Category archives: Social Conservative Review

Social Conservative Review - December 3, 2018

by Daniel Hart

December 3, 2018

Dear Friends,

At a retreat I attended some years ago, a priest said something that I will never forget. He said that whenever we are feeling spiritually dry and it seems like God is far away from us, or even when we begin to have doubts about our faith, there is one simple action we can take that can ground us again and stabilize our disillusionment. It is to simply remember those precious moments in our lives when God has shown Himself to us very clearly, filling us with unearthly gratitude and peace.

As it happens, I had one of these moments a few weeks ago. While I was reading Scripture before starting work one morning, I was struck by a passage from Luke 18, when a blind man calls out to Jesus to have pity on him, and what happened next: “Then Jesus stopped and ordered that he be brought to him; and when he came near, Jesus asked him, ‘What do you want me to do for you?’ He replied, ‘Lord, please let me see.’ Jesus told him, ‘Have sight; your faith has saved you’” (Luke 18:40-42). After reading those words, tears immediately filled my eyes, and I was overwhelmed with a sense of immense comfort and peace, as if Christ was holding my shoulders, gazing into my eyes, and speaking those words directly to me: “Your faith has saved you.” In that moment, I felt as though I was being given a brand-new understanding of the enormity of the gift of faith that God had given me—“I offered you salvation, and you accepted it. See now how you flourish because of this gift! Don’t ever forget that!”

For me, moments like these happen rarely and inexplicably, seemingly out of nowhere. I am truly grateful to God for them because I know what He is doing: He is giving me a taste of Heaven, a spiritual consolation and confirmation of His existence and His personal, fatherly care for my soul. When I am feeling spiritually listless, all I need to do is recall one of these moments when God broke through the earthly veil of tears and spoke directly to me. When I do this, I am reminded of the Hope that is always there, even amidst the worst crisis of faith I could ever conceivably experience.

As we enter the Advent season, it can be easy to get caught up in earthly preparations and worries, and we may even find ourselves feeling a bit lethargic about the real “reason for the season.” If we do, one way we can stay grounded is to simply remember. Remember the origin story of when we were first given the gift of faith or any of those extraordinary moments when God broke into our lives with supernatural clarity. By doing this, we can remind ourselves about and reflect upon the origin story of salvation, when the Christ-child broke into history and into the soul of every person who has ever or will ever live, calling us all by name to Himself.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Boy Erased’ film misrepresents sexual orientation counseling – Peter Sprigg

National Adoption Month Launches with Assault on Faith-based Adoption – Mary Beth Waddell

What Could Have Been, and the Hope of What Is to Come – Cassidy Rich

Times Op-Ed Admits Key Justifications for Gender Transition are False – Peter Sprigg

Let There Be (Christmas) Lights – Alexandra McPhee

In India, Twitter Gets a Taste of the True Danger of Viewpoint Suppression – Alexandra McPhee

Faith-based Adoption Providers Are Answering the Pro-Life Call and Must Be Protected – Madison Ferguson

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

California Professor Fired for Challenging Student’s Beliefs About Sexuality is Reinstated – Emily Jones, CBN News

Salvation Army Warns Officers to Stop Posting About Gay Marriage – Todd Starnes.com

Mom Says 6-Year-Old Son Is Transgender. Dad Disagrees. Now He Might Lose His Son. – Amanda Prestigiacomo, The Daily Wire

AG Paxton Asks U.S. Supreme Court to Take Up Religious Liberties Case – Ken Paxton, AG of Texas

SURVEY: Christian & Conservative Students Silenced, Intimidated into Keeping Views Private – Jennifer Wishon, CBN News

EWTN wins lawsuit over HHS contraception mandate – Ed Condon, CNA

DC church asks to intervene in atheists’ lawsuit that seeks to force churches to file tax returns – Alliance Defending Freedom

Public School Bans All Christmas Songs That Mention Jesus – Todd Starnes.com

Senators Urge IRS to Delay Taxes on Churches: ‘It’s Going to Cost the Non-Profit Community Up to a Billion Dollars’ – Jennifer Wishon, CBN News

City Of Pasadena Banned A Pro-Traditional Marriage Speaker, Federal Lawsuit Claims – Alex Parker, RedState

International Religious Freedom

The Lessons of the Asia Bibi Case – Nina Shea, National Review

Report: Half a Billion Christians Facing Global Persecution – Edwin Mora, Breitbart

China Demolishes Crosses, Mandates Surveillance in Churches as Religious Persecution Rises – Josh Shepherd, The Stream

Bishop, priest and more than 40 others killed at Central African Republic church and refugee camp – John Burger, Aleteia

A Scene From Hell’: Christians Talk Being Bloodied, Pelted With Stones, Metal by Muslim Mob in Kenya – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Woman describes torture, beatings in Chinese detention camp – Maria Danilova, AP

Christian Bridal Magazine Forced Out of Business for Not Featuring Same-Sex Couples – Virginia Hale, Breitbart

Freed British missionary forgives men who killed his best friend – Alex Williams, Premier

Family Forgives Tribal Members Who Allegedly Killed American ‘Missionary’ – Katherine Rodriguez, Breitbart

Young Girl Orphaned in Uganda After Father Converts to Christianity – International Christian Concern

Iraqi Christians who fled IS return to find properties seized – Eno Adeogun, Premier

 

Life

Abortion

Groups Ask SCOTUS To Hear Case That Could Overturn Roe – Hank Berrien, The Daily Wire

Planned Parenthood’s Share of U.S. Abortions Increased in 2015 – Alexandra DeSanctis, National Review

President Trump Names Pro-Life Neurobiology Professor to National Science Board – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Trial over controversial Kentucky abortion law now in judge’s hands – Deborah Yetter, Louisville Courier Journal

How a ‘scheduling error’ saved a baby with Down syndrome from abortion – Sarah Terzo, Live Action

Kenya: Board orders Marie Stopes to stop offering abortion services – Angela Oketch and Soni Kanake, Daily Nation

Abortionist Defends Killing Babies: “A Fetus Needs Permission to Reside in a Uterus” – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Adoption

Countering the ‘Soft Stigma’ Against Adoption – Elizabeth Kirk, Family Studies

Instant Family Offers a Funny, Yet Honest Portrayal of Foster Care and Adoption – Naomi Schaefer Riley, Family Studies

7 ways to support adoption – Ally Wall, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

When Families Un-Adopt a Child – Jenn Morson, The Atlantic

Bioethics

Why Tissue From Abortions Isn’t Needed to Save Other Lives – Rachel del Guidice, The Daily Signal

HHS official vows to pursue research ‘alternatives’ to aborted fetal tissue – Dan Diamond and Adam Cancryn, Politico

Obamacare

650 Obamacare State Exchange Plans Cover Abortion on Demand in 2019Caffeinated Thoughts

 

Family

Marriage

A Simple Way to De-Escalate Couple Conflicts – The Family Institute at Northwestern University

Sex Recession?’ Blame Marriage Stagnation – Charles Fain Lehman, Family Studies

Modern Love. Cohabitation on Rise in U.S.: Demographic Trends – Alex Tanzi, Bloomberg Quint

No, Legislatures Cannot Abolish Marriage – Adam J. Macleod, Public Discourse

Parenting

No Man in Their Corner: Why Every Son Needs a Father – Greg Morse, Desiring God

4 practical ways to raise thankful kids – Chris Gaynor, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Measuring the Long-Term Effects of Early, Extensive Day Care – Jenet Erickson, Family Studies

Economics/Education

Watch out: Schools don’t like the prying eyes of parents in the classroom – Jay Mathews, The Washington Post

The Fruits of College Indoctrination – Walter E. Williams, The Daily Signal

Why Christians shouldn’t abandon universities – Alex Ward, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

How Economic Inequality Drives Family Formation and Dissolution – Andrew Cherlin, Family Studies

Regent University Launches the Center for Christian Thought & Action

Faith/Character/Culture

Where Americans Find Meaning in Life – Pew Research Center

Suicide rate up 33% in less than 20 years, yet funding lags behind other top killers – Anne Godlasky and Alia E. Dastagir, USA TODAY

The Tragedy of the European Family – Ted Malloch, Intellectual Takeout

Give Thanks for What Others Have That You Don’t – Megan Hill, Christianity Today

The Great American Heartache: Why Romantic Love Collapses on Us – Jonathan Leeman, Desiring God

The Ungrateful Nation – Ben Shapiro, Townhall

Twitter Banned Me For Literally No Reason, But In The End They’ll Lose – Jesse Kelly, The Federalist

Atheism as Bad Religion – Madeleine Kearns, National Review

Dutch court denies businessman’s request to legally identify as 20 years younger – Lucia I. Suarez Sang, Fox News

Human Sexuality

When a Gay Activist Comes to Jesus – Andrew T. Walker, The Gospel Coalition

When Young People Aren’t Having Sex, Something’s Wrong – Josh Herring, Public Discourse

The New York Times Reveals Painful Truths about Transgender Lives – Ryan T. Anderson, Public Discourse

#MeToo reminds us that Christian ethics are timeless truths – Andrew T. Walker, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

My high school’s transgender bathroom policies violate the privacy of the rest of us – Alexis Lightcap, USA TODAY

School has SEVENTEEN children changing gender as teacher says vulnerable pupils are being ‘tricked’ into believing they are the wrong sex – Sanchez Manning, Daily Mail

Human Trafficking

The Midterm Battle Around Legalized Prostitution Nobody’s Talking About – Haley Halverson, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Pornography

How Early Porn Exposure Traumatizes Boys And Fuels Toxic Masculinity – Matt Morrissey, Fight the New Drug

New Documentary Shows Individual, Societal Threat of Pornography – Perry West, National Catholic Register

Social Conservative Review - November 15, 2018

by Daniel Hart

November 15, 2018

Dear Friends,

In this age marked by cultural brokenness and political division, it can be easy for Christians to shake our heads in resignation to this seemingly discouraging predicament and say, “God’s Kingdom is obviously not here right now.”

Or is it? In the Gospel of Luke, the Pharisees ask Jesus when the Kingdom of God will come. He said in reply, “The coming of the Kingdom of God cannot be observed, and no one will announce, ‘Look, here it is,’ or, ‘There it is.’ For behold, the Kingdom of God is among you” (Luke 17:20-21).

What does this mean? When Christ said these words in first century Judea, they would have caused great confusion amongst the Jews since it was clear from the Roman occupation of their ancestral land that there was certainly no “Kingdom” currently present. But Christ wasn’t speaking of the potential reign of an earthly king. He was asking those who were listening to realize that God’s Kingdom was right in front of them—in Christ’s own witness of love, mercy, and healing. He was asking them, and therefore all of us, to look into our hearts and see that whenever we act with love, compassion, and sacrifice, God’s Kingdom is literally “among” us.

It should give us great encouragement to know that whenever we show Christ’s love to others, we are an ambassador for Christ’s Kingdom on earth. Keep in mind that showing love can take the form of seemingly small acts, such as simply giving encouragement to someone we encounter in our daily lives who seems like they are in need of a boost. Whenever we do any act of love, whether great of small, we bring God’s Kingdom in our midst.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Evangelicals Power Republicans to Senate Victories – David Closson

Voters Say ‘Full Steam Ahead’ On Judges – Travis Weber and Alexandra McPhee

America Deserves Better Than the Broward County Disaster – Ken Blackwell

School Board Says Boys and Girls Have Different Brains — Except in the Bathroom – Cathy Ruse

Post-Midterm optimism for religious freedom – Alexandra McPhee

Is the Republican Senate Ready to Advance Pro-Life Policy? – Patrina Mosley

The Supreme Court can fix Establishment Clause jurisprudence with the Peace Cross case –  Alexandra McPhee

Speaker Series: The Reality of Faith-Based Adoption Services

Truth Obscured by Hollywood Take on Sexual Orientation Therapy – Peter Sprigg

Must the State Recognize All Identities? – Dan Hart

The Times En-“genders” Controversy with Ignorance of “Sex” – Peter Sprigg

Notre Dame Students Take a Stand Against Porn – Patrina Mosley

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Supreme Court’s latest church-state conundrum: Must a ‘peace cross’ memorial to World War I vets come down? – Richard Wolf, USA Today

Muslims, the Bladensburg Cross, and the Preservation of Order – Ismail Royer, Public Discourse

Professor Sues after University Requires He Use Student’s Preferred Pronoun – Jack Crowe, National Review

Trump Administration Updates Conscience Exemptions for Contraceptive MandateNational Catholic Register

The State of Hate – David Montgomery, The Washington Post

Christian student senator at UC Berkeley harassed for abstaining from pro-LGBTQ vote – Caleb Parke, Fox News

Fordham University Political Science Department Mandates Use of Students’ ‘Preferred Pronouns’ – Alana Mastrangelo, Breitbart

International Religious Freedom

What you should know about the persecution of Kachin Christians – Joe Carter, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

78 Kidnapped Cameroonian Students from Christian School Freed – Aliya Kuykendall, The Stream

Christians Dragged Out of Cars and Beaten, Haunted With Fear as Asia Bibi Case Tears Pakistan Apart – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Christians, pray for your brothers and sisters in North Korea – Christopher Summers, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Asia Bibi Leaves Pakistani Prison–Open Doors Calls for Urgent Prayer – Lindy Lowry, Open Doors USA

 

Life

Abortion

The Point of Gosnell – Charlotte Allen, First Things

6 claims of Planned Parenthood’s new president debunked – Kristi Burton Brown, Live Action

New Planned Parenthood CEO: “I Plan to Expand” Abortions. We Have a “Moral Imperative” to Kill Babies – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Pro-life ballot measures win passage in two of three states – Valerie Richardson, The Washington Times

Adoption

Philadelphia foster families continue fight for Catholic Social Services – Perry West, CAN

3 ways your church can participate in orphan care and prevention – Brittany Salmon, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Bioethics

Canadian Doctors Get Ready for Child Euthanasia – Wesley J. Smith, National Review

 

Family

Marriage

How Expectations Affect One’s Happiness in Marriage – Dianne Grande, Psychology Today

When the Military Takes a Toll on Your Marriage: Reflections on ‘Indivisible’ – Gary Chapman, Military.com

Men and Women: Should We Just Call the Whole Thing Off? – Rachel Lu, The American Conservative

One Couple’s Fight to Honor God With Their Bakery – Benjamin Hawkins, Focus on the Family

37.8 Percent in Generation That Starts Turning 21 Next Year Was Born to Unwed Moms – Terence P. Jeffrey, CNS News

Parenting

How to Respond When Your Kids Are Bullied – Jonathan McKee, Focus on the Family

Mothers Against Macron – Joy Pullmann, First Things

I’m Raising an Old Soul And It’s Such a Gift – Heidi Hamm, HerViewFromHome

Making of a Mom: How Motherhood Helped my Anxiety Disorder – Casey McCorry, Verily

New Findings Add Twist to Screen Time Limit Debate – Jean Twenge, Family Studies

Podcast: Your Teenager Needs Discipleship – Jen Wilkin and Melissa Kruger, The Gospel Coalition

Video: How is spiritual warfare involved in parenting? – Phillip Bethancourt, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

How to Be a Kindness Role Model for Your Kids – Dale V. Atkins and Amanda R. Salzhauer, Greater Good Magazine

Postpartum Depression and the Christian – Kathryn Butler, The Gospel Coalition

Economics/Education

9 Years Into Common Core, Test Scores Are Down, Indoctrination Up – Joy Pullmann, The Federalist

The Wealth of Nations Begins at Home – W. Bradford Wilcox, Family Studies

Your Family, Your Choice – Oren Cass, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

10 ways your unsatisfied life is a blessing – Amy Simpson, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Honoring the ‘Invisible Work Force’ of Family Caregivers – Amy Ziettlow, Family Studies

How to Love People You Don’t Like – Greg Morse, Desiring God

Cultural winsomeness will not be enough for Christians – Andrew T. Walker, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

In An America This Ignorant, It’s No Wonder We Struggle To Stay Free – Stella Morabito, The Federalist

I Cremated My Unborn Son – Tish Harrison Warren, Christianity Today

8 Signs Your Christianity Is Too Comfortable – Brett McCracken, The Gospel Coalition

A Fresh Perspective on Joy – Liberty McArtor, The Stream

Remarkable’ decline in fertility rates – James Gallagher, BBC News

Human Sexuality

Where to Find Hope and Help amid the Sexual Revolution – Sam Allberry, The Gospel Coalition

Kissing Purity Culture Goodbye – Abigail Rine Favale, First Things

What ‘The New York Times’ Gets Wrong on the ‘Transgender Memo’ – Andrew T. Walker, The Gospel Coalition

Jesus Befriended Prostitutes. So This Victorian-Era Woman Did Too. – Kimi Harris, Christianity Today

Boy Erased’ Suggests Sexual Desire Can’t Change, So Religion Must – Brett McCracken, The Gospel Coalition

Where Angels Fear to Tread: The Fraud of Transgenderism – Babette Francis and John Ballantyne, Public Discourse

Pornography

The Problems of Pornography: Sexual Dysfunction and Beyond – Freda Bush, Focus on the Family

Social Conservative Review - November 1, 2018

by Daniel Hart

November 1, 2018

Dear Friends,

As our country grapples with yet another senseless, brutal, and evil act of violence, this time perpetrated against Jews worshipping in a synagogue in Pittsburgh, the media is predictably churning out an avalanche of breathless accounts of who is to blame. Our collective energy as a nation would be much more valuably spent in reflection and prayer.

In the aftermath of such horrendous violence being perpetrated by one human being against fellow human beings, many rightly ask: how could someone do this? Only God knows the full answer to this question, but we can be certain of one thing: the attacker lacked empathy for his fellow man. Therefore, it is critical that our society spend more time pondering the concept of empathy, and increasingly put it into practice in our daily lives.

Empathy is the mental practice of putting oneself in the shoes of another in order to better understand what life must be like for that person. This practice seems relatively straightforward, but for most of us, it is difficult to do, because we human beings have a fallen natural tendency for selfishness and snap judgments. Just like everything else in life that is difficult yet worthwhile, we must work at practicing empathy. When we witness behavior from a person that we consider offensive, we must refrain from stereotyping the person based on their outward appearance. Similarly, we must refrain from making rash generalizations about groups of people based on ethnicity, religion, political views, etc. Instead, we must seek to better understand other people and avoid instant judgments of character.

When thinking about the actions and motivations of others, we must take into account a whole host of information before we can come to any fair conclusions. For the person in question, we must ask ourselves: What is the broader culture like where this person came from and how were they influenced by it? How was this person raised by their parents? Were they mistreated or abused as a child? What beliefs were taught to them growing up? And on and on. Obviously, we can’t know the answers to many of these questions without either research or first-hand knowledge. But we must make the effort so that we can better understand the reasons behind particular actions or words, and thereby have a better capacity for true empathy.

Jesus displayed empathy all over Scripture. When coming upon Matthew, a tax collector who was widely reviled, Jesus did not judge him by his place in society or apparent misdeeds of extortion. He saw the goodness in Matthew and his need for salvation, and invited him to become a disciple (Matthew 9:9). Similarly, rather than condemning the woman caught in adultery, Jesus rebuked those who were condemning her and invited her to “go, and sin no more” (John 8:1-11). All over Scripture, Jesus is said to have spent time in the company of sinners, which the Pharisees reviled Him for. Jesus displays a crucial trait here: His first instinct is mercy rather than condemnation, which shows that He empathizes with those He meets and responds to them with love.

We are called to do likewise. The more we make empathy our first reaction, the better chance we have of making it a habit rather than falling into the bad habit of snap judgments. When we fail to empathize with others, and instead burrow down the rabbit hole of stereotypes and prejudice based on outward appearances, the more we are prone to hate and dehumanize other people. The more we see others with empathetic eyes, as Christ did, the more we will grow in love and the more our world will flourish in peace and unity.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

We Must Turn to God to Find Healing, Unity and Restoration – Tony Perkins

HHS should put a stop to ObamaCare’s hidden abortion surcharge – Marjorie Dannenfelser and Tony Perkins

Trump transgender policy is simple and scientific: ‘Sex’ means biological sex – Peter Sprigg

Why Evangelicals Will Vote (It’s Not What You Think) – Tony Perkins

The Attack on Faith-Based Adoption Agencies – David Closson

Pastor Brunson’s Release: A View From the Courtroom – Travis Weber

Pastor Andrew Brunson’s release illustrates power and potential of Trump’s foreign policy – Tony Perkins

Pray Tell: Atheist Sues to Lead Legislative Prayer – Alexandra McPhee

Ala. Supreme Court Justice: Roe Cuts Off the Unborn’s Full Right to Life – Alexandra McPhee

The Gosnell Story: America Deserves to Know – Alyssa Grasinski

How Shall We Engage Politically? A Response to Tim Keller and Kevin DeYoung – David Closson

Christianity’s Blessings to Society – Travis Weber

Pro-Life Law Upheld By Another Federal Court: Dare We Say “Momentum”? – Cathy Ruse

Our Moralized Social Tyranny and What Conservatives Can Do About It – Caleb Sutherlin

Our Gifts Received through Child Loss – Katy Downey

Atlanta’s Kelvin Cochran Settles the Score – Alexandra McPhee

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

School Bans Christmas Songs That Mention Jesus – ToddStarnes.com

Gosnell’ Filmmakers: Theaters Dropping Movie, Preventing People From Buying Tickets – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Bakers Fined $135K Over Wedding Cake Appeal to Supreme Court – Kelsey Harkness, The Daily Signal

Jack Phillips of Masterpiece Cakeshop Asks Court to Halt New Civil Rights Prosecution – Kevin Daley, The Daily Caller

ABC, NBC, CBS Ignore GOP Candidates Allegedly Assaulted by Left-Wing ‘Protesters’ – Kristine Marsh, NewsBusters

Atheists Put an End to Police Prayer Vigils, but Fail to Stop ‘Pastors on Patrol’ – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

School Bans Christian Athletes From Meeting on Campus – Jeremiah Poff, ToddStarnes.com

Faith-Based Adoption Agencies Are Under Siege in the US – Emily Jones, CBN News

Lawsuit challenges tax perks available to America’s pastors – Kelsey Dallas, Deseret News

Pensacola cross: Does Kavanaugh’s rise change the stakes? – Alabama.com

International Religious Freedom

China Must End Its Campaign of Religious Persecution – Sen. Chuck Grassley, Politico

The Secret and Surprising Ways Christians Worship in North Korea – Lindy Lowry, Open Doors USA

Asia Bibi: Pakistan acquits Christian woman on death rowBBC News

Oxford Students Vote to Ban Christian Group Over LGBT Claims of ‘Threat to Physical, Mental Safety’ – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Turkey Arrests Another Pastor Just Days after Pastor Brunson is Released – Kayla Koslosky, ChristianHeadlines.com

Big Victory for Medical Conscience in Norway – Wesley J. Smith, National Review

Imprisoned Iranian Pastor Got Help From Unlikely Source to Spread Gospel – Mark Ellis, The Christian Post

American missionary shot and killed in ‘targeted’ attack weeks after moving family to Cameroon – Lucia I. Suarez Sang, Fox News

Over 20 Chinese Christians Arrested for Sharing Gospel, Holding Public Worship Service – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

 

Life

Abortion

Alabama top court judge urges Supreme Court to overturn Roe v. Wade – Gualberto Garcia Jones, LifeSiteNews

Nearly 60% of Millennials consider abortion a sin: new poll – James Risdon, LifeSiteNews

Abortion has been decriminalised in QueenslandSBS News

NIH Spends $13.5 Million on Aborted Baby Parts to Transplant Their Brain Tissue Into Mice – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Is It Possible to Be an Anti-Abortion Democrat? One Woman Tried to Find Out – Sabrina Tavernise, The New York Times

65-year-old pro-lifer in hospital after being punched outside Florida Planned Parenthood – Calvin Freiburger, LifeNews

Abortion pills now available by mail in US — but FDA is investigating – Jessica Ravitz, CNN

Watching ‘Gosnell’ Shattered My Agnosticism On Abortion – Adam Mill, The Federalist

Adoption

After two generations of adoption, family finds incredible way to give back – Anna Reynolds, Live Action

Why adoption isn’t Plan A or B – Jenn Hesse, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Parents told they cannot do foster care due to Christian beliefs – The Bridgehead

Bioethics

The Dangerous Effects of Surrogacy: A Review of A Transnational Feminist View of Surrogacy Biomarkets in India – K. Blaine, Public Discourse

 

Family

Marriage

Love Has A Source – Fr. Billy Swan, Word on Fire

How All Relationships Prepare Us For MarriageVerily

Premarital Cohabitation Is Still Associated With Greater Odds of Divorce – Scott Stanley, Family Studies

Dear Husband, Having Kids Together Has Only Made Me Love You More – Celeste, HerViewFromHome

Why Does Graduate School Kill So Many Marriages? – Kathryn R. Wedemeyer-Strombel, The Chronicle of Higher Education

Does Sexual History Affect Marital Happiness? – Nicholas H. Wolfinger, Family Studies

Parenting

Your Kids Are Not Projects or Burdens. They Are Gifts. – Cameron Cole, The Gospel Coalition

Getting Your Kids to Really Listen – Justin Coulson, Family Studies

Why it’s important to teach modern kids to “mind their manners” – Calah Alexander, Aleteia

Helping Low-Income Fathers Form Loving Relationships With Their Children – Natasha J. Cabrera, Family Studies

Silicon Valley Execs Get Your Kids Hooked On Their Gadgets, But Not Their Kids – Jessica Burke, The Federalist

Economics/Education

The Family Geography of the American Dream: New Neighborhood Data on Single Parenthood, Prisons, and Poverty – W. Bradford Wilcox, Family Studies

From the Great Recession to the Great Divide: Business and Economics in the Last Decade – Kelly Hanlon, Public Discourse

Tax-Cut Repeal Could Cost Americans $27K in Pay Over 10 Years, Study Says – Rachel del Guidice, The Daily Signal

Why America desperately needs another baby boom – Steven W. Mosher, New York Post

How Public Schools Indoctrinate Kids Without Almost Anyone Noticing – Auguste Meyrat, The Federalist

Faith/Character/Culture

The Joy We Know Only in Suffering – Marshall Segal, Desiring God

Where Is God? The Problem of Divine Hiddenness – Matt Nelson, Word on Fire

What Makes a Woman Strong – Kathleen Nielson, Desiring God

Rage Makes You Stupid – Kevin D. Williamson, National Review

Human Dignity Is Not a Political Platform – Tina Boesch, The Gospel Coalition

Are Siblings More Important Than Parents? – Ben Healy, The Atlantic

Human Sexuality

The Future of American Sexuality and Family: Five Key Trends – Mark Regnerus, Public Discourse

Satisfied in the Arms of Another – Christopher Asmus, Desiring God

Video: Understanding Sexual Exploitation – What Drives Our Objectification Culture? – Lisa L. Thompson, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Transing California Foster Children & Why Doctors Like Us Opposed It – Andre Van Mol, Public Discourse

The new taboo: More people regret sex change and want to ‘detransition’, surgeon says – Joe Shute, The Telegraph

Did Transgenderism End Political Correctness? – Jacob Airey, The Daily Wire

On Sex, the Trump Administration Returns to Reality and the Law – Ben Shapiro, National Review

Teacher Faces Punishment Over Objections to Girls Taking Showers With Boys – ToddStarnes.com

Trump’s Proposed Rollback of Transgender Policy Is Good News for Many Who Are Suffering – Walt Heyer, The Daily Signal

Pornography

How Pornography Prevents Intimacy in Your Marriage – Jonathan Daugherty, Focus on the Family

Porn problem is so serious that British MPs want to address it with public health campaign – James Risdon, LifeSiteNews

Beating the Odds: 10 indicators your marriage will survive porn addiction – Rob Jackson, Focus on the Family

Nepal Bans Pornography to Stem High Rate of Sexual AssaultNational Catholic Register

Social Conservative Review - October 16, 2018

by Daniel Hart

October 16, 2018

Dear Friends,

By now, you have no doubt heard the wonderful news about the release of Pastor Andrew Brunson, an American who was wrongly imprisoned in Turkey while spreading the Gospel to the Turkish people. During an interview on Good Morning America, Pastor Brunson related a wonderful insight on how God increases the work of His servants’ hands in unexpected ways: “We’re not known people. We’re not very important people. We’ve been working in Turkey in obscurity for a number of years. But then, around the world, I think millions of people in many countries were praying for us. Even though [being imprisoned] caused us a lot of hurt, I think that God is using this, was planning to use this to bring blessing to Turkey. Now there are millions of people who have prayed for Turkey.”

This is an important lesson for all of us who are striving to live out our faith as Christians. As I know I have experienced, there are days (or maybe even weeks or months) during our faith journey when we feel like we are living in obscurity, seemingly unable to accomplish anything of importance and feeling like we don’t matter. I’m sure there were times during Pastor Brunson’s 23 years in Turkey when he perhaps felt discouraged in this way. But day in and day out for 23 years, Pastor Brunson kept the faith and ministered to the Turkish people in “obscurity.” And then, seemingly out of nowhere, he was thrust into the spotlight and into a situation he never could have imagined or asked for. And as Pastor Brunson has pointed out, God used his physically and mentally anguishing experience of imprisonment for a greater good that only He could have imagined.

Following Pastor Brunson’s courageous example, we too are called to live out our faith, day in and day out, even when we feel like we are living in obscurity. When we do this, we are preparing ourselves for the day when God will call us forth to perform a mighty work for His glory.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

The Kavanaugh Circus Shows The Supreme Court’s Political Power Is Out of Control – Travis Weber

Man Steals Gold Medal From Top Woman in World Cycling Race – Cathy Ruse

Allied for Truth and Freedom Regarding Unwanted Same-Sex Attractions – Peter Sprigg

Hacksaw Ridge and the Value of Conscientious Objectors – Alexandra McPhee

We’re In a Spiritual Battle of Good vs. Evil. Gosnell Proves It. – Patrina Mosley

Christians Should Be Fearless in Living Out Their Faith. Even Supreme Courts Agree. – James Selvey

Pakistani Christian Woman’s Fate Hangs in the Balance – Travis Weber

Millennials and the Future of Marriage – Caleb Sutherlin

Reversing Roe—Or Ignoring Her? – Alexandra McPhee

The Unity of Body and Soul: Why It Matters – Caleb Sutherlin

Americans Can “Afford to Not Care” About Voting. Yet We Should Still Care. – Travis Weber

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Defining The Thing – Dan Hitchens, First Things

Trump Signs Bill Expanding Criminal Code on Church Vandalism to Protect Religious Nonprofits – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

Senior Google Search Engineer Advocates for Censorship of ‘Terrorist’ Marsha Blackburn – Allum Bokhari, Breitbart

Complaint prompts Utah’s Dixie State University to remove Bible, Book of Mormon from hotel rooms – Peggy Fletcher Stack, The Salt Lake Tribune

Church Ordered to Pay $13,000 in Property Taxes Heads to Court – Emily Jones, CBN News

Swastikas painted on Northern Virginia JCC – Jared Foretek, Washington Jewish Week

Americans By a 2-1 Margin Say Media Coverage Was Biased Against Kavanaugh – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

VICTORY! Atlanta Pays Ex-Fire Chief $1.2 Million in Religious Liberty Lawsuit – ToddStarnes.com

International Religious Freedom

Pastor Freed by Turkey Kisses American Flag, Prays for Trump – Chuck Ross, The Daily Signal

China Trying to ‘Rewrite the Bible,’ Force Churches to Sing Communist Anthems – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

Hindu Attacks Against Christians on the Rise in Southern India – Steve Warren, CBN News

Hundreds of Chinese Christian Schoolchildren Forced to Declare They Follow ‘No Religion’ – Will Maule, CBN News

Pakistan’s Supreme Court Reserves Judgment in Asia Bibi’s Final Appeal – Persecution.org

Iran: Two Christian converts receive prison sentences – Middle East Concern

UK High Court Rules That Declining to Bake ‘Gay Cake’ Isn’t Discrimination – Troy Worden, The Daily Signal

 

Life

Abortion

When the abortion industry fights regulations, it proves it isn’t pro-woman – Cassy Fiano-Chesser, Live Action

Fact Check: Tweet Shows Exponential Growth in Planned Parenthood Campaign Contributions From 2014 to 2018 – Emily Larsen, CheckYourFact

AGAIN? Another pro-abortion activist violently attacks pro-lifers in Canada – Cassy Fiano-Chesser, Live Action

Chicago Planned Parenthood botches at least six abortions in under a year – Nancy Flanders, Live Action

Bioethics

15 Celebrities who are showing us how to welcome people with special needs – Cerith Gardiner, Aleteia

The Expansion of Assisted Suicide North of the Border – John Stonestreet and Roberto Rivera, BreakPoint

 

Family

Marriage

The Best Marriage Ever – Nancy Guthrie, Crossway

Every marriage has its rocky patches. And given good sense, survives – Harry Benson, The Conservative Woman

How Moving In Together Makes It Harder to Know If He’s the One – Galena Rhoades, Family Studies

Parenting

Lord, Teach Us—and Our Kids—to Pray – Megan Kennedy and Jared Kennedy, The Gospel Coalition

In light of Brett Kavanaugh, an indepth look at how and when character is formed in kids – Jennifer Graham, Deseret News

Regaining the Joy of Family Life: A Review of How to Be A Happier Parent – Naomi Schaefer Riley, Family Studies

The Kanye-Trump Bromance Highlights Our Culture’s Yearning For Fathers – Melissa Langsom Braunstein, The Federalist

6 Ways to Ruin Your Children – Jeff Robinson, The Gospel Coalition

Economics/Education

Higher Rent, Fewer Babies? Housing Costs and Fertility Decline – Lyman Stone, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

Rejecting Second-Wave Feminism: A Review of Mona Charen’s Sex Matters – Ashley McGuire, Family Studies

Former Nightclub Owner Addicted to Drugs, Porn, Gambling Now Brings Life-Saving Water to 8 Million – Michael Gryboski, The Christian Post

Obey God with Your Creativity – John Piper, Desiring God

On Moments – Tod Worner, Word on Fire

A Morning with Big Brother – Joseph Pearce, Intellectual Takeout

Why Christians Don’t Go to Church (and Why They Must) – Joe Carter, The Gospel Coalition

Human Sexuality

School District Changes Its Restroom Policy – Then Ignores the Sexual Assault of a Five-Year-Old Girl – Sarah Kramer, Alliance Defending Freedom

How can we discuss sex ed without talking about marriage? – Andrea Mrozek, Hamilton Spectator

Biological Male Wins World Championship Event in Women’s Cycling – Peter Hasson, The Daily Signal

Human Trafficking

123 missing children found in Michigan during sex trafficking operation – Emily Jacobs, New York Post

Amnesty International Expels Member for Standing Against Prostitution – Ben Miller, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Pornography

The Shame-Free System This All-Guys’ College House Has To Fight Porn Is Brilliant – Fight the New Drug

Social Conservative Review - October 2, 2018

by Daniel Hart

October 2, 2018

Dear Friends,

Do you ever have moments in your life when your mind wanders far into the future, prompting feelings of anxiety about all of your responsibilities and inevitable hardships you will have to endure in the months and years ahead? I know I do. If unchecked, this kind of thought pattern can lead to a nervous churn in the pit of my stomach as I begin to feel overwhelmed with the weight of the future and what might happen.

Our Lord knows unhealthy human tendencies like these very intimately. He loves us so much, in fact, that He has given us specific spiritual direction numerous times throughout Scripture to remind us of how we are called to live in the moment and not to worry about the future. In Matthew 6:34, Jesus entreats us to “not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Let the day’s own trouble be sufficient for the day.” Even the Lord’s Prayer includes a very specific entreaty: “Give us this day our daily bread” (Matthew 6:11). Notice that Christ does not instruct us to ask for our “monthly” or “yearly” bread. In teaching us to pray for our “daily bread,” Jesus is reminding us that our primary focus should be on doing what He is asking of us in our present moment, in this one day that we have been blessed with in His Creation.

This teaching from our Lord goes to the very heart of Creation itself. In the beginning of the book of Genesis, we read that “God separated the light from the darkness. God called the light Day, and the darkness he called Night. And there was evening and there was morning, one day.” Our Lord designed Creation so that we only have to worry about one day at a time. When the day is over, the night comes so that we can rest and recharge for the next day. In other words, God is trying to tell us something with how He has designed the earth to operate: live for today, for the present moment. Existence itself is pure gift; the present moment is all we will ever have. Let us use it for the greater glory of God.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Is this cross too Christian? Only the Supreme Court can save these war monuments – Alexandra McPhee

Planned Parenthood is Not Pro-Woman – Patrina Mosley

Trump: Expected to Advance Religious Liberty at the UN – Ken Blackwell

An Answer to This Generation’s Identity Crisis: “Love Thy Body.” – Patrina Mosley

California’s Campus Abortion Legislation Has Been Vetoed – Here’s What It Had Wrong – Patrina Mosley

The Image of God and the Pursuit of Truth in the Kavanaugh Hearing – David Closson

Hundreds of College Students Travel to DC In Support of Kavanaugh – John Wesley Reid

World Congress of Families Seeks to Strengthen the Family Unit

U.S. Courts of Appeals: No Vacancy – Alexandra McPhee

Another Attack on Kenyan Christians Brings Us Back to Watu Wote – Travis Weber

Five Myths About “Gender Identity” – Peter Sprigg

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Michigan school district pulls video of family circle after critics claimed it promoted prayer – Ryan Gaydos, Fox News

Black Pastor: I Get ‘Hate and Racism’ From the Left ‘For Being a Bible-Believing Christian – Tyler O’Neil, PJ Media

Militant LGBT Group Wants to Run Texas Mega-Church Out of Town – ToddStarnes.com

Planned Parenthood Forces Hyatt Hotel to Cancel Screening of New Kermit “Gosnell” Movie – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

International Religious Freedom

Hopes Rise for Release of U.S. Pastor Being Held in Turkey – David Gauthier-Villars and Dion Nissenbaum, The Wall Street Journal

12 Churches Destroyed, Shut Down by Myanmar Rebels – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

More Chinese Pastors Sign Statement Affirming Religious Freedom as US Govt Holds Hearing on Persecution – Steve Warren, CBN News

Closure of Syrian Schools: Another Bleak Sign for Christians in Syria – Marlo Safi, National Review

Pakistani Christian Woman Thrown Off Roof for Refusing to Convert to Islam, Marry Muslim – Will Maule, FaithWire

 

Life

Abortion

Abortion On Trial – John Waters, First Things

Podcast: Be a voice for life: Developing a compelling pro-life message – Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Here’s a List of Everything a Baby Can Do in the Womb – Grace Carr, The Stream

Governor Brown vetoes abortion pill bill – Pablo Kay, Angelus

Yes, Down Syndrome Is A Life Worth Living, And A Life Worth Saving – Dan Bartkowiak, The Federalist

U.S. Expected to Fight Back Against Abortion as a Humanitarian Right – Stefano Gennarini, C-Fam

Adoption

How Foster Care Became a Christian Priority—Just in Time – Sarah Eekhoff Zylstra, The Gospel Coalition

My Long, Messy, Beautifully Complicated Path to Adopting My Son – Claire Gibson, Marie Claire

Bioethics

Aussies Block Euthanasia – John Stonestreet & David Carlson, Breakpoint

Mass Human Cloning May Soon be Upon Us – Wesley J. Smith, National Review

Making Death Easier Makes Life Harder – Richard Stith, Public Discourse

Child Euthanasia without Parent Approval Pushed for Canada – Wesley J. Smith, National Review

HHS feels pressure, ends contract with fetal tissue harvester – Live Action

Obamacare

As Obamacare Premiums Continue to Rise, Time to Look at Real Health Care Solutions – Robert Moffit, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Marriage

Millennials Are Causing the U.S. Divorce Rate to Plummet – Ben Steverman, Bloomberg

Humility Matters in Marriage, Too – Rebecca Spohr, HerViewFromHome

Reducing Divorce Through Community-Level Marriage Initiatives – Alan J. Hawkins, Family Studies

U.S. Fertility Rate Drops to All Time Low, Cut in Half Since 1950s – John Binder, Breitbart

Coping With Financial Crisis and Maintaining Your Marriage – Cherie Lowe, Focus on the Family

When Grandparents Divorce, Everyone Hurts – D. Scott Sibley, Family Studies

The Wages of Infidelity – Hugo Schwyzer, Family Studies

Parenting

Raising Kids With Religion Or Spirituality May Protect Their Mental Health: Study – Alice G. Walton, Forbes

Our Infertile Future – Melissa Langsam Braunstein, Family Studies

Making of a Mom: Birth as a Creative Act – Laura Khan, Verily

Modeling Grace and Courtesy – Mattias A. Caro, Ethika Politika

When Adult Children Don’t Share Your Values – Marci Seither, Focus on the Family

Why Friendships Are Important for Boys’ Health – Maryam Abdullah, Greater Good Magazine

7 Ways to Teach Children About the Conscience – Andy Naselli, The Gospel Coalition

Economics/Education

Do Schooling and City Living Equal Fewer Babies? – Lyman Stone, Family Studies

Is student debt keeping Americans away from marriage?Science Daily

Faith/Character/Culture

God Will Sustain You a Day at a Time – Vaneetha Rendall Risner, Desiring God

Eight Reasons Why Awe Makes Your Life Better – Summer Allen, Greater Good Magazine

9 People with Down syndrome who are changing the world – Cerith Gardiner, Aleteia

How Prison Fellowship helps prepare prisoners for release – Emily Greene, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

We Weren’t Made for Endless Work – Gracy Olmstead, The American Conservative

Why churches matter in the fight against addiction – Ericka Andersen, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

How to Bring Your Whole Self to Work – Mike Robbins, Greater Good Magazine

Human Sexuality

Same sex relationships: Should we just agree to disagree? – Sam Allberry, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Changing Society’s View on “Hooking Up” – Arthur Goldberg, Public Discourse

American Academy of Pediatrics’ new guidelines support gender change for kids – Lisa Bourne, LifeSiteNews

$5.7 Million in Taxpayer Funds for Study to Justify Sterilizing Children Who Are Gender Confused – Susan Berry, Breitbart

Guttmacher Reports Conflicting Findings on Trends in Teen Sexual Activity – Michael J. New, National Review

Human Trafficking

What Happens To Sex Trafficking Survivors After They’re Rescued? – Fight the New Drug

By The Numbers: Can Porn Production Be Connected To Sex Trafficking? – Fight the New Drug

Hundreds of Sex Buyers Arrested as Part of Nationwide Initiative – Ben Miller, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Protections for Sex Traffickers Being Snuck into US-Canada Trade Negotiations – National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Pornography

What you should know about women and pornography – Mikayla Simpson, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Study Links Porn Consumption To Higher Levels Of Objectification And Tricking Partners Into Sex – Fight the New Drug

Social Conservative Review - September 18, 2018

by Daniel Hart

September 18, 2018

Dear Friends,

In my daily faith journey, I confess that I sometimes fall into a bad habit: I feel like I’ve “been there, done that.” More to the point, I feel a kind of “spiritual sophistication” in which most of the preaching I hear and most of the articles on faith that I read just don’t seem to measure up to my expectations. What’s worse, I sometimes find myself getting annoyed and impatient that the preaching that I’m hearing or the article I’m reading is not what I feel to be sufficiently insightful.

As Matthew Westerholm has recently observed, this kind of “it takes a lot to impress me” attitude is actually a form of spiritual immaturity. He writes, “The more spiritually mature we become, the more we are easily edified.” This should be something that all Christians should strive for—a spirit of simplicity, humility, and openness as we encounter the sermons, writings, songs, films, and other forms of spiritual communication that we encounter. This kind of attitude will prepare us to be surprised and delighted by the unexpected insights given to us by the Holy Spirit.

This attitude can also be carried over into every aspect of our daily lives, especially with the everyday conversations we have with others. If we strive to always be open when we encounter others, and avoid going into situations with preconceived notions about what we will or will not gain from them, we allow ourselves to be receptive to what the Lord is trying to teach us.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Are Sexual Orientation Change Efforts (SOCE) Effective? Are They Harmful? What the Evidence Shows – Peter Sprigg

California’s Effort to Ban ‘Conversion Therapy’ Failed. Here’s a Better Path We Can All Agree On. – Peter Sprigg

The Problem With Judicial Nominations? The Left Doesn’t Actually Want to Follow the Constitution – Peter Sprigg

Brown University is in Denial About Transgender Reality – Cathy Ruse

Lawsuit Targeting Faith-Based Adoption Agencies Allowed to Proceed in Michigan – David Closson

A Bill Allowing College Campus Abortions Shows Reckless Disregard for Young Women – Patrina Mosley

Planned Parenthood’s New President Can’t Erase Its Atrocities – Patrina Mosley

The Department of Veterans Affairs Should Not Fund “Gender Alterations”

The Catholic Church in Crisis: Two Takeaways – Dan Hart

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Christian College Says Accrediting Agency’s Proposed Guideline Change May Harm Religious Schools – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

Texas cheerleaders win a victory for freedom of religious expression – Todd Starnes, Fox News

In God We Trust’ sign offended teachers, so the school district came up with a fix – Lois K. Solomon, Sun Sentinel

Students Ordered to Spray Paint Over the Name of Christ on Football Field – ToddStarnes.com

Upend Precedent, 11th Circuit Panel Urges in Pensacola Cross Case – Katheryn Tucker, Daily Report

Her College Told Her Not to Give Out Bible-Themed Valentines. She Isn’t Backing Down. – Troy Worden, The Daily Signal

Professor Who Defended Student’s Right To An Opinion Returns To Work After Three Years And One Major Court Battle – Ashe Schow, The Daily Wire

International Religious Freedom

Officials destroying crosses, burning bibles in China – AP

Indian Christians Refuse to Deny Christ Despite Persecution From Hindu Radicals – Leah MarieAnn Klett, The Christian Post

Nigeria: Pastor and three sons burned alive among at least 20 killed in latest Plateau massacre – World Watch Monitor

U.S. and Turkey Speak About Syria and the Detained American PastorThe Jerusalem Post

China to crack down on ‘chaotic’ online religious info: media – Reuters

Why Americans Should Care About the Uyghurs – Jennifer S. Bryson, Public Discourse

U.N. Is Called to Recognize Christian Genocide – Marlo Safi, National Review

Baseless Forced Conversion Accusation Lead to Arrest of 271 Christians in India – Persecution.org

Prominent Chinese pastor defiant after church closure – Channel NewsAsia

 

Life

Abortion

Pro-life pregnancy centers served nearly 2 million people last yearThe Boston Pilot

Memo to Chelsea Clinton: Freedom Does Not Require Women To Become Like Men – Ashleen Menchaca-Bagnulo, Public Discourse

In two years, Iowa flips from ‘worse than New York State’ to pro-life – Live Action

Gosnell’ Actress On Her Choice For Life: ‘Have Your Baby, It Will Mean Everything To You’The Federalist

Pro-Life Leaders Call for End of Taxpayer-Funded Research with Aborted Baby PartsCaffeinated Thoughts

Adoption

I Was Adopted Through a Faith-Based Adoption Provider. LGBT Groups Want Them Shut Down. – Ryan Bomberger, The Daily Signal

Bioethics

A viral photo shows the problems with in vitro fertilization (IVF) – Andrew T. Walker, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Dear Anonymous Dad – Mary Jackson, WORLD

A Gruesome Plan – Wesley J. Smith, The Weekly Standard

Obamacare

This 1 Move by the Trump Administration Is Boosting My Small Business – Joseph Semprevivo, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Marriage

The Thing We Learned About Marriage from the Cable Guy – Dave Willis with Ashley Willis, Focus on the Family

Confessions of a Reluctant Complementarian – Rebecca McLaughlin, The Gospel Coalition

Teach Them About Marriage Before the World Does – Jani Ortlund, Desiring God

Parenting

Close ties with fathers help daughters overcome lonelinessScience Daily

Waiting to Have a Baby Can Lead to Having Many at Once – Mollie Rappe-Brown, Futurity

Welcome to the Grieving Parents Club – Leslie Froelich, HerViewFromHome

Economics/Education

Education Should Not Be Fearful – Matthew Anderson, Crisis

Hundreds of parents flood Board of Education to demand control over their kids’ sex education – Daniel Payne, The College Fix

Parents Win: Colorado Schools End Sex Ed Program That Exposed Children to Porn – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

The College Campus’s Cult of Fragility – George Will, National Review

Why Small Businesses Are More Optimistic Than Ever Before – Patrick Tyrrell and Anthony B. Kim, The Daily Signal

How the Texas Model Supports Prosperous Families – Vance Ginn, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

The Power of Prayer for Families – Alysse ElHage, Family Studies

How to Ruin Your Life in Your Twenties – Jonathan Pokluda, Desiring God

Prioritizing the Value of Work in a Celebrity-Obsessed World – Naomi Schaefer Riley, Family Studies

How to help a friend with mental illness – Amy Simpson, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

The Benefit of Bad Sermons – Matthew Westerholm, Desiring God

Why Millennials ARE Coming to Church – Steve McAlpine, The Gospel Coalition

What I Learned About My Sins at Sixty-Four – John Piper, Desiring God

Human Sexuality

The Heterosexual Gospel – Jackie Hill Perry, Desiring God

How to Evangelize Your LGBT Neighbors – Rosaria Butterfield, Christianity Today

California Dem withdraws bill banning help for unwanted gay attraction – Calvin Freiburger, LifeSiteNews

The Alarming Findings of a New Study on Transgender Teens and Suicide – Kelsey Harkness, The Daily Signal

Gay Rights, Hate Speech, and Hospitality – Rosaria Champagne Butterfield, Desiring God

Human Trafficking

Sexual Exploitation Knows No Borders, Neither Should Our Efforts to End It – Lana Lichfield, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Pornography

Is Pornography Your Therapy? – Greg Morse, Desiring God

How Porn Is Sidelining Missionaries – Greg Handley, The Gospel Coalition

A rape pandemic has hit India, and people are blaming pornography – Jonathon Van Maren, LifeSiteNews

How to Tell Your Fiance About Your Porn Problem – Jessica Harris, Focus on the Family

Social Conservative Review - September 4, 2018

by Daniel Hart

September 4, 2018

Dear Friends,

After Labor Day, a common emotion that is experienced by many of us is one of melancholy. We get the sense that the season is beginning to change from summer to fall, and with it, many of us seem to be thrust back in to our roles as workers and students after our summer vacations and school breaks, with all the responsibilities and stress that goes along with it. It’s notable that fully 87 percent of people in the world don’t particularly enjoy their jobs, and I’m sure most adult readers remember childhood feelings of dread at the thought of going back to school after summer break.

What’s important to remember during this time of transition is that work is actually a gift from God that is meant to fulfill us. John Cuddeback writes: “…work has a humanizing power: [in] some important sense it both expresses and brings about our humanity… Our daily work should … provide a basic and irreplaceable experience of human fulfillment … We can first of all seek the humanizing element in our daily work—whatever that work might be.”

In order for us to be fulfilled by our work, we must be engaged by it, and there are helpful steps we can take to be more productive at and satisfied with our jobs. During this season of new beginnings, let’s make a special effort to use our God-given strengths and talents to excel in our work, not just for the benefit of us and our families, but for the betterment of society and to give glory to the Giver of all that we have.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Why Judge Kavanaugh Should Be Confirmed to the Supreme Court – Travis Weber and Chris Gacek

What to Expect From the Kavanaugh Confirmation Hearing – Ken Blackwell

California’s ‘Must Stay Gay’ Bill Is Nearing Passage. Here’s the Severe Harm It Would Do. – Peter Sprigg

SOGI Law Forces Catholic Adoption Provider to Close After 95 Years – David Closson

Forced Use of False Pronouns Kills Faith and Freedom – Cathy Ruse

New CDC Numbers Show the Sexual Revolution Keeps Making Things Worse – Cathy Ruse

India’s Opportunity for Religious Freedom – Travis Weber

Update on California’s AB 2943: Therapy Ban Assaulting Freedom of Speech and Religion Passes Senate – Peter Sprigg

3 Ways in Which Brett Kavanaugh Has Supported Religious Liberty – Travis Weber

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Despite my court win, Colorado Civil Rights Commission is coming after me again – Jack Phillips, USA Today

Southern Poverty Law Center ‘Hate’ Labels Deserve a Vigorous Response – Michael Farris, National Review

SoCal Harvest: Thousands to ‘Take a Stand’ for Bible Amid Greg Laurie’s Billboard Controversy – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

Pastor Faces Eviction for Hosting Home Bible Study – ToddStarnes.com

In God We Trust’ Motto On Currency Deemed Constitutional By Court After Atheists Complain – Kassy Dillon, The Daily Wire

The Transgender Language War – Abigail Shrier, The Wall Street Journal

Two-thirds of conservatives don’t trust Facebook, say they’re being censored – Jennifer Harper, The Washington Times

Christian Cake Baker Turns the Tables, Sues Colorado for Anti-Religious Bias – Thomas Jipping, The Daily Signal

International Religious Freedom

Nigerian Girl Who Refused to Renounce Jesus for Her Freedom Begs for Help in Newly Released Audio – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

The Shameful Abandonment of the Yazidis – Judith Bergman, The Christian Post

European Union Religious Freedom Report

 

Life

Abortion

Why we should work to overturn abortion laws – Andrew T. Walker, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Most Damning’ Planned Parenthood Videos Yet Set for Release if Judge Lifts Gag Order – Tyler O’Neil, PJ Media

California state assembly passes law mandating abortion on college campuses – Cassy Fiano-Chesser, Live Action

Trump administration moves to cut Planned Parenthood funding sooner – Live Action

Adoption

States Must Stop the War on Faith-Based Adoption Agencies – Monica Burke, The Daily Signal

Is it OK to get attached to a foster child? – Ashley Gorman, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

The Other Side of Foster Care – Jason Johnson, Family Studies

Bioethics

Oregon dives deeper into assisted suicide with new drug policy – Bradley Mattes, LifeSiteNews

Families of assisted suicide victims plead for the killing to end – Cassy Fiano-Chesser, Live Action

 

Family

Marriage

For Better or Worse: The Marriage-Health Connection – Aaron Cheesman, Sacramento Magazine

How (and Why) Government Should Invest in Marriage – Alan J. Hawkins and Hal Boyd, Public Discourse

Why Every Sane Society Encourages Marriage, Not Divorce – Chuck Chalberg, Intellectual Takeout

An Open Letter from Young Adults to Married Couples – Allegra Thatcher, The Stream

Hospital Wedding of Terminally Ill Woman a Powerful Witness – Maria Ximena Rondon, National Catholic Register

Parenting

Stop Criminalizing Parenthood – Kerry McDonald, Intellectual Takeout

How to Reassure Your Children of Who They Are in God’s Eyes – Sara Hagerty, Focus on the Family

Motherhood: Why Society is Making it the Most Stress-Ridden Career – Veronika Winkels, Intellectual Takeout

Talking with Our Children About Homosexuality – Lucy Olson, The Gospel Coalition

How Low-Energy Parents Can Get Their Children to Cooperate – Zac Alstin, Intellectual Takeout

Teach Them About Marriage Before the World Does – Jani Ortlund, Desiring God

Economics/Education

How Our Education System Fails Most Students – Oren Cass, Family Studies

Want More Power To The People? Choose Capitalism – Andy Pudzer, The Federalist

Strong Families Make Strong Schools – Brianna Heldt, National Catholic Register

7 Things I’d Do if I Wanted to Keep Poor People Poor – Brian Balfour, Intellectual Takeout

Faith/Character/Culture

Why Everything Is Wonderful But Nobody’s Happy, And What To Do About It – Nathanael Blake, The Federalist

How an unsatisfying life leads to spiritual freedom – Amy Simpson, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Miracle Baby Born at 22 Weeks and Given a 2% Chance of Survival Heads Home – Micaiah Bilger, Life News

Only 14 Percent Of Americans Changed Their Minds Because Of Something On Social Media – Nicole Russell, The Federalist

Kindness: A Pathway to a Satisfying Life – Barry Brownstein, Intellectual Takeout

Why It Matters That Teens Are Reading Less – Jean Twenge, Intellectual Takeout

Don’t Trust the Peace in Your Heart – Matt Rogers, The Gospel Coalition

Human Sexuality

Can Sexual Orientation Change? – Michael Cook, Intellectual Takeout

I Loved My Girlfriend—but God Loved Me More – Jackie Hill Perry, Christianity Today

STDs continue rapid rise in U.S., setting new record, CDC says – Linda Carroll, NBC News

Pornography

Amazon Pushes Pornography Ads on Website for Boy Scouts – National Center on Sexual Exploitation

18 Mind-Blowing Stats About The Porn Industry And Its Underage Consumers – Fight the New Drug

Social Conservative Review - August 16, 2018

by Daniel Hart

August 16, 2018

Dear Friends,

When God created the human race, the pinnacle of His creation, He endowed us with a particularly amazing ability. Our souls are actually wired to feel an elevated sense joy, happiness, and hope when we witness an act of charity being performed by someone in service of someone else, even if they are complete strangers. As I know I have, I’m sure you’ve experienced a tear well up in the corner of your eye as you’ve watched one of the seemingly thousands of “random acts of kindness” videos that are all over the internet.

What’s amazing about this inborn warmth that we feel when we witness goodness is that it has the power to instantly change our attitudes. For me personally, this has happened dozens of times in my day to day life. These moments usually happen completely unexpectedly, especially when I happen to be feeling a little down or discouraged. After I witness an act of kindness on the street or happen to watch an inspiring video that I come across on Facebook, my outlook on life is instantly transformed to one of hope and joy. What’s more, I feel inspired to emulate the act of kindness myself. This is the phenomenon of kindness being “contagious,” which has been hardwired into our humanness by our Creator.

While acts of kindness naturally move and inspire us, that doesn’t mean we always follow through and do them ourselves—this is where our own sin and shortcomings creep in. Let’s all make a point of moving past any hesitation or self-conscious nervousness we might feel when we see an opportunity to perform an act of charity. You never know who might witness our acts of kindness and be inspired to spread the love, thus transforming our broken world one good deed at a time.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Strong Patents: Key to a Strong Economy – Ken Blackwell

CNN Publishes a Hatchet Job on Religious Freedom – Travis Weber

The Remains of Aborted Babies Are Now a Commodity to the FDA – Patrina Mosley

High School Students Enticed into Private Booth for “Queer” Storytelling – Cathy Ruse

The Transgender Movement Just Pushes People Too Far – Cathy Ruse

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

I’m Proud To Take A Knee With Coach Kennedy – Bobby Bowden, The Daily Caller

A Sign of the Times? Pastor Greg Laurie Forced to Remove Billboards Featuring the Bible – Emily Jones, CBN News

Alabama public schools may soon add ‘In God We Trust’ displays – Frank Miles, Fox News

Christian Baker Again Under Fire Again—This Time for Refusing to Bake a Transgender Cake – Tyler O’Neil, PJ Media

Hispanic restaurant owner recipient of death threats, outrage mob after hosting Jeff Sessions – Chris Enloe, The Blaze

University of Iowa Reinstates Nearly 40 Student Groups After InterVarsity Files Lawsuit – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

Trump Admin Upholds Religious Freedom for Federal Contractors – Mark Martin, CBN News

International Religious Freedom

We Must Pay So Dearly’: China’s Churches Raided, Silenced – Yanan Wang, AP

China cracks down on citizens, scans handheld devices for ‘illegal information’ – Calvin Freiburger, LifeSiteNews

Court rejects appeal for American pastor’s release from detention, Turkish media says – Fox News

Lindsey Graham: ‘Normal relationship’ with Turkey impossible with pastor jailed – Tom Howell Jr., The Washington Times

US Congress Urges India’s Modi to Protect Christians, Condemn Attacks on Minorities – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Military Religious Freedom

Army Chaplain Faces Possible Court Martial over Religious Beliefs – ToddStarnes.com

Militant Atheist Group Calls for Removal of Edwards AFB Commander over Public Professions of Faith – Paula Bolyard, PJ Media

1,800 Soldiers Have Professed Faith in Christ at Missouri Army Base in Last 6 Months – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

 

Life

Abortion

Pushing abortion on California college students is institutionalized misogyny – Cassy Fiano-Chesser, Live Action

International abortion pressure was no match for Argentina’s love of life – Kristi Burton Brown, Live Action

The Worst Poll Ever on the Roe v. Wade Decision – Michael New, Townhall

18 years of the abortion pill have made things worse for women and society – Susan Michelle-Hanson, Live Action

Adoption

Toby’s Adoption Day – Kathryn Jean Lopez, National Review

4-Year-Old Celebrates His Adoption and New Baby Sister in Sweet Photo: ‘He Was So Happy That Day!’ – Char Adams, People

Bioethics

What Three Identical Strangers Reveals About Nature and Nurture – Mary Rose Somarriba, Family Studies

Slow Code’: Outraged parents say doctors delay care for kids with disabilities – Nancy Flanders, Live Action

California Senate bill allows encouraging terminally ill to choose suicide – Cassy Fiano-Chesser, Live Action

 

Family

Marriage

Tips for a successful weekly marriage meeting – Erin Stewart, Deseret News

Soulmate Marriage: An Unrealistic Goal? – Annie Holmquist, Intellectual Takeout

How to Strengthen Your Marriage Through Doing the Dishes – Erin Smalley, Focus on the Family

Parenting

How Dads Can Protect Their Kids – Rob Schwarzwalder, The Stream

How to Navigate the Joys and Challenges of Grandparenting – Diana Divecha, Greater Good Magazine

Moms Who Miscarry Benefit from Going to Church, Research Shows – David Briggs, Christianity Today

Studies acknowledge how traumatic miscarriage is — so why doesn’t society? – Anna O’Neil, Aleteia

To the Young Men Who May Want to Date My Daughters – Whitney Fleming, Her View From Home

Economics/Education

Emails Reveal High School Teachers Plotting To Hide Their Political Bias From Parents – Ilya Feoktistov, The Federalist

Democrats More Positive About Socialism Than Capitalism – Frank Newport, Gallup

Faith/Character/Culture

Your Life Is Not Boring – Jon Bloom, Desiring God

Why Americans go—or don’t go—to religious services – Joe Carter, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

A Case for Fear – Austin Roscoe, The Stream

Human Sexuality

Love, Economics, and Cheap SexC.R. Pakaluk, Public Discourse

Support for Christians Refusing to Serve Same-Sex Weddings Goes … Up – Morgan Lee, Christianity Today

You Won’t Believe What Kids Can Find On ‘Transgender’ At The Public Library – Maureen Mullarkey, The Federalist

Human Trafficking

NCOSE Intern Report from the World Without Exploitation 2018 Youth Summit – National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Pornography

Ministry Leaders Who Counsel People Struggling With Porn Addiction Say It Can’t Be Fought Alone – Michael Gryboski, The Christian Post

For Parents: My Child Just Told Me They Struggle With Porn. Now What? – Fight the New Drug

Social Conservative Review - August 3, 2018

by Daniel Hart

August 3, 2018

Dear Friends,

We are now in the month of August, the time of the year that seems to be a kind of buffer between the season of vacations and weddings and the season when school and Congress begin work in earnest again in September. Generally speaking, August is when life seems to slow down a bit. Offices are a little emptier, the summer heat is a bit more intense, and there’s a few more stretches of time to spend in leisure.

But what is “leisure”? Most of us tend to think of it in terms of watching a movie or playing a board game. But as John Cuddeback writes, there is an important distinction between leisure and amusement:

Amusement refers to those activities we do because they are fun, or diverting, or simply relaxing. We play a game, ride a bike, go out on a boat, or watch a movie. We enjoy these activities even while they have no obvious product or utility.

Leisure refers to activities that are more serious: we have a deep conversation, we lie on our backs observing the stars, we listen to great music. We contemplate deeper things, we worship God.

Amusement and leisure share a common element: they are not work. But this similarity points to their fundamental difference. At the end of the day, amusement is less important than work, and it takes its immediate meaning from the fact that it serves work, by refreshing us to go back to our labors.

Leisure on the other hand is served by our work. It provides the ultimate meaning and justification for human work.

As we take vacations and spend time away from the office during this season, let’s remember to not only have fun and unwind, but to also spend some quality time in authentic leisure in order to renew our intellects and souls for the work God is calling us to accomplish.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Ominous Court Ruling Allows Discrimination Against Christian Adoption Provider – Travis Weber

With State Department Ministerial, Trump Administration Signals Seriousness on Religious Freedom – Travis Weber

Why It’s Impossible To Support Both #MeToo And Planned Parenthood Without Being A Big Hypocrite – Patrina Mosley

Unleashing America’s Entrepreneurial Spirit – Ken Blackwell

Nikki Haley’s Great Advice on Resurrecting Civil Discourse – Spenser White

Transgender “Revolution” is Really an Elitist Diktat – Cathy Ruse

DOJ Announces Timely Religious Liberty Initiative – Travis Weber

RNC: Schools Must Get a “Yes” from Parents Before Teaching Radical Sex Ed – Cathy Ruse

The Lies of Access and Autonomy – Hannah Borchers

Ohio House Bill 658: Parental Rights are Good for Children – Madeleine Lucas

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Town Orders Family to Stop Hosting Bible Studies on Farm – ToddStarnes.com

These 6 Cases Show How Brett Kavanaugh Might Rule on Religious Freedom – Fred Lucas, The Daily Signal

School District Threatens to Call Police After Mystery Person Gives Out Free Bibles on Campus – Will Maule, CBN News

Muslim Who Squeezed $3M Out of SPLC for Calling Him an Anti-Muslim Extremist Says Others Also Wrongly Labeled – Jeremiah Poff, The Daily Signal

Christian club rejects University of Iowa’s mandate to accept LGBT leaders – Calvin Freiburger, LifeSiteNews

Atheist Group Sues West Virginia City for Reciting Lord’s Prayer at Meetings – Michael Gryboski, The Christian Post

International Religious Freedom

Religious persecution in Iran, China must end now – Mike Pompeo, USA Today

American Pastor Brunson Moved from Prison to House Arrest in Turkey – Benjamin Gill, CBN News

China Detaining Over 1 Million Muslims in Concentration Camps but the World Is Silent, Believer Says – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

Victims of Religious Persecution Tell Their Stories at International Conference in DC – Katherine Rohloff, The Daily Signal

Trinity Western and the Endangerment of Religious Pluralism in Canada – Derek Ross, Public Discourse

US Tells Iraqi Christians Help Is on Its Way (For Real This Time) – Kate Shellnutt, Christianity Today

Military Religious Freedom

Air Force surrenders to demand to replace Bible with generic ‘book of faith’ on POW/MIA table – Todd Starnes, Fox News

 

Life

Abortion

When Arguments Fail, What Do Pro-Lifers Do? – Liberty McArtor, The Stream

Pushing the abortion pill on college campuses is dangerous to women – Kristi Burton Brown, Live Action

Amazing new video illustrates humanity of preborn baby in womb – Calvin Freiburger, LifeSiteNews

7th Circuit strikes down Indiana abortion ultrasound law – Dave Stafford, The Indiana Lawyer

Planned Parenthood opening 14 new facilities in ‘deep red’ states – Claire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

The Tyranny of Reproductive “Justice” – Regis Nicoll, Crisis

Adoption

Should Kinship Care Be the Default Option for Kids in Foster Care? – Naomi Schaefer Riley, Family Studies

Welcoming an Adopted Baby Home Is Both Beautiful and Challenging — And Here’s Why We Need to Talk About It – Marianne Garvey, Bravo

Bioethics

Children Are Now Being Euthanized in Belgium – Michael Cook, Intellectual Takeout

Who gets the embryos? Whoever wants to make them into babies, new law says – Ariana Eunjung Cha, The Washington Post

Thousands of Euthanasia Killings in Canada – Wesley J. Smith, National Review

UK horror: Patients in ‘vegetative state’ can now be killed without consent – Cassy Fiano-Chesser, Live Action

What does the Bible teach about euthanasia and physician assisted suicide? – Mary Wurster, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

 

Family

Marriage

We All Marry the Wrong Person – Erin Smalley, Focus on the Family

Words of Wisdom on a Silver Anniversary – Michelle Malkin, National Review

Children of divorcing parents want more information and more say in what happens, study finds – Angus Randall, ABC News

Single Sailors Think Navy Hinders Likelihood of Marriage, Survey Says – Brock Vergakis, The Virginian-Pilot

Our Fixer-Upper Marriage – Stephanie Reeves, Family Life

God remembers the barren, and so should the church – Jenn Hesse, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Parenting

What Are Your Child’s Passions? – Dennis Prager, The Stream

Podcast: Parenting through the hard seasons – Nancy Guthrie, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

The Genetics of Parenting – Robert VerBruggen, Family Studies

I Love Being Their Mother – Jess Hunt, Her View From Home

Economics/Education

Parents… Deserve the Right to Know’: RNC Passes ‘Parents’ Rights’ Sex Ed Resolution – Mark Martin, CBN News

In Search of Family Time – Amber Lapp, Family Studies

Free-Market Policies Make the Most of the Sharing Economy – Anthony B. Kim, The Daily Signal

Family Instability in Childhood Affects American Adults’ Economic Mobility – Paola Scommegna, Population Reference Bureau

Faith/Character/Culture

Why Gratitude Is So Good for You (and for Those Around You) – Richard Gunderman, Intellectual Takeout

The family that prays together … feels connected, unified and bonded with less relational tension – Jon McBride, BYU News

Living a Life of Purpose: An Interview with Michelle Singletary – Alysse ElHage, Family Studies

Human Sexuality

The Beauty of Complementarity Goes Beyond Gender – Brett McCracken, The Gospel Coalition

What #MeToo and Hooking Up Teach Us About The Meaning of Sex – Elizabeth Schlueter and Nathan Schlueter, Public Discourse

Thinking Deeply about Christian Love: Same-Sex Attraction, Sin, and Spiritual Friendship – Ron Belgau, Public Discourse

Why ordinary people disregard the transgender movement as utterly insane – Jonathon Van Maren, LifeSiteNews

Religious Male Students Less Sexually Aggressive, Coercive, Study Finds – Anugrah Kumar, The Christian Post

Study finds health risks for transgender women on hormone therapy – Avichai Scher, NBC News

Human Trafficking

The Porn Industry and Human Trafficking Reinforce Each Other – Marlo Safi, National Review

A Need for Child Safeguarding Policies – Lana Lichfield, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Pornography

Americans Are Rapidly Warming Up to Porn, a New Gallup Poll Shows. Here’s Why – Jon Miltimore, Intellectual Takeout

How Our More Permissive Attitudes Toward Porn May Impact Marriage – Alysse ElHage, Family Studies

Pornography is First Boom in Virtual Reality – Brynne Townley, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

 

Social Conservative Review - July 18, 2018

by Daniel Hart

July 18, 2018

Dear Friends,

A common misconception about Christianity that has drawn many away from practicing it is that it has “too many rules” about moral behavior. Prohibitions against things like premarital sex and drunkenness are seen as arbitrary laws that impinge on people’s “freedom” to do what they want. The Ten Commandments are constantly ridiculed in popular culture (and even deliberately destroyed with cars) as hopelessly old-fashioned and obsolete.

What many have failed to see is that having boundaries for moral behavior is actually freeing. An excellent analogy for this is to picture a train on railroad tracks. Strictly speaking, one could look at a train on the tracks and think, “That train is clearly being restricted by the tracks—if it could only be free of the tracks, it would have more leeway to go where it pleases.” But common sense tells us that trains are dependent on railroad tracks to keep their wheels aligned and to allow them to travel great distances at high speeds in a very efficient way—tracks give trains the freedom to operate as they were designed to operate. Anyone who has seen a train going off the tracks knows full well of the disastrous results.

When we go “off the rails,” the results aren’t pretty—bad choices can be clearly judged by their fruits (Luke 6:43-45). For example, premarital sex most often leads to broken hearts and STDs, and drunkenness leads to loss of self-control and can cause the physical endangerment of others.

God created us in order that we might fully flourish and be happy by following His precepts—the “railroad tracks” that are designed for this purpose. We see evidence of this in our lives as faithful Christians, as explained here: “The more one does what is good, the freer one becomes. There is no true freedom except in the service of what is good and just. The choice to disobey and do evil is an abuse of freedom and leads to ‘the slavery of sin’” (Romans 6:17). May we always walk in the Truth of Christ, which will set us free (John 8:32).

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

On Trump’s pick of Kavanaugh, conservatives should trust but verify – Tony Perkins

Forcing faith-based agencies out of the system is a disservice to women – Mary Beth Waddell

In Win for Religious Freedom, Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals Reminds Us Why Judicial Nominations Matter – Travis Weber

Why California Senate Bill 320 is Harmful to Women’s Mental Health – Sarah Stewart

Why the Hysteria Over Roe? Because it Would Strike a Blow to Eugenics – Patrina Mosley

Will the Supreme Court Save Sexual Orientation Change Efforts? – Peter Sprigg

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

California bill banning books, therapy to help unwanted gay attraction stalls amid lawsuit fears – Calvin Freiburger, LifeSiteNews

Wisconsin’s Marquette Decision Is A Big Win For Free Speech And A Sign Of Trouble – Margot Cleveland, The Federalist

Maryland Church Banned from Services in Its Own Building Fights Back in Court – Josh Shepherd, The Stream

Pastor under fire for high school football devotional – Todd Starnes, Fox News

Planet Fitness bans woman for objecting to sharing locker room with ‘transgender’ man – Doug Mainwaring, LifeSiteNews

Judge sides with University of Iowa Christian student group accused of discrimination – Vanessa Miller, The Gazette

GOP Volunteers Kicked Out of Uber As Driver Says ‘Welcome To The Resistance’ – Julia Cohen, The Daily Caller

University of Minnesota mulls expelling students for not using transgender pronouns – Calvin Freiburger, LifeSiteNews

International Religious Freedom

Pure Genocide’: Over 6,000 Nigerian Christians Slaughtered, Mostly Women and Children – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Religious Persecution Again Rises Worldwide – Doug Bandow, The American Spectator

A British Doctor Is Fired for Affirming Biological Reality – Michael Brown, The Stream

In Nicaragua, Paramilitaries Attack Bishop and Besiege Students at ChurchNational Catholic Register

Turkish Court Sends American Pastor Brunson Back to Prison – Jennifer Wishon, CBN News

Military Religious Freedom

Military Sees Increase In Conflicts Over First Amendment Freedoms – Nicole Russell, The Federalist

 

Life

Abortion

3 reasons why Roe v. Wade will fall, despite past Supreme Court decisions – Kristi Burton Brown, Live Action

A Closer Look at NIFLA v. Becerra and the Role of Crisis Pregnancy Centers – Helen Alvaré, Family Studies

The Jewish Position On Abortion Isn’t What You Think It Is – Mitchell Rocklin and Howard Slugh, Public Discourse

Judge Rules Trump Administration Can Defund Planned Parenthood Abortion Biz – Steven Ertelt, LifeNews

Adoption

This Woman’s Search for Her Birth Mother Comes With a Beautiful Message About the Gift of Adoption – Katie Franklin, The Christian Post

Poll: Ensure All Adoption Agencies Can Continue to Serve Families and Children – Elizabeth Fender, Heritage Foundation

Families Warn of ‘Devastating’ Consequences If Adoption Agencies Are Shut Down Over Gay Marriage Beliefs – Stoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Bioethics

Opponents of Assisted Suicide Offer a Message of Hope – Kathryn Jean Lopez, The Stream

 

Family

Marriage

Three Sisters, Three Weddings in Three Months – Patti Armstrong, National Catholic Register

Maximizing Everyday Moments in Your Marriage – Greg Smalley, Focus on the Family

The Best Way to Properly Apologize to Your Spouse – Ted Cunningham, Focus on the Family

Parenting

6 Reasons Millennials Should Stop And Embrace Parenthood – Melissa Langsam Braunstein, The Federalist

Why Parents Should Encourage Risky Play – Justin Coulson, Family Studies

Economics/Education

Decision to live together negatively affects wealth accumulation – Iowa State University

Congress should end marriage penalties in the tax code and welfare system – Erik Randolph, Georgia Center for Opportunity

Faith/Character/Culture

What Is Best in Life? Jesus And the Mayo Clinic Know! – Elizabeth Scalia, Word on Fire

Steve Ditko’s Great Gift To The World: ‘With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility’ – Aaron Gleason, The Federalist

How conversations with my father have shaped my faith – Benjamin Ball, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

The Extinction of the Middle Child – Adam Sternbergh, The Cut

The Most Dangerous Place to Live: The Subtle Perils of the Past – Greg Morse, Desiring God

I Advocated Civility, But Didn’t Practice it When it Mattered – Liberty McArtor, The Stream

Human Sexuality

What do I do if my child doesn’t seem to fit with typical gender norms? – Jared Kennedy, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Podcast: Am I Less Human If I’m Sexually Unfulfilled? – Sam Allberry, Desiring God

The Myth of the “Desistance Myth” – Julian Vigo, Public Discourse

For Women’s Health, Maybe It’s Time to Focus on Natural Pregnancy Prevention Methods – Maria Archer, Family Studies

Human Trafficking

277 Arrested In Huge Florida Undercover Sex Trafficking Sting – Fight the New Drug

In Minnesota, Porn Is Now Officially Recognized As A Contributor To Human Trafficking – Fight the New Drug

One Train Passenger’s Tweet Saved 25 Girls From Human Trafficking – Fight the New Drug

Pornography

Is Pornography Use Increasing Loneliness, Particularly for Young People? – Mark Butler, Family Studies

Your Friend Just Told You They Struggle With Porn—Now What Do You Do? – Fight the New Drug

Groundbreaking Study Finds Video Game Addiction Is Linked To Compulsive Porn Use – Fight the New Drug

My Life Isn’t Your Porn” – Thousands of Women are Protesting Spycam Pornography – Lana Lichfield, National Center on Sexual Exploitation

Smartphones have given your teen daughter a secret life – and it’s destroying her – Jonathon Van Maren, LifeSiteNews

Archives