart

August 1, 2017

Dear Friends,

In an age when assisted suicide has been deemed acceptable public policy, it becomes necessary for Christians to unapologetically stand up for the dignity and worth of every human being, no matter what stage of life they are in or what occupation they have.

In the professional world, it’s easy to view jobs through the prism of worldly prestige and monetary worth—a film actor in Hollywood is seen as a much more important person than the cashier behind the counter at a grocery store. As Christians, however, we see these two jobs as equal in dignity and value, because God makes no distinction in worth between them. The actor is called to use his or her skills to further truth, goodness, and beauty through the art form of their acting abilities, thereby imparting new and cathartic insights about the mysteries of existence to the public. In a different but no less valuable way, the grocery store cashier is called to further truth, goodness, and beauty by being knowledgeable, kind, and helpful to his or her customers, thereby creating a life-giving and positive experience to every individual they serve.

Analogously, all people, no matter how old or young, have a role to play in furthering the kingdom of God on earth. As Chris Hazell has written, we discover our role primarily by living in community with others. One of the great tragedies of modern times is the increased isolation that many in our society live in. What we often fail to understand is that instead of taking away our freedom and autonomy, living in community with others actually strengthens our sense of self. God created us for communion, declaring that “it is not good that man should be alone” (Gen 2:18). In the above referenced article, Hazel relates a beautiful quote from Henri J.M. Nouwen: “That is the great joy of being chosen: the discovery that others are chosen as well. In the house of God there are many mansions. There is a place for everyone - a unique, special place.”

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Trump’s right: Transgender patriotism isn’t the issue — military readiness isTony Perkins

Why We Were Right to Pray for President TrumpTony Perkins

6 Ways Governor Brownback Can Prioritize International Religious FreedomTravis Weber

11 Reasons Why Assisted Suicide Must EndDan Hart

Backpage.com and Human Trafficking: What is Christian America’s Response?Mary Beasley

No, Rev. Barber, Prayer for a President Is Not “Heresy”Travis Weber

 

Religious Liberty

Free to Believe”

Bible verse plaque displayed at Tennessee police department to be movedFox News

Police officer disciplined for refusing to call a ‘transgender’ man a womanFr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

Lesbian mom asks Christian judge to recuse himself from her divorce case citing his stance against homosexualityMegan Cerullo, NY Daily News

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

FRC Speaker Series: Four Objections to Religious Liberty… and some Possible Answers! with Michael Stokes Paulsen

A Demagogic Bully – Mark Pulliam, City Journal

Indiana school district kowtows to atheist group, promises to end graduation prayersTré Goins-Phillips, TheBlaze

Ultra-Rich Gay Activist On Targeting Christians: It’s Time To ‘Punish The Wicked’Bre Payton, The Federalist

Students sue school for hushing pro-life speechBonnie Pritchett, WORLD

Conservative Students More Afraid to Speak Up on Campus Than Liberals, Study FindsMichael Gryboski, The Christian Post

Christie Signs Bill Requiring NJ Schools Use Preferred Pronouns for Transgender KidsRob Shimshock, The Daily Signal

State Directs Schools To ‘Segregate’ Students Uncomfortable With Transgender BathroomsAmanda Prestigiacomo, The Daily Wire

Millennials approve of religious freedom as a choice, but don’t know what it meansScott Taylor, Deseret News

International Religious Freedom

8 Churches Close in Baghdad Amid Shrinking Iraqi Christian Population – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

China’s Censorship Powers Are Bigger And More Dangerous Than You Know – Helen Raleigh, The Federalist

Spanish Cathedral Targeted for Reversing the ReconquistaMatthew E. Bunson, National Catholic Register

Pakistani Christians Fear Rise in Persecution After Ouster of Prime Minister Nawaz SharifAnugrah Kumar, The Christian Post

Google’s New Hate Speech Algorithm Has a Problem With JewsLiel Leibovitz, Tablet

4 Surprising Facts About ISISJoshua Pease, Open Doors

Military Religious Freedom

Why Trump Keeping Trans People From The Military Is A Good Decision – Walt Heyer, The Federalist

 

Life

Abortion

Hawaii pro-life centers sue over abortion promotion lawSamantha Gobba, WORLD

An Effective Weapon to Reach Pro-Abortion AdvocatesPatti Armstrong, National Catholic Register

Melinda Gates Commits $375 Million to Global Family Planning to Counter Trump’s Pro-Life PolicyDr. Susan Berry, Breitbart

Why ‘Sidewalk Counselors’ Are Crucial to the Pro-Life MovementPatty Knap, National Catholic Register

I was told abortion would make my life more complete. But it left the biggest hole in my heart…Bettina di Fiore, LifeSiteNews

Pregnancy Center Saves LA Babies from AbortionJim Graves, National Catholic Register

Dem campaign chief vows no litmus test on abortionBen Kamisar and Reid Wilson, The Hill

Kentucky Could Be The First Abortion Free-State By 2018Jeremiah Keenan, The Federalist

Adoption

Adoption: The good and hard lessonsMicah and Tracy Fries, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Why Christians Are Abandoning the OrphanageSarah Eekhoff Zylstra, Christianity Today

How you can learn to love your birth momAshton Morgan, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Bioethics

Republicans in Congress attempt to repeal D.C. assisted suicide lawEmma Kinery, USA Today

How Much Longer Do We Have? Living by Faith While Our Son Is DyingAllison Muedder, Desiring God

Charlie Gard Dies After Life Support is Switched Off: Mother Says “Our Beautiful Boy is Gone” – Steven Ertelt, LifeNews

Charlie Gard’s Case Delivers Déjà Vu Of Twentieth-Century EugenicsCaroline D’Agati, The Federalist

Scientists Kill Unborn Children in Human Genetic Engineering ExperimentsWesley Smith, LifeNews

Mother says adult, disabled daughter traumatized by doctor’s suggestion of assisted suicideJohn Burger, Aleteia

What Charlie Gard Has Taught UsMichael Brown, Townhall

Obamacare

41-Year-Old Father: ‘Obamacare Won’t Pay For My Back Surgery, But It Will Pay For Opioids’ – John Daniel Davidson, The Federalist

Congress Needs to Go Right Back to Work on Health Care Reform – Robert Moffit, The Daily Signal

Bipartisan Group: We Need To Break The Law To Make Obamacare Too Big To FailChristopher Jacobs, The Federalist

 

Family

Economics/Education

Why Melinda Gates Is Wrong About Contraception – John Clark, National Catholic Register

Capitalism and the Quest for Community – Brian Jones, Public Discourse

The American Dream Is in CrisisJ.D. Vance, The Daily Signal

Dodd-Frank Has Held Down the US Economy for Too Long – Rep. Jeb Hensarling, The Daily Signal

Our Cultural Waterloo – Carl R. Trueman, First Things

Conservatives are increasingly hostile to higher ed. Who can blame them? – Noah Rothman, USA Today

This Is the Way the College ‘Bubble’ Ends – Derek Thompson, The Atlantic

Marriage

Long marriage, beautiful lifeCaryn Rivadeneira, Aleteia

Establishing the facts about family breakdown transforming the debate about marriageHarry Benson, Marriage Foundation

Paper, silver and gold: How marriage shapes usTom Hoopes, Aleteia

The Children of Divorce Speak OutRachel Lu, Crisis

Staying Married Is Not About Staying in LoveJohn Piper, Desiring God

Young men giving up on marriage: ‘Women aren’t women anymore’Hilary White, LifeSiteNews

Marriage MattersW. Bradford Wilcox, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

FRC Speaker Series: Not a Day Care: The Devastating Consequences of Abandoning Truth with Dr. Everett Piper

Game Of Thrones’ Is The Ugliest Show On Television. That’s Why We Love ItTitus Techera, The Federalist

Children are Never a BurdenMattias A. Caro, Ethika Politika

Limping Along the Way of Truth – Word On Fire

The Democrats’ Anthropological Field Trip to Study AmericansKyle Smith, National Review

Podcast: Race and human flourishing; Embracing diversity for the good of all peopleGlenn Packiam, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Crude Language, Coarse Culture: We Need to Do BetterRob Schwarzwalder, The Stream

Human Sexuality

Why Premarital Sex Is Wrong – Nathan Smith, Public Discourse

Sen. Patty Murray Calls For Resignation of Trump Official Over Accurate Campus Rape CommentsJoy Pullmann, The Federalist

I felt really humiliated:’ Teen blasts school district’s transgender bathroom policyMatt Miller, PennLive

Activist Mommy Starts ‘Operation Pull Teen Vogue’ After Mag Peddles Sexual Perversion to MinorsCharlene Aaron, CBN News

Trump Cuts Wildly Ineffective Teen Pregnancy Program, Media Flip OutMollie Hemingway, The Federalist

Sex Robots Are (Almost) Here. How Will We Respond?Jay Richards, The Stream

How Embedding Women With Contraception May Keep Them In PovertyElizabeth Bauer, The Federalist

Human Trafficking

FRC Speaker Series: The Battle for Humanity: How Conservatives Can Fight Human Trafficking with Rep. Ann Wagner

Pornography

Twelve Days of Action: Half-Way Through This Year’s Dirty Dozen List – Ben Forsgren, National Center On Sexual Exploitation

You’d Be Surprised to Hear What Porn Is Doing to Sex – Gail Dines and Liz Walker, Verily

After 10 Years, My Partner Won His Struggle With Porn Addiction – Fight The New Drug

Social Conservative Review - July 17, 2017

by Daniel Hart

July 17, 2017

Dear Friends,

In last week’s message, I discussed the growing problem of hostility to Christianity that many Americans have faced over the last 15 years and continue to face now, despite living in a free democracy.

It’s important to remember that this problem is by no means limited to the U.S.—other freedom-loving countries are also showing disturbing anti-Christian trends. In a recent survey conducted in the U.K., it was revealed that an astonishing 93 percent of Christians “believe that their faith is being marginalized in British society today.” The results were published by Premier Christian Communications, after 12,000 “ordinary Christians” took part in the survey. Commenting on the survey results, Premier CEO Peter Kerridge said that “it is ‘clear’ that the U.K. does not have the ‘liberal accepting society’ that it believes it does ‘if we don’t tolerate and accept everyone, including Christians.’” In just the past year in the U.K., a Christian nurse was fired for speaking about her faith and praying for patients, two Christians were convicted of disorderly conduct and fined for preaching on the streets, and numerous Christian schools were given downgraded statuses by the leading education watchdog group for their teachings on homosexuality and other religions.

FRC will continue to fight for the freedoms of all believers to live out their faith freely in the public square, with the hope that Christians of all nationalities will also fight for their rights. Christ’s words will forever be our guide: “Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so men persecuted the prophets who were before you.”

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

It’s Time to Clean Up Our Elections – Ken Blackwell

Doctors Across The World Are Fighting To Treat Charlie Gard. Will The UK Let Them? – Arina Grossu

Where Are The Decent Liberals?Ken Blackwell

The Serpents are SurfacingKen Blackwell

Movie Review: “Alison’s Choice”Lauren Hand

Those with Gender Dysphoria Can Find Healing Peter Sprigg

No Fear: Coach Kennedy’s Steadfast FaithEmma Gibney

Release Charlie GardArina Grossu

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Has a Civil Rights Stalwart Lost Its Way? – Ben Schreckinger, Politico Magazine

Cakes and Consciences: The Case of Jack Phillips and Masterpiece Cakeshop – Nathanael Blake, Public Discourse

The Urgency of Restoring the Biblical Values of America’s Founders – Arthur Goldberg, Public Discourse

Passion for Equality – Mark Movsesian, First Things

The Pelvic Left Attacks an Innocent WomanAustin Ruse, Crisis

The Media’s Use of This ‘Hate Group’ Label Puts Conservatives’ Safety at Risk – Katrina Trinko, The Daily Signal

Religious Freedom Advocates Fire Back After ‘Hate Group’ Smear Over Jeff Sessions Speech – Fred Lucas, The Daily Signal

International Religious Freedom

93 Percent of UK Christians Feel Their Faith Is Marginalized, Survey Says – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

Orthodox Jewish girls school faces closure for refusing to teach children about homosexualityBrandon Morse, TheBlaze

The New Totalitarian Laws of CanadaJohn Paul Meenan, Crisis

Chinese Nobel Prize winner dies in prison, first since the Nazi regimeChinaAid

Military Religious Freedom

US Army Tells Female Soldiers to ‘Accept’ Having Naked Men in Their ShowersSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

Work Hard, Pray Hard’: Retired General Reveals the True Path to Inner PeaceErik Rosales, CBN News

 

Life

Abortion

Video: Stephanie Gray: “Abortion: From Controversy to Civility”Talks at Google

Stunning images from inside the womb show that human life begins at fertilization – Becky Yeh, Live Action News

Oregon poised to make abortion freeSamantha Gobba, WORLD

Abortion Fanatics Don’t Want Choice, They Want Fewer BabiesMollie Hemingway, The Federalist

Bioethics

Parental and Governmental Authority in Medical Decisions: The Tragic Case of Charlie GardMelissa Moschella, Public Discourse

Je Suis Charlie, Once MoreR.R. Reno, First Things

Basic Bioethics: How to illuminate the Christian perspectiveJoe Carter, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Obamacare

Needed pro-life protections in potential healthcare legislation – Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Obamacare Is Causing Insurers To Delay Surgeries Patients Need – Richard Menger, The Federalist

Bringing Senate Conservatives and Moderates Together on Health-Care Reform – Michael F. Cannon, National Review

 

Family

Economics/Education

How to Find Hope in the Humanless Economy – Kevin Brown and Steven McMullen, Christianity Today

Here’s How Anti-Conservative Academic Discrimination Works – David French, National Review

Jobs Report Stronger Than Expected, but More Must Be Done to Boost the Economy – Timothy Doescher, The Daily Signal

Here’s Why So Many Republicans View America’s Colleges And Universities Negatively – Gracy Olmstead, The Federalist

Is California anti-family? – Joel Kotkin, Orange County Register

Think Tank: Reconsider Caring For Your Kids Because Money Matters Most – Gracy Olmstead, The Federalist

Marriage

5 Long-Time Married Couples Share Their Secrets to a Happy MarriageJenna Jonaitis, Verily

Married People Have More SexNathan Yau, Flowingdata

Premarital counseling can decrease divorce rates, psychologist saysLaren Hanson, The Daily Universe

Michigan couple, both 99, celebrates 80th wedding anniversaryEliza Murphy, Good Morning America

The 4 Crises Every Marriage Must Make It ThroughPaul Carter, The Gospel Coalition

The Adult Children of Divorce Find Their VoiceLeila Miller, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

Why Is God So Hidden?J. Warner Wallace, BreakPoint

Can Ethnicity Become a Straitjacket?Mike Tong, Desiring God

Don’t be Uncle Rico: A moral snatched from Napoleon DynamiteTod Worner, Aleteia

Hospitality Is Not Just for HomeBethany Jenkins, The Gospel Coalition

What Makes Humans So Special?Matt Nelson, Word On Fire

Want to Lead a Happier Life? Be More Generous, Study SaysBrandon Showalter, The Christian Post

Human Sexuality

Symptoms, Causes and Loving Those with Same-Sex AttractionCarrie Gress, National Catholic Register

Doctors Admit They Don’t Know Which Kids Should Gender Transition But Do It To Them AnywayWalt Heyer, The Federalist

Husband, Lift Up Your EyesJohn Piper, Desiring God

Pediatrician: ‘Transgender’ ideology has created widespread child abuseMichelle A. Cretella, LifeSiteNews

Increase in extramarital sex leading to new STD epidemicFr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

Most Teens Aren’t Having Sex, and They Deserve More Support for That ChoiceAlysse ElHage, Family Studies

Oral sex spreading unstoppable bacteria – James Gallagher, BBC News

At issue: The push for gender inclusivity in toys – Chris Woodward, OneNewsNow

Human Trafficking

3 things to know about the human trafficking reportTravis Wussow, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Backpage has always claimed it doesn’t control sex-related ads. New documents show otherwise.Tom Jackman and Jonathan O’Connell, The Washington Post

Pornography

What Porn Did To Their Lives – Rod Dreher, The American Conservative

Seven Promises to Pray Against PornJ.A. Medders, Desiring God

Kay Warren: ‘I Struggled With Porn Fascination’ – Nancy Flory, The Stream

Social Conservative Review - July 3, 2017

by Daniel Hart

July 3, 2017

Dear Friends,

From its very beginnings, America has always been the destination of freedom seekers. Immigrants from all over the world have flocked to America’s shores in the hope of finding something that their own native countries often lacked, but which they knew in their hearts must be possessed by every human person: freedom.

But what is “freedom”? This is a debate that we continue to have as a country. As hundreds of U.S. citizens can attest, even a free democracy such as ours is prone to infringe upon the freedoms of its people unless it possesses a proper understanding of “freedom.”

Many think that freedom is simply the ability to choose whatever one wants. The problem with this thinking is that when someone chooses evil, it is not only bad for that person but also bad for everyone who is affected by that person’s evil choice. True freedom, in the words of one author, “is a calling to realize in ourselves what is true about us, a calling to actualize in us all what is true, good, and beautiful.” This Christian understanding of freedom is not constraining, as many argue. Rather, it is freeing. How? Because “the more one does what is good, the freer one becomes. There is no true freedom except in the service of what is good and just. The choice to disobey and do evil is an abuse of freedom and leads to ‘the slavery of sin.’”

The lightness of being and the joy that we experience when we freely choose good is a testament to God’s design for freedom. This Fourth of July, let us celebrate the true freedom that Christ has fashioned in our lives and in our great country.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Report: Attacks On America’s First Freedom Increased 76 Percent In Three YearsTravis Weber

We Must Act While We Still CanTony Perkins

Trump, Congress Should Halt Transgender Military Policy that Costs BillionsPeter Sprigg

Supreme Court Delivers Big Wins for Religious FreedomTravis Weber

Abortion Activists are Still Trying to Put David Daleiden in Jail for Exposing Planned ParenthoodTony Perkins

Pentagon Transgender Agenda Won’t Improve Military Readiness, Costs $3.7 BillionTony Perkins

Trump Set to Follow in Gipper’s Footsteps, Making Work Center of Social Welfare PolicyKen Blackwell

FRC’s Updated Hostility Report Shows Religious Organizations on the Front Lines of the Fight for Religious FreedomChris Baldacci

School Board Rigs System for Transgender WinCathy Ruse

When Campuses Become Battlefields: Protecting Free Speech in a Hostile EnvironmentIan Frith

Taxpayer-Funded Transgender Tutorial for Schoolchildren TankedCathy Ruse

5th Circuit Rejects Effort to Take Down Conscience ProtectionsTravis Weber

10 Things Every New Father Should KnowDan Hart

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Nonprofit Tracker Smears Dozens of Conservative Organizations as ‘Hate Groups’Rachel del Guidice, The Daily Signal

The Southern Poverty Law Center Bears False WitnessSamuel D. James, First Things

Supreme Court Rules 7-2: Yes, Christians Are Citizens TooKathy Schiffer, National Catholic Register

Missouri Tried to Discriminate Against a Church for No Good Reason. How the Supreme Court Leveled the Playing Field.Emilie Kao, The Daily Signal

Federal Judge Rules Cross Violates Law and Must Be RemovedToddStarnes.com

Prejudice and the Blaine AmendmentsPhilip Hamburger, First Things

Indiana Christian school at center of LGBT voucher debate – Brian Slodysko and Maria Danilova, The Washington Times

Mississippi can enforce LGBT religious objections law: court – Fox News

University to remove cross and Bibles from campus chapel – Todd Starnes, Fox News

Legal Radicals Don’t Want the ‘Separation of Church and State’ – David French, National Review

International Religious Freedom

Peru Fights Back Against Gender IdeologyVictor Gaetan, National Catholic Register

Russell Moore, Franklin Graham Orgs. Urge Trump to Tackle Severe Persecution of Sudanese ChristiansStoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Swedish Midwife to Fight for Rights at European CourtBob Paulson, Billy Graham Evangelistic Association

 

Life

Abortion

New Study Shows Why Fathers Matter in the Abortion FightVincent DiCaro, Care Net

US Rejects UN Resolution Supporting AbortionThe Christian Post

This Is The New Face Of The Pro-Life MovementTorey Van Oot, Refinery29

Oregon House Democrats pass bill providing free abortions for all, including illegal aliensValerie Richardson, The Washington Times

Bioethics

Video: How Adult Stem Cells Helped Jackie Stollfus be a MomCharlotte Lozier Institute

Doctor: Insurance Wouldn’t Pay for Patients’ Treatments, but Offered Assisted SuicideKelsey Harkness, The Daily Signal

The Court-Ordered Killing of Charlie GardIan Tuttle, National Review

When the “Right to Die” Becomes a Death SentenceMatthew Archbold, National Catholic Register

Physicians Without Chests: On the Call to End Conscientious Objection in MedicineMichael D. Stark and Grace Stark, Public Discourse

Yanking Life Support From UK Baby Demonstrates Dangers Of Socialized MedicineNicole Russell, The Federalist

Obamacare

Americans Struggling Under Obamacare Tell Pence ‘Real Story’Fred Lucas, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Economics/Education

Why Genuine Liberal Arts Degrees Are A Perfect Fit For Today’s Uncertain Economy – Christine Goss, The Federalist

The Crisis of the Economic Right and the Case for Reform Conservatism – Max Bloom, National Review

DeVos Should Take on Education’s Reformocracy – Frederick M. Hess & Michael Q. Mcshane, National Review

From playgrounds to classrooms – Leigh Jones, WORLD

We’re having fewer babies. Could that kill the economy? – Ariana Eunjung Cha, The Washington Post

Marriage

Ruth and Boaz: A Romance That Models God’s Love for UsRay Vander Laan, Focus on the Family

Faith and Marriage: Better Together?W. Bradford Wilcox, Principles

The Most Important Text on MarriageDavid Mathis, Desiring God

As Wedding Costs Rise, Perhaps It’s Time to Invest More in Marriage PrepAmber Lapp, Family Studies

PTSD and marriage: Advice from someone who’s been therePatricia Eden, U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs

Faith/Character/Culture

Why Can’t Americans Enjoy Life?John Horvat II, Crisis

A Map of the SoulMichael Egnor, First Things

The ‘Church’ of Facebook?Alex Duke, The Gospel Coalition

In Defense of DoubtRobert B. Greving, Crisis

Christianity: A Bargain That Will Cost You EverythingJoe Heschmeyer, Word On Fire

Human Sexuality

Problems with Puberty Suppression in Treating Gender DysphoriaPaul W. Hruz, Lawrence S. Mayer, Paul R. McHugh, The New Atlantis

The Transgender Agenda vs. the ScienceRick Fitzgibbons, The Catholic Thing

Same-Sex Attraction and Therapy: It’s Time to Let People ChooseArthur Goldberg, Public Discourse

German Parliament votes to legalize same-sex ‘marriage’Claire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

LGBT Mega-Donor Reveals Next Goal: ‘Punish the Wicked’ Gay Marriage OpponentsSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

Pornography

The Brain’s Delete Button: How You Can Erase Years Of Watching Porn – Fight the New Drug

Our Odyssey Against Sexual Temptation – Jimmy Needham, Desiring God

Social Conservative Review - June 15, 2017

by Daniel Hart

June 15, 2017

Dear Friends,

In Matthew 5:21-22, Jesus says, “You have heard it was said to your ancestors, You shall not kill; and whoever kills will be liable to judgment. But I say to you, whoever is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment.”

This passage in Scripture comes to mind in reflecting on the tragic incident that occurred yesterday in Alexandria, Va., in which a murderous gunman attempted to kill members of Congress and their aides on a baseball field, wounding five. It’s important to ponder and take heed of this vital teaching of Christ in the volatile times in which we live.

Christ is teaching us that when we harbor malicious thoughts about other people in our hearts, they can easily fester into physical action, like angry outbursts and violence. This is why Jesus says that we must go well beyond the avoidance of outright killing. We have to get at the root of the problem, which starts in our hearts. We must root out every thought and attitude that causes us to hate others. (In these polarized times, we must insist on the true definition of “hate,” which is “intense hostility and aversion usually deriving from fear, anger, or sense of injury.” Therefore, disagreeing with certain lifestyles and public policies is, by definition, not “hate.”)

This is an important lesson for all of us who are involved in public policy and government. When it comes to politics, most of us have passionate viewpoints, which lead to passionate disagreements, which is very fitting in a free democracy such as ours that requires open and free debate in order to function. However, we must never let our passionate viewpoints turn into anger, as Christ said. As we have witnessed time and time again in our country, anger can lead to vindictiveness towards others, which can lead to violence and murder. Christ has perfect understanding of this dangerous fallibility that is present in every human heart, and therefore warns against it in the strongest terms.

May all of our most passionate views always be rooted in love for our fellow man, never anger. Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

The Bigotry of Bernie Sanders – Travis Weber

Trump’s Rule on the HHS Contraceptive Mandate Ensures Religious Freedom for All – Travis Weber

Sanders’ Religious Test Goes Against Founders’ VisionTony Perkins

Bern Victim: Christians Need Not ApplyPatrina Mosley

This Pill Could Reverse a Third of AbortionsArina Grossu

President Trump Names Abstinence Education Leader to Top Post at HHS DepartmentTony Perkins

Community Health Care Centers Offer Full Spectrum of Primary Care, Unlike Planned Parenthood – FRC

An Open Letter to Bernie Sanders from a Vermont Pastor – Tim Counts

FRC Summer Reading List – Dan Hart

Testimony in Opposition to H. 1190 and S. 62 – Peter Sprigg

We’re Better Together – Dan Hart

Standing for Christ – Travis Weber

Even Liberal Feminists Can’t Resist Committed Love and Marriage – Chris Gacek

Giving to Caesar and to God – Peter Sprigg

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Bernie Sanders’s Religious Test for Christians in Public Office – Emma Green, The Atlantic

Policy at Michigan College Results in Arrests for Handing Out ConstitutionAlliance Defending Freedom

Trump Administration Considering Rule That Would Help Little Sisters of the PoorRachel del Guidice, The Daily Signal

The Campus Speech Police Come to Fresno StateJake Curtis, National Review

Town Stands up to Atheist Bullies, Refuses to Remove CrossToddStarnes.com

Bernie Sanders Doesn’t Think Christians Are Fit For Public OfficeJohn Daniel Davidson, The Federalist

School: Students May Not Pray or Mention JesusToddStarnes.com

This Farmer Won’t Host Same-Sex Weddings at His Orchard. Now a City Has Banned Him From Its Farmers Market.Fred Lucas, The Daily Signal

International Religious Freedom

Petition calls for repeal of ‘totalitarian’ bill allowing children to be taken from Christian homesLianne Laurence, LifeSiteNews

Ireland’s abortion law violates human rights, UN rulesKenza Bryan, Independent

Public board orders Christian school to stop reading ‘offensive’ Bible passages – Dorothy Cummings McLean, LifeSiteNews

Military Religious Freedom

Supreme Court refuses to review case of Christian Marine who claims she was discharged over Bible verseSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

 

Life

Abortion

Daughter’s thank you note to her parents who chose life as teens goes viral – Nancy Flanders, Live Action

More abortions, more money, less real support for womenSamantha Gobba, WORLD

Harvard Law Journal: Unborn Babies are Constitutional PersonsThe Stream

Israel’s modern-day midwives offer solutions, not abortionJay Hobbs, The Stream

Most Pro-Life Laws are Based on Sound ScienceMichael J. New, National Review

Why We Kill Disabled Kids: For the Same Reason Cain Killed AbelJohn Zmirak, The Stream

Delaware legalizes abortion through all nine months – Samantha Gobba, WORLD

Adoption

Christians who reject transgenderism banned from adoption, working with children in IllinoisDoug Mainwaring, LifeSiteNews

Streamlining adoption the goal of bipartisan working group – David Meade, Lexington Herald Leader

Bioethics

Basic bioethics: How Christians should think about bioethicsJoe Carter, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Doctor: Insurance companies are denying treatment and pushing assisted suicide on patientsCassy Fiano, Live Action News

Oregon Senate votes to allow dementia patients to be starved to deathClaire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

Canadian nurse forced out for refusing to participate in euthanasia – Pete Baklinski, LifeSiteNews

Obamacare

States scramble to prevent ObamaCare exodusRachel Roubein and Nathaniel Weixel, The Hill

Fate of Planned Parenthood funding tied to Senate moderatesJennifer Haberkorn, Politico

Yes, Obamacare Really Does Disadvantage Disabled Americans – Christopher Jacobs, The Federalist

 

Family

Economics/Education

New Poll Shows What College Students Really Think About Safe Spaces – Katrina Willis, The Daily Signal

What Happens at Home Doesn’t Stay There: It Goes to School – Nicholas Zill, Family Studies

Tax Reform for Working-Class Families – Josh McCabe, National Review

Marriage

Maintaining Your Marriage During the Parenting Years – Arlene Pellicane, Focus on the Family

5 Memorable quotes that taught me how to be a better fatherMichael Rennier, Aleteia

A Vow Worth Keeping: A Review of Wedding Toasts I’ll Never Give Alysse ElHage, Family Studies

Millennials Are Looking for Parental Guidance on LoveKat Talalas, Family Studies

What It Feels Like To Be A Man Struggling With InfertilityAaron Gleason, The Federalist

The global culture each child needsPatrick F. Fagan, Mercatornet

Faith/Character/Culture

How Christians Should Engage in CultureRob Schwarzwalder, The Stream

Authentic community: How online substitutes damage our empathyJonathan C. Edwards, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Gal Gadot’s Wonder Woman Manages The Tough Task Of Winsomely Portraying VirtueGracy Olmstead, The Federalist

The Bible Got It Right: Why Going to Church Keeps You Alive LongerLorie Johnson, CBN News

Kathy Griffin and the Vanishing of ArgumentBp. Robert Barron, National Catholic Register

Bernie Sanders and the Danger of Theological Ignorance – Rob Schwarzwalder, The Stream

Human Sexuality

Study: Less sex education leads to less sexKiley Crossland, WORLD

4 biblical truths to help fight sexual temptationCasey B. Hough, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Same-Sex Attraction and Therapy: It’s Time to Let People Choose – Arther Goldberg, Public Discourse

Human Trafficking

Cambodia’s Child Sex Industry Is Dwindling—And They Have Christians to ThankKate Shellnutt In Phnom Penh, Christianity Today

Pornography

How Porn Dehumanizes Women Through Sexual Objectification – Fight the New Drug

Social Conservative Review - June 1, 2017

by Daniel Hart

June 1, 2017

Dear Friends,

Self-professed atheists like Bill Maher and Richard Dawkins often say that Christianity is an absurd religion that believes in things like “talking snakes.” While it’s lamentable that Maher and Dawkins feel the need to take Scripture passages out of context to prop up straw man arguments, I often wonder what they would say in response to profound Christian witness that gets to the heart of why our faith is the Truth.

I came across an example of this kind of witness recently from Fr. Peter John Cameron, O.P., who makes this penetrating insight about the nature of our God and how He conforms to the natural desires of our hearts:

If you look into your heart and consider the kind of god you deem ideal, what you come up with is Jesus. Given the chance to custom order the divinity who best satisfies the desires of our heart, we would design a deity tender and compassionate, whose joy was to accompany us as a friend in our earthly travails. We would want a god infinitely wise, eager to teach us the things we need to know in order for life to be filled with meaning and joy. We would insist on a god who was merciful and ever swift to forgive our sins… one with a special preference for the poor and the needy. We would want a god of perfect peace, promising happiness, blessing us with hope… one who was extravagantly generous and totally giving of self. We would want a god who was in love with us.

But, in fact, when we meet such a man in Jesus Christ, we can’t help but to respond the way people in the Gospel do: Where did this man get all this? Don’t we know his father and mother? Isn’t this the son of the carpenter? Which means that the automatic impulse when we meet Jesus Christ is to presume that what makes him so unique and exceptional—unlike anyone else we have ever met—is his Father.

The Son of God exposes our presumption: You know me and also know where I am from. Yet I did not come on my own, but the one who sent me, whom you do not know, is true (Jn 7:28). The more we gaze upon Jesus Christ in all his ineffable goodness, the more we are compelled to cry with Philip, Show us the Father (Jn 14:8). (Excerpted from Magnificat, Vol. 19, No. 4 / June 2017, p. 3-4)

May we be forever grateful to our amazing God, who consummately fulfills our truest human desire for a perfect Father.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

  

FRC Articles

Secretary Mattis: Focus on War-Fighting, Ditch the Social EngineeringLt. Gen. Jerry Boykin

Maxine Waters: The Left’s Best Against Donald Trump?Ken Blackwell

Rolling Thunder, ‘Missing Man’ tables and the BibleLt. Gen. Jerry Boykin

Democrat Outreach to Pro-Lifers Will Take More Than TalkTony Perkins

New Research Shows “Adult-Like” Nerves in Very Young Embryos: Affirming the Likelihood of Fetal PainArina Grossu

Hungarian Megachurch a Model of Salt and Light in Europe – Peter Sprigg

Budapest Family Summit Explores Ways to Revitalize the Family – Peter Sprigg

A Fitting Tribute to Memorial Day – Chris Gacek

FRC’s Arina Grossu Speaks at New D.C. Abortion Business Operated by Controversial Abortionist – Arina Grossu

Blasphemy Laws” Violate Religious Liberty – Travis Weber

Emotionally Manipulative Videos Can’t Save Planned Parenthood – Dan Hart

                                                       

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

VICTORY: Court affirms Christian’s right to refuse in good faith to make ‘LGBT Pride’ shirtsPeter LaBarbera, LifeSiteNews

Rage at Rubio’s Bible Tweets: More Evidence of Troubling Bias Against ChristiansJohn Zmirak, The Stream

Sheriff Ordered to Remove ‘Blessed are the Peacemakers’ DecalsTodd Starnes, The Stream

Undercover Planned Parenthood Video Removed from YouTube at Judge’s OrderAlexandra DeSanctis, National Review

Parents Sue San Diego School District Over ‘Initiative to Combat Islamophobia’Heather Clark, Christian News

White House Acts to Roll Back Birth-Control Mandate for Religious EmployersRobert Pear, The New York Times

International Religious Freedom

The continuing tragedy of Egypt’s Coptic Christians – Samuel Tadros, The Washington Post

Trump Should Adopt an International Religious-Freedom Policy with Teeth – Tina Ramirez, National Review

Wives of Chinese torture victims beg Congress for helpJune Cheng, WORLD

5 Ways to give persecuted Christians help beyond the hashtagDavid Mills, Aleteia

India Arrests Christians for Taking Kids to Bible CampSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

 

Life

Abortion

Why The Latest Planned Parenthood Video Is A BreakthroughBecky Visosky, The Federalist

Planned Parenthood’s Main Abortion Clinic Has Injured 4 Women in Botched Abortions Already This YearCheryl Sullenger, Life News

Planned Parenthood to Close Three Abortion Clinics in California – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

New law may force pro-life groups to hire abortion activistsFr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

Undercover Video Exposes Deep Contradiction at the Heart of Planned ParenthoodJay Hobbs, The Daily Signal

Planned Parenthood’s newly released annual report shows abortions have increased – againSusan Michelle-Hanson, Live Action

Adoption

Why women aren’t choosing adoption – and how pro-lifers can change thatMatt Hadro, Crux

Texas Adoption Law Could Jumpstart Christian Agencies AgainKate Shellnutt, Christianity Today

Illinois Purges Social Workers and Foster Families Who Don’t ‘Facilitate Transgenderism’ – Mary Hasson, The Federalist

Bioethics

Creating babies from skin cells turns procreation into transaction: scientistMaggie Maslak, CAN/EWTN News

Time for a “Populist” Bioethics Commission – Wesley J. Smith, First Things

The Dangerous Advance on Assisted Suicide You Probably Haven’t Heard About – Bobby Schindler, NewsBusters

Pope Francis Cautions Against Dangers of Genetic Manipulation That Can Create ‘Super Humans’ – Felix N. Codilla, The Christian Post

Obamacare

McConnell steps into Obamacare firing lineBurgess Everett and Jennifer Haberkorn, Politico

McConnell faces a challenge passing health care in SenateAlan Fram, Associated Press

 

Family

Economics/Education

Deliver Us from iPads – Heather Wilhelm, National Review

What Exactly Are Christian Schools Selling (or Marketing)? – Robert F. Davis, The Christian Post

Many Women Want Careers That Are Compatible with Raising Children – Naomi Schaefer Riley, Family Studies

The Closing of the American Mind Thirty Years Later: A Symposium – Nathan Schlueter, Public Discourse

Do-It-Yourself Biology – Deacon James H. Toner, Crisis

Obama’s regulations in 2016 to drain economy by $2 trillion – David Sherfinski, The Washington Times

Marriage

Delaying Marriage and ParenthoodJohn Stonestreet and Roberto Rivera, BreakPoint

Study: Growing Number of Millennials Believe in Traditional Gender Roles

The Surprising Link Between Broken Families And America’s Opioid CrisisTamás Ungar, The Federalist

What The New York Times Gets Wrong About Marriage, Health, and Well-BeingTyler J. VanderWeele, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

To Repair Our Fractured Republic, Get To Know Your NeighborsGracy Olmstead, The Federalist

The Kids Are Not Okay—and Neither Is AmericaCollin Hansen, The Gospel Coalition

Anne With an E Trades Realism for ‘Realism’Esther O’Reilly, The Stream

Video: On Pride, Humility, and Social MediaBp. Robert Barron, Word On Fire

America’s Social Fabric Is Eroding. Government Must Avoid Feeding the Problem.Sen. Mike Lee, The Daily Signal

Human Sexuality

Nevada governor signs bill to ban conversion therapy, with exemption for religious organizationsChandrika Narayan, Fox 13

What’s at Stake in the Left’s Effort to Redefine ‘Sex’ in Pennsylvania LawMichael Geer, The Daily Signal

Men and Women Are Not the SameAlastair Roberts, The Gospel Coalition

What’s in a Name? Why Christians Should Be Wary of the Word “Transgender”Andrew T. Walker, Public Discourse

Why the New York Times Now Favors AdulteryAustin Ruse, Crisis

Human Trafficking

New Human Trafficking Foundation May Support Abortion and ProstitutionAustin Ruse, C-Fam

A vulnerable approach to ending human traffickingRaleigh Sadler, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Pornography

5 Steps for Finding Freedom From Porn and Masturbation – Alice Neaves, The Christian Post

5 Reasons Satan loves pornography – Tom Hoopes, Aleteia

Chris Rock Gets Real About ‘Damaging Affects’ of Porn – Jeannie Law, The Christian Post

Why Fighting Sex Trafficking Absolutely Involves Fighting Pornography – Karen Countryman-Roswurm, Fight the New Drug

Fighting the New Drug: Pornography – Sue Haggerty, Catholic Digest

Social Conservative Review - May 15, 2017

by Daniel Hart

May 15, 2017

Dear Friends,

A few weeks ago, an event occurred on my morning commute to work that has stuck with me ever since. As I was exiting the metro car at my station stop, I noticed a man standing to the side of the door outside of the car, waiting for myself and other passengers to exit before entering. His head was turned to his right, angrily glowering at a woman who was also outside of the car waiting to get on. As I stepped out of the car, I overhead the woman say in a low, even, and slightly nervous tone, “You heard me.” I instantly knew that she must have just uttered an insult, and was doubling down on it.

As I walked out of the metro station, I felt a churning clump in the pit of my stomach and a tinge of shame warming my cheeks. It was the same feeling I always get when I witness one person maltreating another, or right after I myself have wronged another person and immediately realize it. Think of those times when we observe a bitter argument, with insults and vilifications flying in every direction, or even in smaller disparagements that go unanswered but are no less cutting and hurtful. That bitterness seems to hang in the air, taking on a metaphysical reality that can be clearly sensed by our God-given consciences. Since our conscience is built in to our souls and delineated by our minds, and since our personhood is a union of mind and body, it makes perfect sense that our bodies react this way. When we witness the sins of others or commit sin ourselves, they physically manifest in our bodies, leaving a pit in our stomach and a bruise in our heart.

I say all this to emphasize an important principle of Christianity: nothing we do in life occurs in a vacuum. Every action has consequences. This reality is often ignored and rejected in our culture of individualism. Somehow, the idea of “victimless crimes” has become an accepted fact. This is wrong—our burning cheeks and sensitive souls tell us otherwise. The fact that we identify ourselves primarily through relationships (as a son, daughter, wife, husband, member of an organization, etc.) underscores how interconnected we are with one another and why our actions affect those around us so intimately. May we always remember that great adage that the character of Maximus instills in his soldiers in the film Gladiator: “What we do in life, echoes in eternity.”

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

GOP religious freedom bill restores free speech, not ‘dark money’Mandi Ancalle

Counterpoint: Trump — Destroying the Johnson AmendmentTravis Weber

Motherhood is Life-GivingDan Hart

Questions Abound Regarding Air Force Academy Commandant NomineePeter Sprigg

Yes, Trump’s HHS Appointee Charmaine Yoest is Pro-Life. Deal With ItDan Hart

 

Religious Liberty

Free to Believe”

Geologist Denied Samples from Grand Canyon Because of His FaithCBN News

Professor Tells Student to Stop Reading BibleToddStarnes.com

Christian Firefighter, Axed for Sharing His Faith, Now Heading to WA High CourtMark Martin, CBN News

Victory! Teacher fired for giving student a Bible — gets job backTodd Starnes, Fox News

International Religious Freedom

Global Persecution Rises for First Time in Three YearsMedium

Under Caesar’s Sword’: A Project to Aid Persecuted ChristiansJim Graves, National Catholic Register

The Land Of Athanasius and Its LessonsCharles J. Chaput, First Things

Persecution of Christians isn’t rareFranklin Graham, USA Today

Catholic School Faces LGBT Backlash for Canceling Gender Show for 5-year-oldsToddStarnes.com

Sentencing is a stark reminder of the global Islamist threatMischel Yosick, American Islamic Forum for Democracy

Whoever Wins Iran’s Election, Its Religious Minorities LoseKristina Arriaga, Wall Street Journal

Human rights lawyer unjustly tried for subversion in Hunan, pleads guilty after months of tortureChinaAid

Military Religious Freedom

Trump’s Army Secretary nominee: The left trying to ‘paint me as a hater’ for my Christian viewsPeter LaBarbera, LifeSiteNews

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Religious Liberty and the Common GoodGerard V. Bradley, Public Discourse

Gay couple can sue Kim Davis for damages, appeals court rulesLianne Laurence, LifeSiteNews

Christians Fight for Freedom of Conscience in IndianaPeter Heck, The Christian Post

Bible club for 1st-, 2nd-graders shut down by school district after complaintDave Urbanski, TheBlaze

Catholic’ college bans Chick-fil-A over gay students’ complaintsPeter LaBarbera, LifeSiteNews


Life

Abortion

The Problem With Linking Abortion and Economics – Lori Szala, The New York Times

Left Wants To Make Abortion An Economic Issue To Sideline Its AtrocitiesCullen Herout, The Federalist

The Real Life of the Pro-Life HomeRachel Jankovic, Desiring God

Thaddeus was almost aborted because of a rare disorder. His parents chose life, and saw a miracleDoug Mainwaring, LifeSiteNews

Adoption

Children Before PoliticsKevin D. Williamson, National Review

Bill protecting the religious freedom of Alabama faith-based adoption agencies officially becomes lawJordan LaPorta, Yellowhammer

Emotional Video of Adopted Man Thanking His Birth Mother Goes ViralSteven Ertelt, Life News

Bioethics

Sex Scandal: The Drive to Abolish Male and Female—and ChildbearingAlastair Roberts, The Gospel Coalition

The Embryo Orphanage: A Cautionary TaleAna Maria Dumitru, Public Discourse

Physician-Assisted Suicide Tells People Like Me That Our Lives Are No Longer Worth LivingZachary D. Schmoll, Public Discourse

Canada Considering Proposal to Allow Euthanizing Mentally Ill PatientsEric Metaxas, Life News

International furor erupts over embryo jewelry business  Samantha Gobba, WORLD

Obamacare

Aetna to exit Obamacare exchanges in 2 remaining states – Reuters

The House Has Passed Its Health Care Bill. Here’s What Senate Republicans Are Up To. – Sen. Mike Lee, The Daily Signal


Family

Economics/Education

The Decline of Mobility and the Decline of the Family – Robert VerBruggen, Family Studies

The Men Who Take ‘Women’s‘ Jobs – Alana Semuels, The Atlantic

Hidden horror of school sex assaults revealed by AP – Associated Press

Marriage

The Norm of Marital Monogamy Is Not Crumbling – Alan J. Hawkins, Family Studies

Stuffing Emotions is a False Way to Keep the Peace in Your Marriage – Lysa TerKeurst, Focus on the Family

What Makes Motherhood Worthwhile? – Rhonda Kruse Nordin, Family Studies

Video: Reclaiming Fatherhood Promotes Equality – The Wheatley Institution

The Brain Boosting Power of MotherhoodAshley McGuire, Family Studies

What our stay-at-home mom taught us about human dignityJill Waggoner and Allison Hucks, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Faith/Character/Culture

Breaking Free From Identity Politics – Stephen Adubato, Ethika Politika

The real tragedy in the shooting of Jordan EdwardsJemar Tisby, CNN

Historian George Marsden revisits C.S. Lewis’s remarkable case for ‘Mere Christianity’Richard Ostling, GetReligion

How to Take Every Thought CaptiveRob Schwarzwalder, The Stream

Human Sexuality

4 Really good reasons ‘hooking up’ is a bad ideaChloe Mooradian, Aleteia

How Can You Live Without Sex?Ed Shaw, The Gospel Coalition

Democrats introduce bill to ban LGBT ‘conversion’ therapySteve Weatherbe, LifeSiteNews

Sharing Dinner and Jesus with StrippersSarah Eekhoff Zylstra, The Gospel Coalition

How Conversion Therapy Bans Will Trap Transgender ChildrenMarcus Gregory, The Federalist

Too young to cross a street but old enough for a sex changeJulie Borg, WORLD

Researchers Identify 6,500 Genes That Are Expressed Differently in Men and WomenWeizmann Wonder Wander

Pornography

4 Dozen Millennials Were Asked If They’d Watch Porn With Their Partner—Here’s What They Said – Fight the New Drug

Is Porn OK If It’s Made by Women? – Chelsea Samelson, Acculturated

Social Conservative Review - May 1, 2017

by Daniel Hart

May 1, 2017

Dear Friends,

Over the past few years, it has been clear that the mainstream media does not have a clue about the real world implications of the attacks on religious liberty that believers, particularly Christians, have been suffering. People like Donald Vander Boon and groups like the Little Sisters of the Poor have been repeatedly bullied by their own government into forced participation of an extreme LGBT and abortion agenda. For too long, the media has either ignored these stories or falsely portrayed believers as the “extremists.”

Now, a few cracks in this one-sided façade are starting to appear. A recent New Yorker article about Rod Dreher (author of The Benedict Option) quotes Andrew Sullivan, a Catholic writer who identifies as homosexual: “‘There is simply no way for an orthodox Catholic to embrace same-sex marriage,’ he said. ‘The attempt to conflate that with homophobia is a sign of the unthinking nature of some liberal responses to religion’ … ‘Rod forces you to understand what real pluralism is: actually accepting people with completely different world views than your own.’” The author goes on to restate Rod Dreher’s position: “You [progressives] wouldn’t sue Orthodox Jews or observant Muslims. Please don’t sue us, either.”

This echoes the point that believers have been making for years: that “tolerance” and “equality” must apply to those with sincerely held religious beliefs in a free society. In view of the vast number of people and organizations that have been persecuted for their beliefs, the highest levels of government must take action to protect their First Amendment rights. That is why FRC is hosting a special program “Free to Believe: Religious Liberty in the Land of the Free” that will be webcast on May 2nd at 2 pm EDT to discuss the need for positive protections for religious freedom, and steps that can be taken to secure religious liberty for all Americans.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

4 Entertaining Moments During Oral Arguments Over Banning Churches From Public FundsTravis Weber

The First 100 Days to Securing AmericaKen Blackwell

Students for Life Holds #Sockit2PP Rally Outside U.S. CapitolJoshua Denton

Where Are the “Equal Rights” of Unborn Babies?Dan Hart

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Protecting Religious Liberty Safeguards All Children on the Playground Equally – Nathaniel Bruno, Public Discourse

Florida Teacher Bans Cross Necklaces in Class, Promotes LGBT Day of Silence – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

A popular public school Bible class in West Virginia faces legal challenge – Joe Heim, The Washington Post

At Berkeley, the Mob Wins Again – David French, National Review

Religious liberty still at risk under TrumpNick Eicher, WORLD

International Religious Freedom

Forgiveness: Muslims Moved as Coptic Christians Do the UnimaginableJayson Casper, Christianity Today

Nearly One Christian Killed Every Hour for Practicing FaithEdwin Mora, Breitbart

Anti-Christianity In FranceJean Duchesne, First Things

Religious Freedom Watchdog For the First Time Urges Blacklisting for RussiaPatrick Goodenough, CNS News

USCIRF names China flagrant religious freedom abuser in annual reportChinaAid

Military Religious Freedom

Military Chaplains Turn 100 Years Old as ‘Attacks’ on Service RiseCBN News

House Dems Push To Derail Mark Green For Army Secretary, Call Him ‘Homophobic’Jonah Bennett, The Daily Caller

 

Life

Abortion

New study finds preborn babies may feel pain in the first trimesterCassy Fiano, Live Action News

Planned Parenthood honors abortion “champions”Nick Eicher, WORLD

Video: Abortions increasing, services decreasing at Planned ParenthoodLive Action

Trump Admin Looking at Stopping Obama Ruling Forcing California Churches to Pay for AbortionsSteven Ertelt, LifeNews

10 Reasons Congress Should Defund Planned Parenthood, From Women Who Have Been ThereTheresa Bonopartis, The Federalist

Adoption

Girl adopted with all 5 siblings: ‘This is just what I wanted’Kevin Grasha, USA Today

As Number of Adoptions Drops, Many US Agencies Face StrainsDavid Crary, Associated Press

Bioethics

Shocking Report Shows Almost 6,100 People Were Killed in Assisted Suicide in the Netherlands Last YearAlex Schadenberg, LifeNews

Trading on the Female Body: Surrogacy, Exploitation, and Collusion by the US GovernmentKathleen Sloan, Public Discourse

970 People Were Killed Killed in Canada Last Year in Euthanasia or Assisted SuicideAlex Schadenberg, LifeNews

Obamacare

Running The Numbers On Mortality Rates Suggests Obamacare Could Be Killing PeopleBrian Frankie, The Federalist

 

Family

Economics/Education

On Tax Day, Let’s Work Toward More Family-Friendly Tax Policies – Alysse ElHage, Family Studies

Education Is A Market Whether Liberals Like It Or Not – Joy Pullmann, The Federalist

A Bipartisan Case for School Choice – Melissa Moschella, Public Discourse

Putting First Things First in a College Education – Michael Scaperlanda, Crisis

Should Mothers’ Labor Force Participation Be a Policy Goal? – Amber Lapp, Family Studies

Millennials Are Embracing Traditional Gender Roles in Record NumbersRelevant

More education means less religious commitment — unless you’re Christian – Emily McFarlan Miller, Religion News Service

Marriage

Why Millennial Women Delay MarriageJennifer Murff, The Christian Post

Census: More Americans 18-to-34 Now Live With Parents Than With SpouseTerence P. Jeffrey, CNS News

Marriage is still the gold standard of family stabilityKiley Crossland, WORLD

Who is at Risk for a Gray Divorce? It DependsNaomi Cahn, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

Is this the most destructive element in human nature?David Mills, Aleteia

The Too-Small Story of HomeJen Pollock Michel, The Gospel Coalition

Why Isn’t There More Evidence For God?Fredric Heidemann, Word On Fire

Human Sexuality

Harvard: Students can change gender daily, saying otherwise is ‘violence’Fr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

Why Are So Many Lesbians Getting Pregnant?Glenn Stanton, Public Discourse

Bravo to the Truth: What’s Wrong with Transgender IdeologyWalt Heyer, Public Discourse

Sex Education in California Sparks Culture ClashJoan Frawley Desmond, National Catholic Register

Why Is Female Genital Mutilation Still Happening in the U.S.?Phyllis Chesler, Middle East Forum

Transgender Kids: Are We Doing More Harm Than Good?Todd A. Whitworth, First, Do No Harm: Youth Gender Professionals

Human Trafficking

The Battle against Sex Trafficking of MinorsGeorge Will, National Review

Mom’s story of ‘attempted sex trafficking’ goes viral — but is it the whole story?Ashley Jonkman, Aleteia

U.S. Lawmakers Seek to End Impunity for Online Sale of ChildrenLisa Correnti, C-Fam

India’s human trafficking and rape survivors make their own justiceCalah Alexander, Aleteia

Pornography

In War on Child Porn, US Turns Wounded Soldiers Into Hunters – Victoria Macchi, VOA News

Group pushes back on pornography with science – Rob Rogers, Billings Gazette

Archives