Wednesday, May 4, 2011 - WASHINGTON, DC

News Conference On H.R. 3, 'The No Taxpayer Funds for Abortion Act.' The legislation was approved by a vote of 251-175 in the U.S. House of Representatives on Wednesday, May 4, 2011.

U.S. Reps. Chris Smith (R-NJ) and Dan Lipinski (D-IL), authored the bill that would codify and make permanent the Hyde Amendment across the federal government. The legislation makes permanent multiple restrictions on abortion funding that have been passed for years, and it would also close the abortion-funding loopholes created by the new health care law. It also makes permanent the Hyde-Weldon conscience clause protecting health care workers who object to being forced by the government to participate in abortion.


Rep. Christopher H. Smith, R-N.J.

Rep. John Fleming, R-La.

Rep. Virginia Foxx, R-N.C.

Rep. Vicky Hartzler, R-Mo.

Rep. Jean Schmidt, R-Ohio

Rep. Renee Ellmers, R-N.C.

Rep. Phil Roe, R-Tenn.

Day Gardner, President of The National Black Pro-Life Union

Rev. Dean Nelson, Vice President of Underserved Outreach at Care Net

Nancy Tanner, Silent No More

Jabriel Ballentine, Chair of DC Council of Black Republicans