Category archives: Social Conservative Review

Social Conservative Review - January 17, 2017

by Daniel Hart

January 17, 2017

Dear Friends,

When we accept Jesus as Lord, our lives must change. As Bishop Robert Barron points out, this is truly good news for some, but for others, it is a threat to their way of life. Why? “If Jesus is Lord, my ego can’t be Lord. My religion can’t be Lord. My country, my convictions, and my culture cannot be Lord.”

Bishop Barron elaborates: “The resurrection is the clearest indication of the Lordship of Jesus. This is why the message of the resurrection is attacked, belittled, or explained away … This reveals a great mystery: we are called to announce the good news to everyone, but not everyone will listen. Once we’ve done our work, we should move on and not obsess about those who won’t listen. Why do some respond and some don’t? We don’t know, but that’s ultimately up to God.”

It is clear that when we fight for the values of Jesus, especially in the public square, we will most likely meet strong resistance, if not outright derision. It can be discouraging, but the important thing is that we do the work and not worry about the results, as Bishop Barron says. So let’s make a resolution in this new year to do all we can to make Jesus the Lord of all that we say and do, and in so doing, to open the door to Christ for others.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

What President-elect Trump can do about religious freedomTony Perkins

Religious Freedom Under President-Elect TrumpTravis Weber

Trump Will Have His Hands Full Fixing Social Extremism in the State DepartmentTony Perkins

Christian Persecution, Religious Freedom Explored in ‘Silence’ (Movie Review)Peter Sprigg

A media noose for Jeff SessionsKen Blackwell

Why True Feminism Means Skipping the Women’s March on WashingtonBrynne Krispin

Why We Can’t Wait: A Call for MLK-like Leadership  Patrina Mosley

Navy Begins Transgender IndoctrinationPeter Sprigg

Loudoun Schools Say No to Sex ExperimentCathy Ruse

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Chip Gaines: “Fight for a world that knows how to lovingly disagree”Jake Roberson, Focus on the Family

International Religious Freedom

Top 50 Most Dangerous Countries for Christians Ranked in New ReportStoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

UN’s New Top Bureaucrat Raises HopesLisa Correnti and Stefano Gennarini, C-Fam

Killing Africa: Stop Taxpayer Funding of Illegal Abortions in AfricaStephen Herreid, The Stream

Prominent pastor sentenced to two-and-a-half years after a year in detentionChina Aid

 

Life

Abortion

Abortion ban after 20 weeks of pregnancy put on fast track in Kentucky SenateJack Brammer, Lexington Herald Leader

6 Alarming Findings in House Panel’s Planned Parenthood ProbeKelsey Harkness, The Daily Signal

Finley’s Parents are Grateful Abortion Pill Reversal Saved Their Little GirlNancy Flanders, LifeNews

Adoption

Nicole Kidman on Lion and adoption: ‘It’s about the simplicity of love’Decca Aitkenhead, The Guardian

Letter from a 21-year-old orphan may make you consider being a foster parentAshley Jonkman, Aleteia

Parents Keep Twins With Down Syndrome After Adoptive Parents Back OutNancy Flanders, LifeNews

Bioethics

Finland Set to Debate Legislation That Would Legalize EuthanasiaPaul Russell, LifeNews

81-year-old grandmother gets “Don’t euthanize me” tattooPatty Knap, Aleteia

Bioethics in 2017Wesley J. Smith, First Things

Obamacare

Senate takes first step toward repealing ObamaCareJordain Carney, The Hill

New Numbers Show Strong Support for Repealing ObamacareElizabeth Fender, The Daily Signal

For Me, Obamacare Means Paying All Your Own Bills And Never Getting The Doctor You NeedM.G. Oprea, The Federalist

 

Family

Economics/Education

Privilege’ Is Just Another Word For Family, And We Need More Of It – Josh Sabey, The Federalist

Men’s Breadwinning Still Matters for Marriage – Christos Makridis, Family Studies

Report: Schools Are Teaching Kids To Hate America Under The Guise Of ‘Civics’ – Joy Pullmann, The Federalist

Marriage

The Heart of ParadiseDiane Woerner, Touchstone

The Treachery of DivorceLuma Simms, Family Studies

Three Reasons Not to Make This January Your Divorce MonthBradford Wilcox and Samuel Sturgeon, National Review

Millennials and cohabitation: Understanding motivations and ministering wellBrian Owen, Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission

Faith/Character/Culture

Why Does The World Exist?Matthew Becklo, Word On Fire

The Problem of Evil Is a Problem for EveryoneGavin Ortlund, The Gospel Coalition

Faith on the HillAleksandra Sandstrom, Pew Research Center

An MLK Day Pledge: No More Hyphenated AmericansE.W. Jackson, The Stream

MLK reminds us of the power of — and the need for — great oratoryElizabeth Scalia, Aleteia

Human Sexuality

National Geographic‘s “Gender Revolution”: Bad Argument and Biased IdeologyAndrew T. Walker and Denny Burk, Public Discourse

Court strikes down harmful transgender mandateBecket Fund

How The Trump Administration Can Truly Help Gender-Struggling AmericansWalt Heyer, The Federalist

Human Trafficking

Backpage.Com Officially Shuts Down Adult Ad Section Filled With Prostitution/Child TraffickingFight the New Drug

Pornography

Porn ruins lives, so families should be able to sue for damages: Utah legislator – Fr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

Netflix Is 40x More Popular Than Porn In Hotel Room Entertainment – Fight the New Drug

Social Conservative Review - December 15, 2016

by Daniel Hart

December 15, 2016

Dear Friends,

Christmas can be a busy time—between trying to find the right presents, to cooking giant meals, to traveling, to rushing from one “holiday” event to the next, it’s easy to let the great celebration of the miracle of Christ’s birth slip by without taking the time to just… be.

I was reminded of this after watching a short video about bowling, of all things. In it, a Milwaukee resident reflects on how our modern culture is spending less and less quality time in social recreation with one another, illustrated by the fact that more and more bowling alleys in the Milwaukee area, which were once the social hubs of the community, are now closing. “It’s that social aspect that we are getting away from,” the man says. “Because people don’t want to take time to relax for a couple hours, and enjoy the moment. Everybody’s so fragmented with their smartphones … that’s what really bothers me about where our society is going. We’re too focused on chasing the dollar and not enjoying life. It’s not about living.”

This is a great reminder to all of us. As we spend time with family and friends this Christmas, be sure to set aside modern distractions so that we can have genuine encounters with each other. As Mary Stanford writes, spending quality time with each other is vital to our own growth in virtue: “It truly is fascinating, even in everyday life, how we come to know ourselves more fully when we physically encounter others … When our lives “bump up” against one another in … intimate way[s], … we discover much about ourselves through our spouse’s or child’s responses, through his or her reactions to our own behavior. And what we discover about ourselves in this process isn’t always pretty. The fact remains, however, that without such moments of self-discovery, we cannot grow.”

Stanford further reflects on the effect that quality time has on a child’s sense of self-worth, but this could just as easily be applied to those of any age: “In a fruitful family life, sometimes true ‘quality time’ is in fact identical to ‘quantity time’—time marked less by activity than by availability, by an attentive presence that invites loved ones to approach each other face-to-face with their thoughts or feelings. Such moments of undivided attention for one another may be experienced as a waste to a busy adult, but are in fact critical to a child’s developing sense of identity and security. Looking away from a screen and into a child’s eyes is a physical sign that one is truly receiving and appreciating him.”

This Christmas, let’s not only recommit to genuinely encountering Christ, but also our families. Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Atone Deaf: Liberals Demand Apology from Religious Trump BaseTony Perkins

Despite Left’s Bullying of Christians, Same-Sex Marriage Isn’t SettledTony Perkins

A transgender military is a weaker, compromised militaryPeter Sprigg

On Elections and the Easy Evil of HatredSarah Perry

Truth Wins at Arkansas Supreme Court Regarding Parentage on Birth CertificatesPeter Sprigg

France Reminds United States of Importance of First AmendmentTravis Weber

CDC: Abortion at Lowest Level in YearsArina Grossu

The ACC’s Bullying of North Carolina is UnacceptableChris Gacek

 

Religious Liberty

Free to Believe”

Christian artists face jail time for refusing to make same-sex wedding invitationsChris Enloe, The Blaze

The Persecution of Professor EsolenGeorge Weigel, First Things

This Small Business Owner Didn’t Want to Make Shirts for Gay Pride Festival. Now He’s in Court.Leah Jessen, The Daily Signal

International Religious Freedom

Canada’s Boldest Professor Defies the Gender PoliceScott Ventureyra, Crisis

French government votes to ban pro-life websitesPete Baklinski, LifeSiteNews

Following death, organ harvesting of prisoner, China Aid releases statementChina Aid

Sam Alone Stands Against the LeviathanJohn Paul Meenan, Crisis

The Sensitivity Police Strike AgainGeorge Will, National Review

Ransomed: The race to free 226 Christian hostages in SyriaLori Hinnant, Associated Press

UK Anti-Discrimination Laws Used as a ‘Weapon’ against ChristiansCBN News

Coptic Church Bombing: ‘Deadliest Attack’ on Egyptian ChristiansTalia Wise, CBN News

Military Religious Freedom

Parallel Societies: How the American Military and Civilian Worlds Parted WaysScott Beauchamp, Public Discourse

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

National Motto “In God We Trust” Can Stay on U.S. CurrencyFirst Liberty

Anglican Pastor May End Up in Jail in California for Offering Prayers for Women Entering Abortion FacilityAndre Mitchell, Christian Today

School Orders Staffer to Remove “Charlie Brown” Christmas PosterToddStarnes.com

Religious Liberty Win: Mass. Backs Off Gender Identity Law That Could Have Jailed PastorsLiberty McArtor, The Stream

Massachusetts churches free to serve their communities without being forced to abandon beliefsAlliance Defending Freedom

 

Life

Abortion

Senate Judiciary Committee refers Planned Parenthood for FBI investigation – Susan Michelle-Hanson, LiveAction

Media Silence: NYC Abortion Rate Is 60% of Birth RateKatie Yoder, National Right to Life

My Dear Friend Chucky Puts To Shame France’s Ban On Talking About Down SyndromeMike Rapkoch, The Federalist

Another ‘Miracle on 34th Street’ at Macy’s2ndVote

Ohio Senate Passes Bill to Ban All Abortions After an Unborn Baby’s Heartbeat BeginsSteven Ertelt, LifeNews

Unconscionable: Threats to Religious Freedom and Rights of Conscience in the Abortion DebateTim Bradley, Public Discourse

Adoption

Foster Children Need the ChurchBrittany Lind, The Gospel Coalition

[Oklahoma] DHS starts new program to speed up adoption processLacey Lett, KFOR

Advocates: Revamp Texas adoption care after mistreated teensFox News

Bioethics

Chaplains of DeathR.R. Reno, First Things

Joni Eareckson Tada: Christians Are Giving Up, Enabling Culture to Be WorseSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

4 in 10 Evangelicals Think Physician Assisted Suicide is ‘Morally Acceptable;’ Joni Eareckson Tada RespondsSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

Death on Demand: Euthanasia Activist Admits Assisted Suicide Not Just for Terminally IllSteven Ertelt, LifeNews

Assisted Suicide MendacityWesley J. Smith, National Right to Life

Obamacare

Don’t Let Democrats Define The Obamacare Debate – David Harsanyi, The Federalist

Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell: We’ll Repeal Obamacare on Day One – Steven Ertelt, LifeNews

How To Repeal Obamacare: Repeal Obamacare – Robert Tracinski, The Federalist

Obamacare May Soon Be Over. Here’s What Americans Have Thought of the Law Since 2010. – Elizabeth Fender, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Economics/Education

Meet the congresswoman poised to tear up Obama’s education legacy – Kimberly Hefling, Politico

Why Fewer Americans Outearn Their Parents – Alexia Fernández Campbell, The Atlantic

Feminists Should Fight the Department of Education’s Redefinition of Sex Discrimination – Christen Price, Public Discourse

Marriage

Conflict in Marriage Does Not Need to Be DestructiveJason Whiting, Family Studies

The Three Love DietMARRI

Married-Parent Families Boost Student Performance in OhioNicholas Zill and W. Bradford Wilcox, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

Why Christmas Should Bother EverybodyBishop Robert Barron, Word On Fire

Why You Shouldn’t Change Jobs Every Two YearsSamuel Tran, The Gospel Coalition

Are Atheists Addled?Regis Martin, Crisis

Church Should Feel UncomfortableBrett McCracken, The Gospel Coalition

The Battle Belongs to the Grassroots: This Is Our MomentDoug Mainwaring, Public Discourse

Human Sexuality

State vs. Family: The Tyranny of the “Emerging Orthodoxy”Paul Diamond, Public Discourse

The Transgender Movement Targets Autistic ChildrenElise Ehrhard, Crisis

Sorry, Millennials. Monogamy is Not a “Spectrum”Andrew Stiles, Acculturated

Pornography

Seven Reasons You Should Not Indulge in Pornography – Andrew David Naselli, The Gospel Coalition

Uncovering The Massive Porn Problem In The U.S. Military – Fight the New Drug

7 Areas of Life That Pornography Destroys – Patrick Mabilog, Christian Today

Social Conservative Review - November 15, 2016

by Daniel Hart

November 15, 2016

Dear Friends,

The presidential election result one week ago was a cause for celebration for many and a cause of genuine shock and dismay for others. It was also a sobering reminder of how sharply and equally divided we are as a country, especially in terms of the popular vote.

In a democracy such as ours, is this really a cause for concern? After all, if we are all free to believe and vote how we want, does it really matter that we are divided? As John Cuddeback writes, sharp divisions in a society are indeed a cause for concern. Why? Because in order for friendship and community to flourish, there needs to be commonality in fundamental principles. As demonstrated by the stark differences in the Democrat and Republican platforms, much of America does not seem to share fundamental principles. As Cuddeback points out, “If people think differently they will act differently.” This reality hinders our ability to share in a true community, which in order to thrive must ultimately agree on what virtue is and focus on its cultivation.

Most of us live in communities that do not share fundamental principles, so what are we to do? The key is to focus close to home—to build up one’s own family and cultivate friendships in the immediate vicinity in our local communities. As Cuddeback writes: “[B]uilding such cells of excellence is a fundamental requirement for the renewal of the broader polity. Smaller communities with shared vision and practices are healthy, and thus they tend to grow and divide. Since they are vibrant cells, they are also cells that can share a vision—the very vision that can unite and animate the broader community.”

Can this focus on the local community really affect people who do not share our fundamental principles? The author concludes: “[V]ibrant local communities are perhaps also the last, best chance for the broader society to learn basic truths of natural law by seeing them enacted in the flesh. Especially for people growing increasingly impervious to the admonitions of rational argument, there is no witness to the truth of family life, for instance, like families that are living that truth. In a sense, when it comes to the human good, seeing is believing.”

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

This Divisive Election Is an Opportunity to Share the GospelTravis Weber

The Wisdom of Trump’s Abortion AnswerCathy Ruse

Adoption: How One Life Touches Countless OthersElizabeth Hance

State-Sanctioned Discrimination in GeorgiaMandi Ancalle

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Make Religious Freedom Great AgainRyan T. Anderson, Public Discourse

The War On Wedding Vendors Is Ultimately A War On Free ThoughtJames Gottry, The Federalist

Defending Conscience Rights at Hacksaw Ridge and in the HHS CasesMatthew Kacsmaryk, First Things

Trump’s Supreme Court List: Ivy League? Out. The Heartland? In.Adam Liptak, The New York Times

International Religious Freedom

British Columbia’s highest court upholds religious freedom – Catholic News Agency

Medical team refuses to operate on critically ill dissidentQiao Nong, China Aid

New Film Highlights Persecution Of Christians Around The WorldJames Macintyre, Christian Today

Military Religious Freedom

Like Our Veterans, Americans Are Ones Who Draw a Line in the SandPeter Burfeind, The Federalist

U.S. Military On Trump Election: Like The Day Osama Was KilledGod and Country

 

Life

Abortion

40 Days for Life Fall Campaign Concludes With 658 Babies Saved From AbortionsShawn Carney and David Brando, Life News

Pro-Life Americans Have the Opportunity of a GenerationMelanie Israel, The Daily Signal

Kathleen Eaton Bravo is on a mission to change the pro-life movementZoe Romanowsky, Aleteia

Model Speaks Out Against Down Syndrome Abortion: ‘Life Needs To Happen’Katie Yoder, NewsBusters

Meet the 4 Siblings Behind the Designs of This New Pro-Life Apparel CompanyLeah Jessen, The Daily Signal

Adoption

Steve Jobs, Faith Hill Among 15 Famous People Featured in New Book on Adoption, ‘Chosen for Greatness’Brandon Showalter, The Christian Post

Bubba Watson and the Joy of AdoptionJeremy V. Jones, Focus on the Family

Cubs player Chris Coghlan and his wife share their story of adoptionNancy Flanders, Live Action News

Sportscaster Ernie Johnson on Adopting His Son With Special Needs: ‘It’s Rooted In Our Christian Faith’Justin Taylor, The Gospel Coalition

Bioethics

Lives That Don’t MatterDavid Walsh, The Catholic Thing

Don’t Let Assisted Suicide Come to the Nation’s CapitalRichard M. Doerflinger, Public Discourse

Colorado Approves Ballot Measure Making It 5th State to Legalize Assisted SuicideSteven Ertelt, Life News

A Right to Assisted Suicide for the Institutionalized Mentally IllWesley J. Smith, First Things

Obamacare

Health care premiums will go up next year unless Obamacare is fixed, Aetna CEO says – Anita Balakrishnan, Yahoo! Finance

A Blueprint for Repealing and Replacing Obamacare with Bipartisan Support – Josh Blackman, National Review

Jonathan Gruber Discovers ‘Stupidity’ Is Wrong Word For American Voters – Ira Stoll, The Sun

 

Family

Economics

Churches Need to Combat Joblessness – Eric Metaxas, The Christian Post

Where I Was Wrong Part III: Taxes, Work, and Family – Pete Spiliakos, First Things

Better-Educated Women Still Prefer Higher-Earning HusbandsFamily Studies

Marriage

Marriage Isn’t Meant to Meet Your NeedsChristopher Ash, The Gospel Coalition

Maximizing Everyday Moments in Your MarriageGreg Smalley, Focus on the Family

This Monthly Ritual Will Refresh Your MarriageMonica Gabriel Marshall, Verily

Faith/Character/Culture

Aristotle and the ElectionsJohn Cuddeback, First Things

Everyone’s duty is to hope for Trump, work for AmericaBen Sasse, Omaha World-Herald

Ideology is the Enemy of True FaithAnthony Esolen, Crisis

Leadership in an Angry & Divided NationJohn Stemberger, The Stream

4 Things To Pray For Now That The Election Is OverHans Fiene, The Federalist

Faith is not your ticket to happiness—but something much betterMichael Rennier, Aleteia

Human Sexuality

Should Government Talk More About the Risks of Hormonal Contraception?Helen Alvaré, Family Studies

The Contraception Crisis that Isn’tRebecca Oas, C-Fam

Boulder Valley schools leading way in training teachers for LGBTQ culture changeJennifer Brown, The Denver Post

Pornography

Drinking Out of Broken Cisterns: Pornography and the Lies It Perpetuates – Stephanie Laferriere, Reformed African American Network

Walmart Removes All Eroticized Child Nudity Photography Books – Works to Protect Families – National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Why Being In Love Means Being Anti-Porn Too – Fight the New Drug

Social Conservative Review - November 2, 2016

by Daniel Hart

November 2, 2016

Dear Friends,

A week from today is Election Day. In an FRC brochure about the importance of Christian involvement in the government, author Wayne Grudem had this to say about voting: “I believe that every Christian citizen who lives in a democracy has at the very least a minimal obligation to be well-informed and to vote for candidates and policies that are most consistent with biblical principles. The opportunity to help select the kind of government we will have is a stewardship that God entrusts to citizens in a democracy, a stewardship that we should not neglect or fail to appreciate.”

Grudem further argues that authentic Christian citizenship doesn’t stop at voting: “All told, hundreds of thousands of men (and many women as well) sacrificed their lives to protect the nation and preserve the freedoms we enjoy today. Is it right that we simply enjoy these freedoms while giving back to our nation nothing in return? Should we not participate at least at some level in giving money or giving time to support specific candidates and issues? Or writing letters or helping to distribute literature? Or even running for office or volunteering to serve in the military? Is it not right that all of us at least do something more than merely voting to preserve and protect this nation?”

It is clear that our country is headed into particularly uncertain times. That is why believers need to not only vote for their values, but to pray with renewed fervor for a significant increase of wisdom and virtue in our leaders. But that’s not all. As Grudem points out, we need to do all we possibly can to redeem the culture through lives of service to our country. There are different ways to serve, so pray about what your particular role may be. Make no mistake—everyone has a role to play. As a great leader of the last century once implored: Be the change that you wish to see in the world.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Georgia Still Needs to Remedy the Wrong Done to Eric WalshTravis Weber

Therapists Addressing Same-Sex Attractions are Joining the SAFE-T PatrolPeter Sprigg

The Real Margaret SangerArina Grossu

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Massachusetts Moves to Regulate Church Belief and OperationAlliance Defending Freedom

Bureaucrats have no business deciding whether Iowa church activities are religiousLifeSiteNews

State of Georgia Demands Pastor Turn Over SermonsToddStarnes.com

International Religious Freedom

United Nations Pushes Abortion on Unborn Children of Refugees and MigrantsMarie Smith, Life News

Federal Judge Asks Why Obama Administration Isn’t Admitting Christian Syrian RefugeesHans von Spakovsky, The Daily Signal

Jews, Christians and UNESCO’s Jerusalem resolutionLela Gilbert, Fox News

Military Religious Freedom

Obama Threatens to Veto Military Bill Because It Protects Religious GroupsRoger Severino, The Daily Signal

 

Life

Abortion

What To Do About Your Pro-Choice NeighborArdee Coolidge, Care Net

The Future of Pro-Life Legislation and Litigation Gerard V. Bradley, Public Discourse

What One Woman Is Doing to Take Down Planned ParenthoodRachel del Guidice, The Daily Signal

Abortion Is Not The Answer For People With Heart Defects, Like MeJaci Greggs, The Federalist

Life Worthy of Life: Down Syndrome, Equality, and My Son SilasRobert L. McFarland, Public Discourse

527 Babies Saved From Abortion During 40 Days for Life With One Week Left to GoShawn Carney, Life News

Adoption

Almost a Half Million Children Are in the Foster Care SystemGinny Graves, Good Housekeeping

The Obama Administration Is About To Make International Adoption A Lot HarderJayme Metzgar, The Federalist

Bioethics

New Documentary Reveals Bad Effects of Assisted Suicide Legalization on Those Who Want to LiveLife News

Insurance denied her chemo treatment. But it covered drugs for suicide. – Catholic News Agency

Reports of ‘three-parent babies’ multiplySara Reardon, Nature

Why Are African-Americans Strongly Opposed to Assisted Suicide?Eric Metaxas, The Christian Post

DC city council approves assisted suicideClaire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

Obamacare

In Desperate Push to Save Dying Obamacare, President Wants to Bail Out InsurersWilliam Wolfe, The Daily Signal

Obama’s Obamacare Speech Proves He’s As Authoritarian As Donald TrumpChristopher Jacobs, The Federalist

When Will Liberals Answer For Obamacare’s Failures?David Harsanyi, The Federalist

Obamacare Benchmark Premiums to Rise 25% in Sharpest Jump YetZachary Tracer, Bloomberg

 

Family

Economics

Why Economic Growth Is So Lackluster – Alana Semuels, The Atlantic

Within a Generation, Our National Debt Will Cost the Typical Family $12,000 – Lauren Bowman and Romina Boccia, The Daily Signal

The Trust Divide: Why Some Low-Income Families Avoid Help – Amber Lapp, Family Studies

Marriage

Masters of LoveEmily Esfahani Smith, The Atlantic

A father’s role matters just as much as a mother’s, intellectually speakingPaige Kellerman, Aleteia

Marriage counseling: the best investment we ever madeKatherine Willis Pershey, Aleteia

Faith/Character/Culture

We Abandon Social Conservatism at Our Own PerilCarlos D. Flores, Public Discourse

As America Goes, So Goes the WorldMichael Brown, The Stream

The Key to Evangelism in the 21st CenturyDavid Mathis, The Gospel Coalition

A Call to Millennials: It’s Up to Us to Change CultureLiberty McArtor, The Stream

Human Sexuality

Legal Sex: Exchanging the Truth of Sex for the Lie of Gender – Daniel Moody, Public Discourse

Love Your Neighbor Enough to Speak TruthRosaria Butterfield, The Gospel Coalition

Supreme Court Enters Legal Battle Over Gender Identity and the Purpose of RestroomsMatt Sharp, The Daily Signal

Pronouns, Ordinary People, and the War over RealityAnthony Esolen, Public Discourse

Judge reaffirms nationwide ban on Obama transgender school bathroom policyJosh Gerstein, Politico

Pornography

How Two Catholics Are Fighting Military Porn Addiction – Dustin Siggins, The Stream

Famed liberal novelist visited porn sets: what he saw left him in disbelief – Jonathon Van Maren, LifeSiteNews

A mother’s letter to her son about porn – Becky Hunter, Aleteia

The Social Conservative Review: October 17, 2016

by Daniel Hart

October 17, 2016

Dear Friends,

In the midst of worrying about the presidential election, the state of our culture, and the daily struggles that arise in our lives, it can be quite difficult to maintain an inner peace. I know it is for me. And yet, Christ’s constant bidding in the Gospels is, “Peace be with you.” I think it’s worth pondering what His true intent is with these words. It seems to me that Christ is not merely wishing that everyone should have more peace in their lives. He is literally giving His peace to us as a gift: “Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you” (John 14:27). It is therefore up to us to authentically receive His peace in humble thanksgiving and let it enlighten our lives.

These thoughts come to mind as I reflect on a recent blog post by Dr. Tom Neal, in which he expounds on the idea of “blooming where you’re planted.” In it, he quotes several pithy thoughts on the idea that in order to maintain Christ’s peace in the chaos of life, we must humbly accept whatever comes our way as a gift from God. According to one theologian: “Those who refuse to embrace life’s present joys and trials as coming from the Hand of God, who constantly complain of their present circumstances … these will never grow in sanctity, but rather will forever remain mired in the stagnation of mediocrity.”

Part of receiving and maintaining Christ’s peace is to not be afraid of suffering—it is inevitably part of all of our lives. Seeing suffering ultimately as a gift and an opportunity to grow in holiness is essential. Here are the reflections of another theologian:

Christians in the West have largely become repulsed by the tragic elements of life, and in so doing lose the opportunity, in facing tragedy, to experience the divine depths of faith and hope that spring from the corpse of Christ. They never get to know what it means to cling to God in the dark. Running from darkness and tragedy, one loses that most precious gift, that feeling, that thrill that makes us most human: the joy at seeing the first rays of a long awaited dawn after a long, dark night. Instead, we keep our self-made night lights on.”

The road ahead for our country may indeed be a “long, dark night,” especially for believers. But no matter what trials we face, Christ never fails to offer us his peace. This fact alone should reveal to us that we should not burden ourselves with worry about a distasteful present and an ominous future. In the words of Thomas Merton: “You do not need to know precisely what is happening, or exactly where it is all going. What you need is to recognize the possibilities and challenges offered by the present moment, and to embrace them with courage, faith and hope … It is better to find God on the threshold of despair than to risk our lives in a complacency.”

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

Religious Liberty

Free to Believe”

Christian Radio Banned on School BusToddStarnes.com

Federal judge lifts temporary ban on ritual slaughter of chickens, minutes before start of Yom KippurLouis Sahagun, Los Angeles Times

International Religious Freedom

I Found the Gospel in Communist RomaniaVirginia Prodan, Christianity Today

UN Event Shows How Sexual Agenda Tramples Children’s RightsRebecca Oas, C-Fam

Military Religious Freedom

Air Force officer under fire for saying Jesus Christ has influenced himGregory Tomlin, Christian Examiner

Gen. Boykin: How Does Transgender Integration Help Our Military to Fight and Win Wars?Michael W. Chapman, CNSNews.com

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

4 Cultural Trends Leading to the Decline of Religious LibertyTrevin Wax, The Gospel Coalition

LGBT Group Threatens Johns Hopkins Over Report That Science Doesn’t Show People Are Born Gay, TransgenderLeonardo Blair, The Christian Post

The All-Out Assault on the First AmendmentHans von Spakovsky, The Daily Signal

Christian school sues for right to pregame prayerBonnie Pritchett, World

Anti-Religious Freedom Activists Defeated at Procter & Gamble Annual MeetingThe National Center for Public Policy Research

 

Life

Abortion

9 real ways that abortion is just like slavery – Calvin Freiburger, LifeSiteNews

100 Abuses of Planned Parenthood – Students for Life of America

Mother pens letter to doctor who told her to abort her baby with Down syndromeNancy Flanders, Live Action

A baby’s first heartbeat is just 16 days after conceptionMark Prigg, Daily Mail

Bloody Business: 37 Companies That Fund Planned ParenthoodKatie Yoder, NewsBusters

Appeals Court Upholds California Law Forcing Pregnancy Centers to Promote AbortionsSteven Ertelt and Jay Hobbs, Life News

Adoption

Baby safe havens exist so that every mother has life-affirming optionsAdam Peters, Live Action

Bioethics

Death RightsHans Feichtinger, First Things

Shocking Oregon Assisted Suicide Report Shows Law is Rife With AbuseDiane Coleman, Life News

Court Forces Christian Nursing Home to Allow Killing Patients in Assisted SuicidesMicaiah Bilger, Life News

Euthanizing ChildrenWesley J. Smith, First Things

Dutch government wants to allow euthanasia for those who feel ‘done with life’Jeanne Smits, LifeSiteNews

Obamacare

Obamacare’s millennial problemRachana Pradhan and Paul Demko, Politico

Leading Democrat Governor: “The Affordable Care Act is no longer affordable”AP

Stopping Another Obamacare BailoutSen. Mike Lee, The Daily Signal

Bill Clinton Is Right: Obamacare Is Crazy. Here’s a Sane ReformJohn R. Graham, Independent Institute

 

Family

Economics

Projections Differ, but Social Security Is in Deep Trouble – Lauren Bowman and Romina Boccia, The Daily Signal

A Portrait of the Un-Working American Man – Nicholas Eberstadt, Family Studies

Let Us Give Our Families the Care We Give Your Families’ – Adrienne Green, The Atlantic

Marriage

How divorce kills faith — and all of us sufferNaomi Schaefer Riley, New York Post

Five Steps to Becoming a Better ParentJustin Coulson, Family Studies

It’s The Truth That Keeps You Going, Even When Motherhood HurtsGrace Olmstead, The Federalist

Please Help Me Remember The Children I Have Lost To MiscarriageEmily Carrington, The Federalist

Faith/Character/Culture

The World Is Yearning for Beautiful Orthodoxy – Mark Galli, Christianity Today

A Lament on the Declining Quality of Public DiscourseJohn A. Cuddeback, Crisis

Bloom Where You’re PlantedTom Neal, Word On Fire

Human Sexuality

Having Transgender Parents Will Hurt Kids Like It Hurt MeDenise Shick, The Federalist

Truth and lies in ‘Night Moves,’ a telling anthem of the Sexual RevolutionTom Hoopes, Aleteia

Evangelical Campus Ministry Decides Employees Should Hold Evangelical Beliefs on MarriageEd Stetzer, Christianity Today

Human Trafficking

Researchers Uncover Disturbing Link Between Sex Trafficking and AbortionArdee Coolidge, Care Net

Pornography

The horror stories are real. Don’t give your children a smartphone. – Jonathon Van Maren, LifeSiteNews

Mayor rallies citizens to ‘create a city free from porn’ – Steve Weatherbe, LifeSiteNews

The Social Conservative Review: October 3, 2016

by Daniel Hart

October 3, 2016

Dear Friends,

In a culture that is increasingly losing sight of the foundational importance of man and woman as distinct yet complimentary, of natural marriage as the basic unit of society, and of unborn children as a gift from God, it is tempting to think that the only way to turn things around is to hammer home the truth of these fundamental realities with a tunnel vision-like single-mindedness whenever and however possible.

There is, however, a deeper way to think about cultural renewal, as John Cuddeback writes in a bracing recent essay “A Father’s Presence in the Home.” He states:

Now is the time to redouble our efforts to discover and implement the fullness of marriage and family life. One man and one woman permanently committed to each other and open to new life—this is a great thing. But it is not enough. Or in any case, there is yet a whole art, a virtue of how to do this well. Living family life well means unlocking the potential that marriage has to be a powerhouse of joy and blessing, even far beyond its own borders.

How can this be accomplished? Cuddeback argues that the father’s role in this endeavor is absolutely essential. He makes this radical suggestion: “At the center of this model will be a husband and father whose very success in life is fundamentally, though not solely, seen and judged in terms of what he does in the home.” As the author points out, this understanding of manhood is quite different from a typical archetype of fathers from the 1950’s who spent most of the week away at work and most of their time at home acting mainly as disciplinarian. Cuddeback points out that this disconnection from genuine relationships in family life is still very much a problem—it has merely taken on new forms in the decades since.

The author further argues that “a central measure of [a father’s] manhood will be the quality of his presence in the home.” He elaborates that “a central way a man loves and is present to his children, is by loving and being present to his wife. That is the natural order of the fabric of family life.” This presence can be manifested in creative ways by sharing activities with family members such as gardening, cooking, carpentry, landscaping, etc. The temptation to wile away free time by staring at a screen can instead be dedicated to “being together in richer ways” by reading, playing music, hiking, praying, etc.

It’s such simple advice, and yet so desperately needed in our age of distraction. Fathers will need to step up and take leadership roles in these areas for this art of genuine presence to be most effective. Cuddeback concludes: “At the heart of the renewal will be husbands and wives, fathers and mothers, united in the intensity of their intention to focus on relationships in the household and to embody that intention in daily life.”

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council 

 

FRC Articles and Publications

We Need to Amend the Johnson Amendment So the IRS Will Allow Free SpeechTony Perkins

The Hyde Amendment Has Saved 2 Million Lives. Democrats Want To Kill ItArina Grossu

Twenty-one states file suit against Obama to stop another end run around CongressKen Blackwell

A Parent’s Guide to the Transgender Movement in EducationPeter Sprigg

Tim Kaine’s Dangerous LiaisonsKen Blackwell

Celebrating 40 Years of the Hyde Amendment and Rep. Henry Hyde, A Pro-Life HeroArina Grossu and Andrew Guernsey

New York Times: All the Opinions (about North Carolina’s Bathroom Law) That Are Unfit, They PrintPeter Sprigg

Testimony on the Need for the Born-Alive Abortion Survivors Protection ActArina Grossu

 

Religious Liberty

Free to Believe”

Christian school goes to court to defend a 30-second pregame prayerTodd Starnes, Fox News

Kansas Police: You Can’t Pray in Your Own HomeBob Eschliman, Charisma News

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

SOGI Laws: A Subversive Response to a Nonexistent Problem – James Gottry, Public Discourse

Why Christian Colleges Will Thrive Amid Liberal Attacks – Eric Metaxas, The Christian Post

IRS Accused of Operating ‘Behind a Veil of Secrecy’ in Probe of 99 Churches – Penny Starr, CNSNews.com

The Government’s Civil Rights BulliesRichard A. Epstein, Defining Ideas

International Religious Freedom

Religious Freedom: The Basis for Human Rights … and the Survival of Christians in the Middle EastIgnatius Joseph III Younan, Public Discourse

French gvmt announces plan to criminalize websites opposing abortion – Jeanne Smits, LifeSiteNews

India Is Quietly Shining a Light on the Refugee CrisisJoseph D’Souza, The Christian Post

Organizations raise (false) alarm over “global contraceptive crisis”Rebecca Oas, C-Fam

Military Religious Freedom

Eglin removes Bible from clinic following retiree’s complaintWendy Victora, Northwest Florida Daily News

 

Life

Abortion

The 54-million-person hole in America – Christian Schneider, USA Today

I was pregnant and in an abusive marriage, but I chose lifeLive Action

The insidious way Team Obama is funneling money to Planned ParenthoodRep. Diane Black, Fox News

A GOP Congress Should Not Give Planned Parenthood Another Dime of Taxpayer MoneyRoger Severino, The Daily Signal

Bioethicists Sign “Consensus Statement” to Force Pro-Life Doctors to Promote AbortionsWesley Smith, Life News

Bioethics

Death Control” and the Bioethics PerilWesley J. Smith, First Things

All Death is Death Without DignityAaron Rothstein, Public Discourse

The Late, Great Stem Cell Debate: Why Pro-Lifers Were Right All AlongJohn Stonestreet, The Christian Post

The Precarious Future of Assisted SuicideJohn G. Stackhouse Jr., Christianity Today

Three Parent Babies? Our Macabre New WorldGeorge Neumayr, The American Spectator

Obamacare

Health Insurance Premiums Have Continued To Rise Faster Than Worker Wages Under Obamacare – Chris Conover, Forbes

Conservative Groups Put Spotlight on Obamacare ‘Bailouts’ for Insurers – Melissa Quinn, The Daily Signal

Yet Another Health Insurer Scales Back Its Participation in Obamacare – Peter Suderman, Reason.com

3 Simple Ways to Win the Debate on Obamacare – Beverly Hallberg, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Economics

Brokering the American Dream – Adrienne Green, The Atlantic

Democrats Debate Preschool: Should It Be Fascist Or Socialist? – Joy Pullmann, The Federalist

Fear of a College-Educated Barista – Derek Thompson, The Atlantic

The So-Called ‘Wage Gap’ Is Going Down. And the Numbers Don’t Tell the Full Story. – Rachel Greszler, The Daily Signal

Marriage

A single phrase helped save this marriageElizabeth Scalia, Aleteia

Same-Sex Marriage vs. the Real Thing: A Gay Man’s View of the Big PictureDoug Mainwaring, Public Discourse

How ‘soul mate’ nonsense is destroying Christian marriagesEric Metaxas, LifeSiteNews

The Benefits of Monthly Date Nights for Married CouplesHarry Benson, Family Studies

Should We Really Marry Our Best Friend? Yes, and Here’s WhyMonica Gabriel Marshall, Verily

How decades of divorce helped erode religionJulie Zauzmer, The Washington Post

Faith/Character/Culture

Tell the truth when it might hurt youDavid Mills, Aleteia

Delight in the GoodKaren Swallow Prior, First Things

Why Americans are Leaving Religion—and Why They’re Unlikely to Come BackPRRI

In Miami, a Monday Night MiracleTom Sileo, The Stream

2016 State of American Theology StudyLifeWay Research

Human Sexuality

We did the sexual revolution once before. It didn’t go well.Eric Metaxas, LifeSiteNews

Pushing Kids Into Transgenderism Is Medical MalpracticeWalt Heyer, The Federalist

The Media Won’t Pressure Charlotte To Solve The Trans Bathrooms Squabble, But You CanRichard Nelson, The Federalist

Transgender Identities Are Not Always PermanentWalt Heyer, Public Discourse

Pornography

Pornography: the destruction of women’s bodies & souls – Lisa Thompson, Aleteia

American Idol’ star confesses his porn addiction - and how he broke free – Ben Johnson, LifeSiteNews

9 Reasons Men Should Stay Away From Porn – Tyler Ward, The Christian Post

Why No One Actually “Needs” Porn in Their Life – Fight the New Drug

The Social Conservative Review: September 16, 2016

by Daniel Hart

September 16, 2016

Dear Friends,

For Americans, “freedom” is central to our identity. We are the “land of the free, the home of the brave.” Our media and culture tell us that with the progression of “LGBT rights” and with the expansion of “safe spaces” on college campuses, we are now a more free and inclusive society. So are we now happier and more satisfied as a result? R.R. Reno of First Things has pinpointed a “politics of vulnerability” that clearly shows we are anything but.

As Reno writes, current developments have instead led to “new dissatisfactions.” He elaborates: “It’s telling that the institutions with the most highly developed rhetoric of inclusion are the most elite, which is to say the most competitive. Again the paradox: The most successful kids with the greatest opportunities seem to be the ones most eager for protection [i.e. “trigger warnings” and “safe spaces”].” Among LGBT activists, we see example after example of lawsuits being utilized when bathroom policies and wedding cake referrals are deemed “hateful.” Why does this occur? When the most basic human forms of authority and societal structure — the family and the church — are torn down in the public square, people can’t help but feel increasingly vulnerable. What does this lead to? Reno explains: “Without a trustworthy Father in heaven (and often without a father in the home), the rising generation is more and more likely to ask big government (and a culture of political correctness) to provide security and comfort.”

A true understanding of “freedom” can go a long way in restoring this sense of security and comfort that many have lost. As believers know, true freedom is not merely the ability to choose something amongst a multitude of options; it is the ability to become who we were made to become — a child of God. As children, we learn about God’s love and authority — the surest source of genuine security and comfort — through our parents’ example and the faith they instill in us, in both literal and symbolic ways. We in turn pass this example and faith on to our children, and they to theirs, etc. In this way, a society’s well-being and hopeful future depend upon the strength of the family.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council


FRC Articles

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

International Religious Freedom

Military Religious Freedom

Life

Abortion

Adoption

Bioethics

Obamacare

Family

Economics

Marriage

Faith/Character/Culture

Human Sexuality

Human Trafficking

Pornography

The Social Conservative Review: September 1, 2016

by Daniel Hart

September 1, 2016

Dear Friends,

In a pivotal scene from the new film adaptation of Ben-Hur, Judah (Ben-Hur) comes upon Jesus as He carries His cross toward Golgotha. As Judah watches in bewilderment and horror, Jesus collapses in exhausted agony under the weight of the cross. Judah rushes forward with a cup of water to offer Him, which mirrors Christ’s offering of water to Judah near the beginning of the film after he was arrested and led on a forced march by the Romans. As Judah bends over the fallen Jesus with the cup of water, begging Him to drink, a Roman soldier strikes Judah with a whip, shouting, “No water for him!” Just as Judah grabs a rock to retaliate against the soldier, Christ grasps Judah’s arm and whispers “No, please… My life, I give it of my own free will.” Judah can only stare back at Him, dumbfounded.

The scene is powerful in a number of ways, but I was struck by one thought in particular. The time in which Christ’s life and Ben-Hur takes place was a brutal one, dominated by the mentality that every wrong must be avenged at all costs, and every crime (whether real or perceived) must be ruthlessly punished. Christ’s witness was in full contradiction of this ethos, and during that time was seen as nothing short of an insane scandal. To not only stop retaliating but to forgive, and beyond that to sacrifice one’s own life freely—it seemed like madness to many, and many rejected it. But many also saw its truth, and the joy, happiness, and peace that it brought to their lives. It was a revolution of the human heart, and from it, Christianity was born.

Since that time, everything has changed… or has it? Outward appearances would indicate that we live in a far more civilized time, one where most of the developed world exists in a legal system free of mob rule and summary executions (at least, of those outside of the womb). But what of the human heart? In reality, nothing has changed. We wake up every morning still half asleep, fully in need of the Savior. We bitterly cling to our old, selfish ways, refusing to let go of wrongs that have been done to us and justifying feelings of self-entitlement. Christ has invited us to imitate Him by letting go. Let go of the bitterness and find healing by practicing forgiveness, mercy, and love. This must begin in our own families first and foremost. Old wounds won’t heal until we forgive our parents, siblings, spouses, and children for their transgressions, just as we beg them to forgive ours. Only then can we bring Christ’s mercy to the wider world.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Religious voices add reason to public discourse, stave off the zealotsTravis Weber

The Hypocrisy of the Black Lives Matter Movement and the Southern Poverty Law CenterKen Blackwell

How can Christians oppose same-sex marriage and yet pray and care for the LGBT victims in Orlando at the same time?Travis Weber

Parents Fight Back in Fairfax CountyCathy Ruse

LGBT Activist Lobby Responds to Report in The New Atlantis: Only Mockery, No EngagementCathy Ruse

Ending the Secular Witch HuntPeter Sprigg

The New Thought PoliceTravis Weber

Five Things to Know About “Gender Dysphoria” in ChildrenPeter Sprigg

Religious Freedom at Home and AbroadTravis Weber

Schooled by StudentsBethany Demmin

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

How Trigger Warnings Silence Religious Students – Alan Levinovitz, The Atlantic

NY Firefighters Ordered to Remove Old GloryToddStarnes.com

Red Cross Tells Off-Duty Cop He Can’t Pray With Flood VictimsKayla Brandon, Independent Journal

A College Strikes Back Against Safe SpacesKatrina Trinko, The Daily Signal

Christian Identity in the WorkplaceElliot Milco, First Things

Funeral home buries federal govt in Michigan religious freedom caseAlliance Defending Freedom

International Religious Freedom

Christian Leader Arrested in Russia as Law Banning Evangelism Outside of Churches Goes Into EffectStoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

House church rejects orders to stop religious activitiesQiao Nong, China Aid

Military Religious Freedom

Officer Cleared in Military Bible ComplaintTodd Starnes, Fox News

 

Life

Abortion

Yes, I’m Pro-Life, But I’m Not a Stereotype – Reagan Barklage, Glamour

Extreme Position of Pro-Choice Politicians Contradicts American ConsensusCarl Anderson, The Daily Signal

A Celebration of DeathAlexandra Desanctis, National Review

Black Pastor: How Can Black Lives Matter When 20 Million Black Babies Have Been Aborted?Clenard Childress, Life News

A New Front in the Abortion Wars: Democrats for Life Undermine Church Teachings from WithinAnne Hendershott, Washington Times

Adoption

Why Do More People Choose Abortion Over Adoption?Micaiah Bilger, Life News

U.S. Olympic Champion Saves Cousin’s Baby From Abortion: ‘I’ll Adopt Her’Katie Yoder, NewsBusters

Keeping Children in the Family Instead of Foster CareAlysse ElHage, Family Studies

Bioethics

What Opponents Can Learn from Assisted Suicide AdvocatesAshton Ellis, Public Discourse

A spade is a spade: why correct language is so important in debates over assisted suicidePaul Russell, National Right to Life

Adult Stem Cells: The Best Kept Secret In MedicineDavid Prentice, The Daily Caller

Obamacare

Reminder: Obamacare Is Still A Giant Cronyistic DisasterDavid Harsanyi, The Federalist

5 States, Nearly 700 Counties Don’t See ‘Choice and Competition’ Promised by ObamacareFred Lucas, The Daily Signal

Her Health Plan Was $257 a Month. Now Her Obamacare Plan Could Be $650 a MonthMelissa Quinn, The Daily Signal

Republican states file lawsuit against ObamaCare transgender ruleSarah Ferris, The Hill

 

Family

Economics

Marriage Reduces Child Poverty, but Our Welfare System Penalizes Marriage – Paul Draper, Rachel Sheffield, The Daily Signal

Millennials’ Aversion to “Dealing with People” a Greater Threat to Fast-Food Workers than Any Minimum Wage Hike – Scott Eric Kaufman, Salon

The Sneaky Way Obama Is Hiking Death Taxes – Curtis Dubay, The Daily Signal

3 Ways Obama’s New Overtime Rule Will Hurt Employees – Rachel Greszler, The Daily Signal

Marriage

A Father’s Presence in the HomeJohn Cuddeback, Principles

The Marriage ImprintRhonda Kruse Nordin, Family Studies

The Impact of Deployments on Military MarriagesThomas E. Trail, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

McDonald’s worker in Needham retires after 32 years at the french fry station – Eric Moskowitz, The Boston Globe

Women Should Appreciate Masculine VirtuesRachel Lu, Crisis

Our Faith Is Historically Verifiable—Or It’s NothingKathy Keller, The Gospel Coalition

The Abolition of God and the Annihilation of ManRegis Martin, Crisis

Restoring the Political-Moral CenterShimon Cowen and Arthur Goldberg, Public Discourse

Human Sexuality

Sexuality and Gender: Findings from the Biological, Psychological, and Social Sciences – Lawrence Mayer and Paul McHugh, The New Atlantis

Almost Everything the Media Tell You About Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity Is WrongRyan Anderson, The Daily Signal

Why Is Transgender An Identity But Anorexia A Disorder?Moira Fleming, The Federalist

Burrowing InPeter Leithart, First Things

LGBT Rights vs. Religious FreedomJohn Stonestreet, The Stream

Human Trafficking

Driven by pro-life beliefs, missionary in Thailand shares true love with sex trafficking victimsJosh Shepherd, Live Action

Pornography

This former porn star is exposing porn’s secrets: and it should make you very, very uncomfortable – Jonathon Van Maren, LifeSiteNews

Married couples who view adult material double the risk of divorce – Glen Keogh, The Daily Mail

The porn problem: Prayer isn’t enough – Caitlin Bootsma, Aleteia

Let’s Treat Porn as the Public Health Hazard It is – Cordelia Anderson, The Stream

The Social Conservative Review: August 16, 2016

by Daniel Hart

August 16, 2016

Dear Friends,

If one were to read the headlines in the media on a daily basis these days, it wouldn’t be unreasonable to think that our society is on the verge of collapse. Even when deadly incidents of mass violence aren’t happening, there is always plenty of other doom and gloom to fill up the front page, either real or manufactured. Whether it be a public gaffe by a politician or the latest scandal-inducing revelation that is sure to be the downfall of a political campaign, the media thrives on negativity. While it’s important to stay informed on the real events that directly affect people’s lives, it’s also important to remember that much of the “news” that grabs headlines is just that—meant to grab your attention for a few moments without offering much in the way of real substance that can enrich and inform your life for the better.

That’s why it is so refreshing to see stories like these featured prominently on major newspaper websites, stories that describe the daily lives of faithful and healthy families and the ways they are flourishing against tough economic odds. It’s easy to forget that millions of families like these live under the radar of the “news” and quietly live out their faith by simply loving their spouses and children with joy and self-sacrifice.

This is the kind of news that our society so desperately needs. In order to transform our deeply wounded culture, people need to be constantly reminded of the eternal truths of being human: to be a son, to be a daughter, to be a husband, to be a wife, to be a mother, to be a father. In other words, to love and to be loved. This message is what we here at FRC try to communicate every day. We can release all the facts and figures of the importance of faith and the family that we want, but where the rubber truly meets the road is in our churches that we worship in and in our homes that we lovingly cultivate. It’s the kind of front page news that happens every day, whether the media pays attention or not.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Blog

Simone Biles Would Have Been Planned Parenthood’s Perfect Target – Arina Grossu

How to respond to the “After School Satan Clubs” – Travis Weber

The Islamic State (ISIS) Lays Out Its Plan for Christians – Chris Gacek

Who’s Waging a War on Science? (Hint: It’s Not Conservatives) – Peter Sprigg

High Court Puts Gloucester County School Board v. G.G. Ruling on Hold – Travis Weber

PolitiFact Falsifies Family Findings – Peter Sprigg

Federal Judge Still Refuses to Let Mississippi Religious Freedom Law Go Into Effect – Travis Weber

Illinois Governor Signs Bill Forcing Pregnancy Care Centers to Refer for Abortions – Andrew Guernsey

Religion in Immigration: How to Handle it Properly – Travis Weber

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

California Lawmaker Drops Controversial Proposal to Regulate Religious CollegesSarah Eekhoff Zylstra, Christianity Today

7 Surprising ways teachers and students can express their faith in public schools – Nate Madden, Conservative Review

International Religious Freedom

The Story of Iran’s Church in Two SentencesMark Howard, The Gospel Coalition

Ominous Signs for Turkish Christians: Post-Coup Targets – John Stonestreet, Breakpoint

A Rough Road Ahead for Religious Liberty, World Missions – Stan Guthrie, Breakpoint

Swedish church to use drones to drop thousands of Bibles in ISIS-controlled Iraq – James Macintyre, Christian Today

Government terminates welfare for ChristiansQiao Nong, ChinaAid

Military Religious Freedom

Former Marine’s religious freedom claims rejected by appeals courtBill Mears, Fox News

 

Life

Abortion

Mother talks about raising children born with microcephaly – Sanika Dange, ABC Affiliate

NFL star Benjamin Watson: Planned Parenthood formed ‘to exterminate blacks’…and ‘it’s working’ – Ben Johnson, LifeSiteNews

Planned Parenthood will register voters as they enter abortion facilities – Ben Johnson, LifeSiteNews

High Court in Ireland Rules an Unborn Baby Has a Right to Life – National Right to Life

Adoption

The Racialization of AdoptionRyan Bomberger, Bound4LIFE

Little Girl Abandoned by Father and Drug-Addict Mother Is Adopted by Christian Texas Family, Becomes Best Athlete in the World – Benny Johnson, Independent Journal Review

The boundless love of adoptionErin Stewart, Deseret News

Bioethics

What Could Go Wrong With the Government’s Proposal to Put Human Cells in Animal Embryos? – David Prentice, Chuck Donovan, The Daily Signal

Brave New World Should Be an Election Issue – Wesley J. Smith, First Things

Obamacare

3 Reasons Why Obamacare Is Bad for MillennialsTimothy Doescher, The Daily Signal

The “Right to Shop” for Health CareJohn R. Graham, Independent Institute

Aetna to pull out of most Obamacare exchangesTami Luhby, CNN

 

Family

Economics

How one family is sending 13 kids to college, living debt free — and still plans to retire early – Erica Johnston, The Washington Post

A Conservative Push for Paid Family Leave – Russell Berman, The Atlantic

Here Are 7 Ways Free Trade Has Helped Michigan – Tom Whiting, The Daily Signal

Why Are American Workers Getting Less Productive? – Adam Chandler, The Atlantic

Marriage

Reversing the Flight from the FamilyDavid J. Theroux, Independent Institute

The Wounds Public Policy Can’t HealDavid French, National Review

Exporting The Anti-CultureRod Dreher, The American Conservative

Republican Voters Are Not “Moving On” From MarriageFrank Schubert, Public Discourse

Character/Culture

What a world! Is it time to despair yet?Fr. Robert McTeigue, Aleteia

Metaxas Speaks Out, So Can You: Be Prepared to Share – John Stonestreet, Breakpoint

Conservatives Must Get Busy Living or Get Busy Dying – David French, National Review

Loving Our EnemiesWilliam Doino Jr., First Things

Human Sexuality

President Obama’s Sex-Driven War on ScienceGerard V. Bradley, Public Discourse

The Sexual Revolution and Cultural Marxism: Ideology Over Public Health – Eric Metaxas, Breakpoint

Homosexuality and Bad ArgumentsJohn Skalko, Public Discourse

There isn’t really anything magical about it’: Why more millennials are avoiding sex – Tara Bahrampour, The Washington Post

Human Trafficking

The Road Near Rio’s Olympic Village Where 9-Year-Old Girls Are Being Sold for Sex – Candace Sutton, Fight the New Drug

The Anti-Human-Trafficking CrusaderSharmilla Ganesan, The Atlantic

Pornography

Millennials, Infidelity, and Porn – Alysse ElHage, Family Studies

Hooked On Porn: Exploring the Damaged Sexuality of This Generation – Fight the New Drug

Olympic Runner Nick Willis Says Quitting Porn Saved His Marriage – Fight the New Drug

The Social Conservative Review: August 1, 2016

by Daniel Hart

August 1, 2016

Dear Friends,

The murder of Rev. Jacques Hamel as he celebrated Mass at a small village church in France last week was a tragic event that was also historic. It “marked the first time that [Isis has] targeted a church in the West.” Paradoxically, it is also a hopeful sign in dark times. That the terrorist group would see an elderly 85-year-old priest along with two nuns and two worshippers who were present as a threat that must be targeted with deadly violence is proof that the ideology driving the terrorist group is spiritually bankrupt; it does not bother with attempting to participate in an exchange of ideas, and has no interest in appealing to the hearts and minds of those who don’t share their ideology. Every act of terrorism is therefore an act of desperation. It is an ideology without hope and without a future.

Pope Benedict XVI once wrote, “One who has hope lives differently.” Rev. Hamel was one of these. By all accounts, he was a “quiet” and “discrete” priest who went unassumingly about his daily duties of “baptizing infants, celebrating Mass and tending to parishioners.” When he reached retirement age of 75, however, he refused to stop his ministry, humbly continuing to serve despite his advancing age. In doing this, Rev. Hamel can now rejoice in his martyrdom, as was foretold by Christ in Matthew 5:11-12, “Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven.”

Christians are a people of hope. By martyring Rev. Hamel, the terrorists only strengthen our resolve to live hope-filled lives of self-sacrificial love, with the faith that Christ’s final victory on earth is forthcoming and that our reward will indeed be great in heaven.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

Religious Liberty

Free to Believe”

Macy’s Fires Catholic Employee for Disagreement With Transgender Bathroom PolicyLydia Goerner, The Stream

AZ Official Tim Jeffries Attacked for Offering to Take Employees’ Prayer Requests to Holy Site in FranceRachel Alexander, The Stream

Colorado cake artist asks US Supreme Court to protect his freedom of expressionAlliance Defending Freedom

Catholic College Reinstates Pro-family Employee after ‘Hate Crime’ Investigation – Claire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

International Religious freedom

Russia’s Ban on Evangelism Is Now in EffectSarah Eekhoff Zylstra, Christianity Today

One Woman’s Struggle for Freedom in Castro’s CubaAndrew Egger, The Daily Signal

Concern grows for Christians in Turkey after failed coupRuth Gledhill, Christian Today

The UN Funds Repressive Regimes at the Expense of US TaxpayersBrett Schaefer, The Daily Signal

Christian law school standing strong after win at Nova Scotia Court of AppealsAlliance Defending Freedom

Military Religious Freedom

Atheist wants military chaplains punished for wearing uniforms to a chaplains’ event – Fr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

Secular Civilians Assault Warfighters’ Faith – Andrew Harrod, Juicy Ecumenism

Religious Liberty in the public square

Pastor Banned From Advertising Jesus Because It’s Too OffensiveCasey Harper, The Stream

A History of Religious FreedomJames Hitchcock, Touchstone

Lovers of Religious Liberty Will Find Scant Comfort in the New Democratic Party PlatformMark Kellner, The Stream

Why Are Progressives on an Anti-Christian Witch Hunt? – Rachel Lu, The Federalist

 

Life

Abortion

New Poll Finds Americans Strongly Support Abortion RestrictionsPR Newswire

Texas dismisses felony charges against David Daleiden and Sandra MerrittBen Johnson, LifeSiteNews

How Can Pro-Life Liberals, Conservatives, and Libertarians Work Together? – Jason Scott Jones, The Stream

State Legislatures Have Passed 334 Pro-life Laws in the Past 5 Years – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Democrats for Life Leader Wants to ‘Take Back’ the Party – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Bioethics

Abortion, euthanasia, Nazis: Irish bishop connects the dots, and faces blowbackSteve Weatherbe, LifeSiteNews

New Study, Social Media Humanize Disabled Babies That Doctors Once Left to DieLindsey Tanner, The Stream

Cancer Center Bows the Knee to Assisted Suicide – Wesley J. Smith, National Review

AMA Wants to Empower Doctors to Refuse Treatment to Terminally Ill – Wesley J. Smith, LifeNews

2-year-old Claimed ‘Brain Dead’ Continues to Improve – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Obamacare

16 Obamacare Co-Ops Collapsed. Here’s How the Rest Are FaringMelissa Quinn, The Stream

Will Pence’s Obamacare Perfidy Damage Trump?David Catron, The American Spectator

How Democrats Came to Embrace Taxpayer-Funded AbortionsFred Lucas, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Economics

What Are Young Non-Working Men Doing? – Derek Thompson, The Atlantic

Lower Middle Class Hurt Most by Gov’t Marriage Penalties, Study Finds – Brandon Showalter, The Christian Post

You Could Pay More to Fly Under This EPA Climate Change Rule – Katie Tubb, The Daily Signal

Here’s How Americans Can Curtail ‘Autopilot’ Spending and Take Back the Federal Budget – Mollie McNeill, The Daily Signal

Low employment levels affect children too – Angela Rachidi, AEI

Marriage

Solutions for Black Americans, Beginning With the Need for DadsWalter E. Williams, The Daily Signal

Millennial Marriages: Surprisingly StrongChristina Deal, Lifezette

In sickness and health: A picture of Christ-centered marriage – Andrew T. Walker, ERLC

Character

Students’ Broken Moral CompassesPaul Barnwell, The Atlantic

Do God’s Will, Not His WorkBethany Jenkins, The Gospel Coalition

A time for Christian heroesFr. Robert McTeigue, Aleteia

Want to change the world? Stay homeMichael Rennier, Aleteia

Human Sexuality

These 24 States Are Calling on the Obama Administration to Stop Imposing Its Agenda on StudentsAlliance Defending Freedom

Amid Complaints From Parents, Virginia School Board Pauses New Transgender PolicyKelsey Harkness, The Stream

The Problem with Gender Studies – Matthew Tuininga, The Public Discourse

The Endless Muddle of Transgender Policy – John Rosenberg, Minding the Campus

100,000 Panamanians March Against UN-Style Sex EdMarianna Orlandi, C-Fam

Pornography

4 revelations about porn from your wife’s perspective – Nikki Daniel, ERLC

Hotels: Pretty Okay With Their Customers’ Porn-Watching Habits – Adam Chandler, The Atlantic

To Filter Public WiFi, or Not? Starbucks and the Librarian of Congress Weigh In – National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Romance Porn: More Women are Addicted Than You Think – Leah Z. Singh, Crisis

You know what’s actually America’s most relentless propagator of racism? The porn industry – Jonathon Van Maren, LifeSiteNews

Archives